We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The County Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Melville Castle(Dalkeith)
US$204
US$163
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Dalhousie Castle(Bonnyrigg)
US$193
US$181
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Travelodge Edinburgh Musselburgh(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
US$69
Travelodge
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
US$167
US$162
Expedia.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$88
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$91
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Kings Manor Hotel(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
US$82
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$114
Booking.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Edinburgh Cameron Toll(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
US$77
Travelodge
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (145)
Filter reviews
145 results
Traveller rating
23
27
37
22
36
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
23
27
37
22
36
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
110 - 115 of 145 reviews
Reviewed 1 June 2013

A basic hotel, but very clean and provided everything you would expect for a high street hotel in a small town. A big room with single beds in the room we stayed in, but perfectly acceptable for friends staying together for one night.

We stayed in the hotel the weekend of the Edinburgh marathon and nothing was too much trouble for the staff - they provided us with details/times/prices of buses into the city, an early cooked-to-order breakfast before the race and allowed a (very) late check out for showers etc before we set off on a long drive home. We will stay again next year!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ladymuck007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2013

The pictures on the website do not match the actual room at all! We paid £72 and the room & toilet were extremely tiny with an awkward position - that meant hardly any room for bags or to move to the toilet. We did not sleep well at all as the bed was tiny for 2 people and one person could not turn without disturbing the other. It felt like an utter rip off. The staff were nice but it did not and will not compensate for the room. Definitely one of the worst places I have stayed in. I would not recommend this place at all to anyone!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sumiology
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2013

My husband and I went for a meal at the County Hotel restaurant in January. There were 3 people in the restaurant including us. The service was fair but the food was not very appetising at all. To be honest after our meal we could have quite happily gone to the “chippy” on the way home! Food was at best average and portion size left a lot to be desired. To be honest, don’t think I would bother again which is sad as this used to be a lovely please to eat. It was alos poor value for money.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank ElaineDEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2013

The County Hotel is located right inthe centre of Dalkeith. The room was very clean, with nice soft white towels in the bathroom. very quiet in my room [306] at the back. The restaurant was empty of customers, so I went a short walk in to town for dinner.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2013 via mobile

The country park was in a lovely location, right next to a wonderful park. I was disappointed with the rooms the walls were peeling, service however was more than average. Staff where friendly and chatty. Come back again hopefully next time round it's cleaner

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaxKingston81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews