We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing wonderful, nothing horrible”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Alexandra Court Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Congleton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Staff are typically of a Cheshire business. Not unpleasant just a bit northern! Hotel nice. Room nice, if a bit on the little side. The shower seemed very small, another stone (and I'm average weight) and I would have had problems washing my feet! Turn down service basic, they tidy up but not much else, towels left where I left them hanging to dry, not sure if new bedclothes. I don't want to do them down but I'm not a messy person so I'm not sure what they did do, the bed was made properly and the bin was emptied when I came back in. The room I was in backed onto the garden and had a view of the breakfast room(?) or another room of some description which made me feel a bit uncomfortable as I had some work to do while stopping and so didn't like having the curtains open during the day in case anyone saw me pulling funny faces at my laptop or the window open in case anyone else heard me chuntering to myself.

Bed comfortable. The rooms got everything you need. Plenty of light, plugs to charge your electronics, desk, night stands, sink, toilet, shower, wardrobe, enough towels, cotton pads and cotton buds (which I always forget to pack) good guest information pack. I'm not sure if there is more parking then the parking at the front but if there isn't it may get a bit tight. There's a tesco round the corner and plenty of places to eat and visit. When I turned the lights on and blew a fuse the man on reception came to help straight away when I asked which was nice and replaced the two bulbs that were out straight away. Carried my suitcase and gave me a mini tour (bar, breakfast area) as we walked through when I checked in. the staff managed my quirks (like the fact I strongly dislike toast and cooked breakfasts) with civility.

Little things let it down. I found a sock in the wardrobe that wasn't mine which was a bit gross. Either they didn't give me a clean spoon after first turn down (which is fine but odd) or they gave me a dirty one. The cups on the brew tray were left on their sides which is not important but make it look less tidy considering they make the bed and tidy round. It's tiny things like that.

I have no issues as such but for the price I paid I'm not sure it's worth it. I have paid less and got more from other hotels/guest houses around the country and around the world. Don't forget this is just a B&B. The good and the bad weigh each other out. It's a zero sum guest house. Although, the three star rating is based on a small hotel which they obviously are not anymore since the restaurant was closed.

I stayed here because it was one of the closest to where I needed to be and I'm not used to the area so maybe there isn't anywhere better to stay around here...? Just not blown away. It does the job but there is nothing exceptional about it. I won't be raving to friends and family about the hotel I stayed in but then I won't be dissing it either.

I've written a lot and not said much I know but nothing stands out either way for me.

Room Tip: If you are overweight it might be worth upgrading so you can have a shower! Or maybe that was just m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Amy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (346)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

245 - 251 of 346 reviews

Reviewed 31 March 2014

Lovely hotel but a little pricey for somewhere like Congleton, which, although it is my home town, I can't believe is a hugely popular tourist location. The location is fine, out of the town centre but not too far to walk in. The room was lovely but a little small. The receptionist Kathryn was really helpful and friendly. Breakfast was OK but not a huge choice. The only problem was getting back into the hotel late at night as the key card did not work. Overall we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adele_2808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

We booked 2 nights accommodation for my wife, daughter and myself.

The staff we friendly, the hotel and and our room were well presented, with classic furnishings, a generously sized bed with lots of cushions etc. We also enjoyed our breakfast where they volunteered that they could make hot chocolate for my wife (using the bar supplies) and provided extra toast for out toddler (who is a big fan of toast).

However I have 2 issues.

Issue #1. Call me old fashioned but I expect a hotel to have food available at times other than breakfast. Especially when the hotel bills brands itself as 'Hotel and Restaurant'. Especially when there is prominent signage outside inviting non-residents to use the restaurant. Not here however - this is B&B (admittedly very nice B&B) with a small function room available for private hire.

Issue #2. When the checking out the receptionist asked for our opinions on our visit. I pointed out the inconsistency between the branding and signage (i.e. there's a restaurant) and actual service available being B&B. A good response would have been to indicate a recent change or an oversight and the branding/signage would soon be updated. The actual response was to invite me to talk to the manager (which I declined) and to advise that all booking confirmations indicated the lack of restaurant. Well, I re-checked mine, and no it doesn't. Not a peep.

Would I go back? Yes, if I wanted somewhere to stay on a B&B basis; but I didn't on this occasion. I was looking for somewhere where I could choose to eat and that isn't here - unless you want to bring 9 friends or family and book the function room long in advance.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tim N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

Lovely hotel situated in beautiful grounds. Receptionist Kathryn was excellent, she was very welcoming, showed us around the hotel and took us to our room. The room was beautiful and clean and the towels lovely and soft. The bed was amazing and I had an excellent nights sleep. Breakfast was also very good. Would recommend the hotel and would definitely go again.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Ruth I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Great hotel, and ideal location. We arrived early and staff were really helpful arranging early check in for us. Great location to lots of local attractions and really good value for money, with comfortable, well decorated room and nice breakfast.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

We stayed for one night with our children and had in total three rooms.
Small and very comfortable and well worth the stay. The staff were talkative and friendly. My wife has difficulty with stairs (there is a lift) and we were in Room 2 which is ideal for anyone with difficulties.
As a family we had breakfast in the conservatory - great. the whole area was ideal for a break. would recommend to all

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

I recently just spent the weekend here. The double room was extremely nice and comfortable with a decent sized double bed, well heated and very good reception on the TV while watching the Six Nations!
The staff were very friendly and attentive, enjoyed walking around and spent some time looking over the old books in the library.
At breakfast on both mornings, the service was wonderful and the cooked English breakfast very nice. The staff again were very attentive and and the lady serving was very good and efficient during this busy period.
While checking out the lady on the front desk was again very nice and attentive and we both left with smiles.
Our stay was extremely enjoyable and we enjoyed both the building and the view of the grounds from our room.
I have complete praise for my stay at The Alexandra Court Hotel and would stay here again!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Curze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Congleton
12.4 mi away
Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa
9 mi away
Crewe Hall
Crewe Hall
#2 of 10 in Crewe
2,292 reviews
6.3 mi away
The Vicarage Freehouse & Rooms
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.5 mi away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kelsall
413 reviews
4.5 mi away
Chimney House Hotel
Chimney House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Sandbach
702 reviews
24.7 mi away
Carden Park Hotel
Carden Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Broxton
4,336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Alexandra Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Alexandra Court Hotel

Address: 7 Newcastle Road, Congleton CW12 4HN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Congleton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Congleton
Price Range: £65 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Alexandra Court Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay for business or pleasure at The Alexandra Court, our ethos is focused on delivering a fantastic guest experience, whether you are staying with us for business or pleasure.Choose from one of our 14 individually designed guest bedrooms, including one family room,where you will find elegant and considered design, with finishing touches and all modern amenities. Every guest room is unique in design and gives a 'home from home' feel.Breakfast is served in the Breakfast room and guests can choose from Full English Breakfast cooked to order or Buffet style .Drinks can be enjoyed in the bar and lounge with views over the landscaped gardens , the bar offers an extensive selection of spirits and wines. Perfectly located if visiting the area on business or pleasure The Alexandra Court is at the very heart of the Cheshire countryside ,in an idyllic , rural setting in the market town of Congleton with easy access to the bustling cities including nearby the Roman City of Chester, cosmopolitan Manchester and Liverpool. The stunning and contrasting landscape of the Peak District is only minutes away,with hills and country walks in abundance. Hotel visitors can explore the major tourist attractions including Jodrell Bank , Gawsworth Hall ,Moreton Hall and Alton Towers Theme Park are all located nearby , making The Alexandra Court the perfect base to explore this wonderful region.At a glance:•Sleeps up to 30 guests•Free Wi-Fi•15 En-suite bedrooms •Library and Wii games•Four bedrooms have reasonable wheelchair access•Outdoor play area•One family room•Beautiful Gardens and outside seating area•Lounge and Bar•Conservatory ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your The Alexandra Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexandra Court Hotel
The Alexandra Court Hotel Congleton, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing