We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“just like a hotel”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Congleton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Queens Head Hotel
Ranked #9 of 12 Congleton B&B and Inns
Reviewed 10 April 2012

we have stayed at the newly referbished queens head, and what a great time we both had the room's have been done to a high standard and are now en~suite, its was very clean, the staff were very friendly and helpful, the food in the pub was excellent and they have a good selection of beers and wines. I would recomend the queens head to anyone wishing to stay in the area.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank carl w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (49)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

44 - 49 of 49 reviews

Reviewed 24 March 2012

Me and my wife recently stayed here for a wedding.What a mistake,the room was a mess,it smelled vile.We went and had something to eat in the bar and the food was cold,tasteless and bland.The beer was quite good,but what really spoiled our evening in the pub was a very large bald man who was extremely rude and kept staring at us all night.I was going to challenge the man but my wife said not too,though i wish i had because the next day i was informed that he was actually the owner.Oh my god what a very ignorant,unfriendly,rude man.DO NOT STAY HERE!!!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Yes book elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank disgruntledhuman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2012

We stayed here recently for a night following a family party organised in the Pub next door. Having read previous reviews we were a little apprehensive, especially as the rooms had been booked for us.

Our fears did not come to fruition, the rooms although basic were clean and warm. There had obviously been a recent make-over of the accommodation. The rooms are not en-suite. The family room downstairs (that we and our dog had) has an adjacent bathroom with shower. Whilst the three upstairs rooms share another bathroom.

We had to make an early start and our fellow guests breakfasted with family so none of us experienced the breakfast. However, if it is as good as the buffet they produced in the pub the previous night I am sure there should be few complaints.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VictorTheLurcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2009

Woodchip wallpaper, artex, everyone shares the bathroom, wet/damp walls, no heating, lights that don't work (oh well! said the staff member), no evening meals(realised afterwards how lucky we were there), cheap furniture, cold water. To top this off the breakfast was dreadful & served by a landlady in sweatshirt and jogging pants who was playing the fruit machines at 9.00am! Glad it was only one sleepless night!

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank naomi o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2009

We stayed here for a Wedding on the weekend. The B&B is right next door to the main pub and although the outside of the building is nothing to right home about, inside it's a different story. The Cottage that houses the B & B is very cosy and well furnished. Breakfast was delicious and the pub in the evening, although quiet was a comfortable place to spend our time. With 8 real ales and decent pub grub it was just what we were looking for before heading off to the wedding (Which was beautiful by the way - congrats John and Wendy).

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank miangu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2009

We stayed at the Queens Head hotel for a friend's wedding. I chose it as it had a pub with several real ales on. The pub is a pleasant old cosy place located next to Congleton station.

Maybe it was my error when reading about it online but I only realised the room was not on suite when we were being taken to the room, which is in an annexe on the side of the pub. The room itself was clean, small with some rustic charm yet nothing spectacular, and over the two days we stayed there we did begin to notice a slight damp caravan smell. As I say, this may have only been our room and wasn't too bad. There are two communal bathrooms with shower for only four rooms, so it wasn't a huge inconvenience and the bathrooms were spotlessly clean with good showers.

The view from our room was of the unattractive railway station across the road, though we hadn't come for the view. Considering we were next to the West Coat mainline we didn't really notice the trains at all.

The staff in the pub were friendly and helpful and the breakfast was good. The pub, though quiet on Thursday, was busy on Friday night and has an excellent range of real ales.

Overall it was OK. I'd give it 3.5 stars as it must have been my mistake not to notice the lack of en-suite facilities and we had a pleasant stay, but I can't go as far as to tick the 4 circles as to say it's very good because I've had much better en-suite experiences for just an extra tenner and the room developed a slight damp odour. I would still recommend it though if you are travelling by train or are happy not to have your own bathroom for £25 pppn if sharing.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ninjathunderbolt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Congleton hotels
1 mi away
The Lion & Swan Hotel
The Lion & Swan Hotel
#7 of 12 in Congleton
237 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Egerton Arms Country Inn
1.6 mi away
The Alexandra Court Hotel
The Alexandra Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Congleton
346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
The Plough Inn
The Plough Inn
#1 of 12 in Congleton
288 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Waggon & Horses
The Waggon & Horses
#5 of 12 in Congleton
72 reviews
2 mi away
Whitethorn Farm Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Queens Head Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Queens Head Hotel

Address: Park Lane, Congleton CW12 3DE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Congleton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Congleton
Price Range: £50 - £65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional Freehouse English pub with quality B&B accommodation in the adjacent cottage. 1 mile from the town centre but convenient for the rail network (West Coast Mainline). 8 real ales always available, along with traditional food. Canal side location with large beer garden. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Queens Head Hotel Congleton, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing