We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice for a week night”
Review of The Bulls Head

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Congleton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Bulls Head
Ranked #12 of 12 Congleton B&B and Inns
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Nice for a week night”
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Clean, good rooms, good size, big beds. Tv in rooms
Breakfast was good with a vegetarian option
Don't stay Friday night as they have a music "disco" night, early morning and you will not get any sleep.
Apart from that it a good place to stop over.

Room Tip: Don't stay on a Friday
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wolfnickwolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    15
    6
    5
    15
See reviews for
3
20
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Me and my girlfriend stayed here for a Friday night only as we attended a wedding close by so we needed somewhere to lay our heads for the night. We paid £40 for the room so wasn't expecting much but we actually found this place ok. The room was cosy and clean and we would definitely stay here again if ever we were in the area :-)

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lindylouu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

We had a wedding to go to in the area so only needed something simple, low cost, a bed for the night. This was £40 for the room, pay extra for the breakfast. The room was basic but clean. Probably does need a bit of modernising but i can't complain at all really. It was all we needed and if you want something no frills and friendly give this a go. Staff extremely friendly and helpful. I would recommend this to others

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank manchesterbuggerlugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014 via mobile

First room had no heating, window would not close. Second room had some heating. Matresses very soft & old.
Some carpets were filthy. Shower was tiny. Looked like whole place needed a clean & some paint. Breakfast was basic, no cereals or fruit.
But location is great, it was good value, & the car park was free!

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank chriskico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Congleton hotels

London
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014

Room was good for the price & location, clean & shower worked well, let down by a mattress you simply sunk into.
However, when you book a room on a monday night in January & have to work the next you don't expect to be kept awake until 2am by music so loud that not only did the bed vibrate, the room resounded so much that the tv kept switching on from stand by until I pulled the power totally.
The level of shouting & guttural grunts coming from the bar led me to conclude that either neanderthal man had returned through a time warp or they were holding an open audition for the next planet of the apes movie.
Absolutely no consideration to the paying guests staying over whatsoever & I was not the only one complaining, Truly awful.

Room Tip: Dont go to the Bulls Head at all
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MooBoo2704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 21 November 2013

My partner and I stayed at the bulls head as our friend had a party in their brilliant function room...we had a fantastic night where the staff were so accommodating even tho they were absolutely ran off their feet.
When the function was finished we went into the main bar and partied ...it was so so busy but what a night, absolutely fantastic!! Our room was clean and lovely no complaints, breakfast in the morning was so nice and needed after our night before...the staff were fantastic and the landlord was very polite. Cracking hotel!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marieaideon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

The room was dirty, paint flaking of the window frame and the carpet repaired with gaffer tape. The bathroom tiles and round the shower controls thick with black mould. The pub below is shabby and not very appealing. Next morning it took an hour for breakfast to arrive at our table but the chef was an artist because it must take a perverted expertise to serve burnt and raw food on the same plate. Complaints were met with total indifference I wish we had slept in the car

Room Tip: Book elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bwss42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Congleton hotels
0.7 mi away
The Alexandra Court Hotel
The Alexandra Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Congleton
317 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Egerton Arms Country Inn
0.0 mi away
The Lion & Swan Hotel
The Lion & Swan Hotel
#9 of 12 in Congleton
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
The Plough Inn
The Plough Inn
#1 of 12 in Congleton
256 reviews
0.7 mi away
No photo provided
HP Bed and Breakfast
#8 of 12 in Congleton
24 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Waggon & Horses
The Waggon & Horses
#5 of 12 in Congleton
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bulls Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bulls Head

Property: The Bulls Head
Address: 4 Mill Street, Congleton CW12 1AB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Congleton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Congleton
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
The Bulls Head Congleton, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing