We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely Barn Conversion...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Swallows Barn

Swallows Barn Cottage - an 18th century former cow shippon with corn loft on the first floor
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Swallows Barn Cottage - an 18th century former cow shippon with corn loft on the first floor
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
37 reviews
Swallows Barn Cottage - an 18th century former cow shippon with corn loft on the first floor
Haymaking time - view of Bosley Cloud and the historic 18th century 20 North Rode railway arches
The farm cows and calves enjoying grazing the lush and peaceful fields
The lovely River Dane and other streams run through the farm fields - great for picnics or fishing
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Congleton, Cheshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 37 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Badbob197...
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Lovely Barn Conversion...”
Reviewed 1 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Stayed here with my young family while visiting relatives in July and really liked the place. The finish of the conversion has been done to a high standard and the cottage has a lovely cosy feel. Would highly recommend.

Have already booked it again for New Year...

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Aug 2015
Thank you for your lovely comments. We are really pleased that you enjoyed our cottage and we look forward to meeting you again on your return visit to us - after Christmas. kind regards Brenda
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malcolm H
Bordon, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellently appointed and beautifully presented accommodation”
Reviewed 28 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

A gem of a place. Very comfortable with everything you need. Handy for Tatton Park and many other NT sites as well as being within reach of the Peak District and North Wales.
Brenda is wonderfully welcoming and friendly and always helpful.

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Very comfortable with everything you would need
Liked least: Wi Fi sometimes intermittant
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Aug 2015
Many thanks for your lovely comments. I know that you enjoyed both our cottage - and also the wealth of National Trust properties in our area - all within easy reach. Most importantly, the reason for your stay was to attend the Royal Horticultural Show held at Tatton Park on an annual basis. (Thank you for the tip regarding parking at the show!) We would be delighted if you returned for another visit. kind regards Brenda
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DPlant1
Frankfort, Kentucky
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A Real Find of a Farm Cottage in Cheshire”
Reviewed 29 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

My husband, sister and brother-in-law and I spent 14 nights in Swallows Barn Cottage in June 2015. We were visiting family and friends in the area. I did an extensive search for a two-bedroom cottage with en-suite bathrooms. Very difficult to find, but when I did, what a great one! The cottage has been renovated to a high standard with beautiful wood flooring, beams and doors. The decor and furnishings were excellent quality, and the cottage was thoroughly clean and well maintained. I am very particular about this aspect, and it was perfect. We had every amenity to make it comfortable for 2 couples.

From this location we visited Chester, mid-Wales, North Wales, Peak District, Lake District and Manchester among other places in Cheshire. I liked that the cottage is in a quiet area with nice walks nearby, especially by the canal.

Brenda and her family have done a marvelous job here. My family has stayed in 3 farm cottages previously, and this by far was the most comfortable and well-furnished. Look no further if you want a very comfortable and clean farm cottage in this area!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: High standard of furnishings, cleanliness and maintenance
Liked least: Internet signal was very weak
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Jul 2015
Many thanks for your excellent review of our Swallows Barn Cottage. It is so nice to hear that our work in maintaining it to a very high standard is noted and appreciated. I spend many hours cleaning and washing to ensure that it is absolutely spotless and I pride myself on providing attractive furnishings. I am aware that our cottage is ideally located for visiting beautiful areas and fabulous attractions in each direction - and you certainly made the most of this factor during your stay. Thank you again for staying with us and kind regards Brenda
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabeth...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An Amazing Retreat”
Reviewed 21 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

What an amazing cottage! The attention to detail is astounding; Brenda and Tom have thought of everything. It is the most fantastic self catering accommodation we have ever visited. The owners are warm and friendly but not intrusive. Swallows Barn was an oasis of calm at a time when life was pretty chaotic for us.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Oct 2015
Many thanks for your lovely review. We are so pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. We try our best to ensure that our guests have the best stay possible and enjoy their well deserved holiday.
kind regards Brenda & Tom
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mcsprog
Berwick, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage, very clean and great location”
Reviewed 5 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We stayed here for the weekend, 2 adults and 2 children. The cottage was very clean, warm and well equiped. Brenda the owner is very friendly and nothing is to much trouble, she was happy to show the children the lambs and farm.
We visited Alton towers and it took us about 30 mins to get there, we also visited Drayton manner and it wS about an hour and a half away.
Plenty shops in Congelton which is easy to reach.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cottage was very clean and had every thing we needed
Liked least: Nothing, we had a lovely time!
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patricia...
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Everything You Need”
Reviewed 2 May 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Inviting and comfortable, spotlessly clean, very well equipped. Two good sized en-suite rooms, hot water always available, flat screened TVs in both bedrooms, as well as the lounge, and WI-Fi available. Brenda and her family very friendly and helpful. Situated in a beautiful area, so near to the 12 locks of Macclesfield, good walking, and many places of interest to visit. Well recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything to hand.
Liked least: A54 quite busy
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
448SP_W
Eskdale, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful cottage - we will be back”
Reviewed 2 May 2015 for a stay in April 2015

This was a beautiful cottage - it had everything we needed - very clean and tidy - comfy beds, lovely furnishings, power shower etc. We didn't want to leave. One of the best places we have stayed at. The children loved cuddling the new born lambs. Thank you so much Brenda.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing