We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for me.”
Review of The County Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The County Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Dalkeith
greenock
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Perfect for me.”
Reviewed 29 November 2013 via mobile

Stated here 2 nights (so far) will be hoping to book in for the remainder of my stay in the area. Very nice clean hotel. Not perfect but great for contractors etc. the room was spacious and fitted out with everything you need and more. Very good breakfast and staff and a nice wee bar. Perfectly located in the town centre but not on he main road.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marckarn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    27
    36
    22
    36
See reviews for
32
45
8
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Horsley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

stayed here with my wife and two friends on 12th aug the rooms where clean the staff where friendly and the food good it is a great location for anyone visiting Edinburgh the only complaint we have is the bar closed to early

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keg1344
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TEESSIDE
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Stayed here for 1 night with National holidays. Rooms were a decent size but very old fashioned. Platform valance sheet had a filthy mark on it and duvets were heavy. Windows outside heeded w fgood clean too. Bathroom was clean however the shower curtain was crumpled and could have done with a good iron to make it more presentable. No rubber mat in the shower which I thought was dangeroùs. No toilet brush and a holder with slips of paper rather than a roll made it feel like a public convenience. Restaurant was dated the staff were pleasant but service was slow when dinner was served the staff seemed to just go to any table eith the food leaving some tables half served, by the time the other half were served on the table their partners/friends had finished. Breakfast was nice but would have preferred to choose what I wanted on it, rather than the full breakfast brought to me. Fresh fruit would have been nice too. Tea in teapots rather than pre made a flask was not good, like my title says 1 night is fine as a stop over but no longer.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TeessideSmoggies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2013

This hotel is great for a trip into Edinburgh. Situated around 10 miles out of the centre, if offers an affordable stay with excellent transport links.

The room was spacious but the bedding was stained albeit probably clean. The bathroom was also not particularly clean with hair remaining from (presumably) the previous occupant.

I can live with all that. However, after a 5 hour drive, my main priority was sleep. Unfortunately, there is a bar attached to the hotel building. Not a nice bar either. The sort of place where you would expect to find the town's unwashed gathering. And gather they did.

From around 10pm to 3am (yes, 3am!) I was kept awake by drunks who seemed quite happy shouting, bawling and basically being disruptive. Only after 3am did I manage to fall asleep. It was so bad that I decided to drive back to Yorkshire following a day of work in Edinburgh. Another night I could not handle.

Quite how the hotel can allow this to happen is beyond me. They have alot of things right...polite staff, good location, competitive pricing etc...but if you can't get to sleep...what's the point?

You've been warned!

Room Tip: Stay aware from the front!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank EgCook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Dalkeith hotels

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2013

I stayed at the County Hotel for 2 nights this week. I found that the staff were very welcoming and friendly. The hotel has a nice bar area and soft seating away from the main bar is comfortable.
My room was on the 3rd floor, it was clean & tidy and nicely decorated and spacious. The bed was very comfortable and nice white towels in the en-suite. At breakfast I was given the choice of a cooked breakfast, there is no breakfast menu, the cooked breakfast does come plated. However, I asked the friendly waitress what the breakfast consisted of and she told me, I then choose what I would like for breakfast.
I had an evening meal on the second night and I found that the meal was very nice and reasonable, again helpful waitress.
The hotel does not have a car park, but this is not a problem as there is plenty of parking in the road, which is ‘off road’ parking as well.
Overall, I cannot fault the service provided by the staff and the hotel and I would certainly return to the hotel again. The hotel is also very good for visiting Edinburgh if you do not want to stay in the city.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YoungatHeart90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 June 2013

A basic hotel, but very clean and provided everything you would expect for a high street hotel in a small town. A big room with single beds in the room we stayed in, but perfectly acceptable for friends staying together for one night.

We stayed in the hotel the weekend of the Edinburgh marathon and nothing was too much trouble for the staff - they provided us with details/times/prices of buses into the city, an early cooked-to-order breakfast before the race and allowed a (very) late check out for showers etc before we set off on a long drive home. We will stay again next year!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ladymuck007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2013

The pictures on the website do not match the actual room at all! We paid £72 and the room & toilet were extremely tiny with an awkward position - that meant hardly any room for bags or to move to the toilet. We did not sleep well at all as the bed was tiny for 2 people and one person could not turn without disturbing the other. It felt like an utter rip off. The staff were nice but it did not and will not compensate for the room. Definitely one of the worst places I have stayed in. I would not recommend this place at all to anyone!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sumiology
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dalkeith
0.9 mi away
Melville Castle
Melville Castle
#2 of 3 in Dalkeith
965 reviews
2.3 mi away
Carberry Tower Mansion House and Estate
2.9 mi away
Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Newcraighall) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Musselburgh) Hotel
2.4 mi away
Dalhousie Castle
Dalhousie Castle
#1 of 1 in Bonnyrigg
1,365 reviews
3.6 mi away
Best Western Kings Manor Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The County Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The County Hotel

Property: The County Hotel
Address: 152 High Street, Dalkeith EH22 1AY, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Midlothian > Dalkeith
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Dalkeith
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The County Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Dalkeith, a five minute commute to Edinburgh. The County Hotel is a striking building dating back to 1940. Enjoy comfortable accommodation in one of our 32 en suite bedrooms, relax with a drink in the bar or sample home-cooked meals in our cosy restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The County Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The County Hotel Dalkeith, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing