We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely wedding weekend!”
Review of The County Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The County Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Dalkeith
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely wedding weekend!”
Reviewed 22 August 2012 via mobile

My partner & I stayed here 17 &18 aug 2012 with a large group for a wedding. We were supposed to be staying at the Queen Margaret Uni but after arriving late from an 8 hour drive on the Friday we found the room to be unsuitable & in very poor shape. We called the b&b straight away and they were extremely helpful in booking us in for two nights to join the wedding party. The rooms were of a lot better standard & a more reasonable price. The staff were very friendly and helpful & the bar was great - cheap drinks and a pool table. The rooms were basic but comfortable, we had everything we needed. The breakfast was nice - the cooked breakfast was lovely & there was toast, cereal, yogurts & fruit.

Highly recommended & in a good location. :)

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RuthMossco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    27
    36
    22
    36
See reviews for
32
45
8
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2012

We found this place as we were in a pinch as the Madonna concert had almost all of Edinburgh at capacity. Room was dated and needed some repair but was clean, staff was nice, bartender & his associates were friendly.

The best thing about it was the fact we got to the airport the next day in about 15 minutes!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 82-ag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2012 via mobile

Having stayed on business in many places I am used to varying degrees of comfort. The room was ok and bed was comfy but I was expecting a little more. For breakfast they do not provide menus so you did not get to know what was included, consequently part of it was wasted. The following morning I ordered specifically. The staff are friendly although a little over enthustiastic. The attached bar was very pleasant but I had to change my choice of drink as the drink itself smelt awful. Not sure why. The hotel claims wifi but you get told its best in the coffee room so work that out. Its not the best for reliability. Parking is a nightmare and I had to leave my car a good distance away.

Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank MarkPocock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2012

Just been for a meal at The County Hotel in Dalkeith. They have a new introductory menu with 2 courses for under £10. We were VERY impressed. The presentation was 5 star, the food was top class and the staff were friendly and attentive. If you are looking for a fabulous meal at a good price this place comes highly recommended!!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gkfisch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2012

We went for a Sunday lunch and wouldn't go back again. While pleasant enough, the waitress got our drinks order wrong though she did fix it when asked. One of the member of our party had to pop out briefly and was pounced upon the minute she got into I ordered a fresh orange and lemonade and I was halfway though before discovering the glass was absolutely filthy.
The starters were ok but the main courses were below average. The lasagne was extremely greasy with far too much cheese on top and the chicken curry tasted like boiled chicken with a jar of sauce dumped over it with a mound of stodgy rice and a greasy popadom beside it. We barely ate half of our meals.
The restaurant itself was dusty and looked like it was trying to aim upmarket but it really didn't pull it off. The cheesy pop music was off putting.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 108lanar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Dalkeith hotels

Hawick, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2012

Spent one night only in this hotel as we were at a family party in Dalkeith. Booked three weeks previous and were quoted a price for double room. Other family members were quoted higher price on booking same date so we phoned back to make sure that the booking was for a double room and was asured that the price was correct. On arriving the lady at reception quoted higher price when we went to pay and was very rude when we told her that was not the price we were given. We paid the price first quoted was handed a key but no word of were to locate the room just a case of "there you go now find the room". Room was very dated but clean very small,shower was not to good either, the view from the window was of next door building roof. We felt like we had been put in the "servants quarters" Nothing like photo's dispayed on web page,Only positive side was that the bar staff were very nice. Other members of our family staying were also not impressed. Wont be back

Room Tip: Ask for room at front of hotel or ask to see room before you pay
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alex936
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2012

Unplanned visit travelling between Jedburgh and Glasgow. Decided upon the County Hotel. Looked decent enough from outside. Hotel reception staff friendly enough and service was quick. The room was very out-dated, dull looking and quite dusty. The view from our room was to the bins out the back of the building, we found this quite strange as the hotel seemed quite empty and we thought they could have given us a better room. We had a drink in the bar, it was expensive and quite soulless, no music and only 2 other people in it. Wouldn't stay again. Didn't eat in the restaurant as it was completely empty - so not a good sign!

Room Tip: Ask for a room towards the front of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank missannenoid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dalkeith
0.9 mi away
Melville Castle
Melville Castle
#2 of 3 in Dalkeith
965 reviews
2.3 mi away
Carberry Tower Mansion House and Estate
2.9 mi away
Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Newcraighall) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Musselburgh) Hotel
2.4 mi away
Dalhousie Castle
Dalhousie Castle
#1 of 1 in Bonnyrigg
1,366 reviews
3.6 mi away
Best Western Kings Manor Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The County Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The County Hotel

Property: The County Hotel
Address: 152 High Street, Dalkeith EH22 1AY, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Midlothian > Dalkeith
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Dalkeith
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The County Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Dalkeith, a five minute commute to Edinburgh. The County Hotel is a striking building dating back to 1940. Enjoy comfortable accommodation in one of our 32 en suite bedrooms, relax with a drink in the bar or sample home-cooked meals in our cosy restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The County Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The County Hotel Dalkeith, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing