We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing getaway”
other travellers have booked this property
Welcome, park on the drive and come on in
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Welcome, park on the drive and come on in
Spacious bed/sitting room with vaulted ceiling Fully fitted kitchen/diner including washing machine & dishwasher. Full control of  central heating
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
47 reviews
Welcome, park on the drive and come on in
Spacious bed/sitting room with vaulted ceiling
Fully fitted kitchen/diner including washing machine & dishwasher. Full control of  central heating
Modern wet room style shower room
Your own private , enclosed cottage garden, put your feet up and enjoy the view
Private fishing pool in the grounds
Keep an eye on the neighbours
A regular visitor
Biddulph Valley Way - cross the road, up the steps and away you go
Local canal walk - from the doorstep
Bosley Cloud from the bottom
Bosley Cloud from the top - a circular walk from the doorstep
The Castle Inn - A quick stagger away
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Congleton, Cheshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 47 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Daryl L
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Amazing getaway”
Reviewed 31 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Just have to say what a brilliant little hideaway this is.
It's the perfect little couples retreat we came for a short break on our honeymoon any loved every minute.
From the moment bailey (the guardian of the gate the big softy) met us to the moment we sadly had to depart.
The owners hillary and Andrew couldn't be more helpful there is nothing you should need to ask for . To the point that the welcome book is so full of use full info that you can barely pick it up. It's also in the perfect location as to be far enough away to really enjoy the serenity of the area but also close enough to everywhere that there's plenty to do.
If it was possible to give more than five stars I'd give it ten
Definitely will be back again and I know family and friends that will for sure be visiting.
Many thanks
The new Mr and Mrs leeson

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mardeg
Adelaide, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Returned for another fantastic stay!”
Reviewed 13 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This is our second stay of a three week block and will not be our last!. The Wow! factor is still there and like our last visit, we didn't want to leave. The colourful and well-kept garden and mill-pond are outstanding. The hosts, Hilary and Andrew, are a joy to be with and they have become another reason for our return visit. Bailey, the family dog, is a pleausre to have around and never fails to greet us on our return home after a busy day. The surroundings are peaceful and serene as is the accommodation itself. Birdlife, frogs, bumblebees....it is a wildlife retreat. Dane Cottage is well-located with many National Trust properties, private properties, walks, gardens and pubs to visit, in such close surrounds - that's if you can drag yourself away. This is a jewel of a place. It is one of, if not, the best accommodation we have ever had the pleasure of staying at. We give it 6 stars!

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Everything. A faultless holiday stay due to such high standards of presentation by the hosts.
Liked least: Leaving. It is so hard to do!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John3909
Barlaston, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A perfect spot for a holiday.”
Reviewed 20 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The cottage is located in a beautiful garden which includes a lake with various waterfowl. The view from the cottage across to the numerous surrounding trees and bushes is exquisite. Last thing at night and first thing in the morning the various bird songs really lift the spirit. The cottage has all you need for a comfortable stay and the welcome pack was really enjoyed. Hilary is most welcoming and together with her husband Andrew will do anything and everything to ensure you have a comfortable stay. We really enjoyed Bailey the resident dog who was always most pleased to see us each day when we returned from a trip. If you are looking for a peaceful and quiet spot and a well equipped and comfortable cottage, then this is the place.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChesterLi...
1 review
“Beautiful cottage and welcoming hosts!”
Reviewed 19 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015

Absolutely stunning cottage in a beautiful location, couldn't fault anything. Attention to detail was impeccable, there was everything you could ever need and more, Beverly was very welcoming and couldn't have been more attentive. Will definitely be visiting again!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tonygilli
Wigan, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely Cottage with beautiful surroundings !!!.”
Reviewed 8 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015

Lovely private cottage in stunning location, well presented with everything you need for your stay Ideal for visiting Congleton and surrounding areas, Hilary and Bailey the dog gave warm welcoming on arrival cant recommend the cottage enough will be sure to visit again in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything one of best cottages we have stayed in.
Liked least: Going home
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walsall, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hayley B
1 review
“Amazing! ”
Reviewed 2 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014

Me and my partner spent 5 nights at the cottage it was amazing lovely warm welcoming and amazing views around we will be staying again soon!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing