We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely, relaxing one night stay”
Review of Yew Tree Farm

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Yew Tree Farm
Ranked #9 of 12 Congleton B&B and Inns
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Our first visit to Yew Tree Farm which we used as a one night stop over travelling north. So glad we did! Warm welcome from Sheila - with home-made biscuits and a proper cup of tea in the garden. We stayed (with our 9 year old boy) in an en-suite family room upstairs - comfortably furnished, peaceful with fabulous views. Breakfast was gorgeous - beautifully presented with plenty of choice. I enjoyed the oatcake! Award winning home-made marmalade is highly recommended too. It's a proper working farm in a lovely rural setting. It suited us; our boy really enjoyed his stay too. Thank you, Sheila, for making the first night of our holiday so relaxing and comfortable. The three of us all agree we would happily stay at Yew Tree Farm again.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank Jon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (52)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 52 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

Great to visit Yew Tree Farm again. About our 6th stay. Cows mooing gently and sheep grazing plus geese in the field and goats too.
Wonderful breakfast. Lovely home cooking.
Best room is downstairs especially as it has a lovely new ensuite.
Upstairs has excellent views.
Well worth a visit.
Go up beside the church and follow gravel road for a while

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
Thank MrBuxhall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

It can be very damaging for a business if they receive bad trip advisor reviews and i should stress this is not a bad review in any way but i was expecting better. The good: very nice location, very clean rooms, pleasant owner, healthy breakfasts- not fatty in any respect, lots of animals around- great for the on-a-farm feel, comfortable beds. The not so good: emailed to try and book but had no reply for 24 hours so had to call- no apology, toilet access in the bathroom was tiny- anyone slightly rotund would really struggle, half the TV channels were missing, breakfast table was in a drab, lifeless room and we were sat facing a wall! From visiting many countryside B&B's i found some of these things a little disappointing given the fact the price is inline with many others. Nothing was awful yet equally it failed to shine in many ways.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dom T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thinkdiamonds, Owner at Yew Tree Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. I am really pleased that you appreciated so many aspects of your stay and also, of course, disappointed that there were a couple of issues. I have looked back through my email inbox and junk box and have found no trace of your e mail. However, I hope that you will accept my sincere apology if I missed it and I am sorry that you had to telephone. I check my e mails several times each day and always aim to respond as soon as possible. You are absolutely right in saying that the en suites are small and we are open and honest about our room sizes on our website. The Visit England Inspector confirmed our 4 star rating with Breakfast Award when he visited a few days before you, and commented "Best use has been made of the space available."(Referring to both en suites) and "This year has seen a new en suite added to the ground floor room which presents very well indeed."
I have had a look at the TVs and all 40 plus Freeview channels appear to be working well. I wasn't aware that you had a problem and can only aplogise. I am also sorry that you found the garden views from the breakfast room disappointing. Guests enjoying breakfast over the last few weeks have been thrilled to see the swallows sweep in and out of the barn and the family of woodpeckers on the feeders outside the window.
I enjoyed meeting you both and thank you again for your very kind comments. Sheila

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

Had a lovely weekend stay at Yew Tree Farm- friendly and welcoming from the start (including the goats and ducks!). Beautiful location with lots of local walks from the farm. Fantastic breakfast- any combo of cooked items and oodles of homemade jam and marmalade! Yum!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Emma R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

I booked this B&B very last minute as a stop on a two day work trip in Cheshire without researching it much other than it's location.

It's in a tiny village (well more of a hamlet really) next to a pretty church and down a little track and set on a working farm.

Sheila was very welcoming and friendly, welcoming me with scones (although I think i lucked out on timing as she'd just been a WI meeting). The recommended a brilliant proper country pub for dinner which was full of locals and really good food.

The room was comfortable and looked out over endless fields, rare breed cattle, goats and ducks and the pretty church.

Cooked breakfast was yummy without being heavy and stodgy and served with homemade and award winning marmalade and jam.

HIGHLY RECOMMENDED.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JODIEhaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Well,If you have never visited Yew Tree Farm in Congleton, Please Do.!! A Lovely Warm Welcome from Sheila,plus the addition of a Tasty Tray of home made Cake ,(and Gluten Free for me also ) with our tea.Our Garden Room was Spotless ,Warm and Cosy,Also if You Would Like Lovely Fresh TASTY,home Cooked Evening Meals,(with Fresh Vegetables),and Lovely Breakfasts (with a good variety of choices) Served up in some of the most Splendid Countryside you could have ,AND --Friendly farm Animals to Pet,Give this Farm a visit ,Sheila will make you most Welcome.

Room Tip: So far only experienced the Garden Room,which was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MargeryT617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Up in Manchester on Saturday and visiting this beautiful area for a few days too. probably our 5th or 6th visit over the past few years, so we booked in for 3 nights.
Always friendly, fantastic breakfast and a real farm.
We liked the new additions. Highland cattle, Goats and more sheep than usual, oh and some funny looking ducks.
Upstairs ensuite is a rather cramped but otherwise fantastic, we find it the best place to stay in the area. Oh and one more thing on second visit onward your get a loyalty discount of 10% .
Lots for children to see on the farm but it is really more a place for couples in my opinion.
And finally has FREE WI FI

Room Tip: Larger bathroom downstairs, better views upstairs. Suggest you ask to see both if you are the only...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrBuxhall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Congleton hotels
3.5 mi away
The Alexandra Court Hotel
The Alexandra Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Congleton
349 reviews
4.7 mi away
Whitethorn Farm Bed & Breakfast
3.1 mi away
The Lion & Swan Hotel
The Lion & Swan Hotel
#7 of 12 in Congleton
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
The Egerton Arms Country Inn
1.4 mi away
The Plough Inn
The Plough Inn
#1 of 12 in Congleton
297 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Waggon & Horses
The Waggon & Horses
#5 of 12 in Congleton
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yew Tree Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yew Tree Farm

Address: Yew Tree Farm Manor Park Road | North Rode, Congleton CW12 2PF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Congleton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Congleton
Price Range: £70 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Yew Tree Farm 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Working farm with great views overlooking the Peak District hills. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Yew Tree Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yew Tree Farm Congleton, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing