We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 09:00 - 17:00
Save
Review Highlights
Great welcome

Fantastic Charity open day - brilliant venue , lovely staff . lots of interesting stalls and people... read more

Reviewed 27 September 2018
Joan C
Went for a large birthday party to Clonter Theatre Opera- it was good

We went to Clonter last Saturday for a SPECIAL BIRTHDAY PARTY of a friend. It was at lunch time... read more

Reviewed 24 July 2018
Kimlet
,
Warwickshire
Read all 21 reviews
  
Reviews (21)
Filter reviews
21 results
Traveller rating
17
3
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
17
3
1
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 21 reviews
Reviewed 27 July 2016

For an Opera in the country, the performance of 'La Traviata' was amazing. Quality performances, well run and the food was delicious with generous portions. A great night out.

Date of experience: July 2016
Thank Caro397
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2016 via mobile

I made the trip from London especially to experience Verdi's La Traviata, performed by this young and highly talented opera company. The quality of the singing was incredibly high and with the imaginative set and polished direction it was a night to remember. I was not sure about the two thirty minute intervals but as a concept it really worked as members of the audience were able to enjoy a drink and talk to each other and I met some interesting people during the evening.

Date of experience: July 2016
Thank Len B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2016

The Clonter theatre is set amongst the fields and trees in the heart of Cheshire, but is easy to find, signposting is good. It is not open air so whatever an English Summer throws at you it won't spoil the evening. The auditorium is compact and well designed with comfortable upholstered seating. The main seating area is priced variously, £35-65, apart from the first couple of rows all seats offer a good view of the stage. However, there are seats in the wings and these look to have an awkward view, especially of the surtitles used for operas.
The performance we saw of La Traviata was excellent, as good, if not better, as any we have seen in major opera houses. Violetta was exceptional, brilliant. Clever and effective set design despite minimalism.
Clonter provides a range of dining options, BYO picnics or in house catering providing either canape baskets, which can eaten at casual tables, or more formal dining in a restaurant area. It is recommended to book a picnic table if you are either doing your own picnic or their canape basket option. I would recommend doing BYO, you can bring in your own drinks. If the weather is fine there are tables set outside on grass with views across the lovely countryside.
Dress code is very eclectic to say the least, casual shirts/jeans, lounge suits, Black tie groups.

Date of experience: July 2016
Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2016

A family concert presented at Clonter Opera Theatre in March 2016 was a real delight.. The theatre provided the most wonderful tea afterwards which left a real wow factor. I had never heard of this theatre before this visit but I wanted to review it as I am certain visitors to the area would enjoy it. It is in a beautiful rural location and the staff are so very friendly and enthusiastic.

Date of experience: March 2016
Thank Mark K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2015

We have past the sign for this theater many times, I am so pleased we made more effort to actually follow the signs and book to see a favorite of ours ( Eddi Reader ) As it was a special visit we decided to eat hear to. We were not disappointed the home made food was of a very high standard , Good quality the portions and the service was perfect. The owners and staff made you feel very welcome. Parking was very easy and you were guided to a space, ( no charge ). The venue is up there with the likes of The Victoria Theatre in Newcastle . Well done and thank you to all involved we will be returning.

Date of experience: March 2015
Thank Andrew x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews