We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice pub”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Wentworth Arms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Wentworth Arms
Ranked #4 of 16 Malton B&B and Inns
Spain
Level Contributor
171 reviews
128 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“Nice pub”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

Once I had got over the confusion between Malton and Old Malton (a mile or so apart) I finally arrived at the Wentworth Arms and made acquaintance with the delightful Hazel. I should say at this point that the rating would have been average if it didn't have Hazel looking after things.

The room was clean but a bit tired, as was the bathroom, with no toiletries. Beware, if you arrive on a Sunday the last food orders are at 6.00 pm and there are no alternative eateries within walking distance. The food is standard pub grub - roasts as well on a Sunday - but there is a decent selection of ales.

There was a fair amount of noise, both from other guests and from the church bells across the road which chime though the night. In the morning road noise commences.

I'd made a bad miscalculation of the distance from the Yorkshire Wolds Way, which I was walking, but again Hazel came to the rescue, driving me the 6 miles to Wharram le Street to recommence the walk the next day and saving me a taxi fare.

The breakfast was not bad, but needed more in the cereal/fruit/yoghurt department.

Overall a reasonable choice.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    44
    18
    8
    11
See reviews for
35
44
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lingfield
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

We ate delicious rissotto in a pleasant bar on a Sunday evening. Our bedroom was clean and airy and breakfast hearty, with friendly service throughout. Also enjoyed a wonderful evening stroll around the picturesque cricket ground and churchyard opposite

Room Tip: Even quiet at night in the front, no complaints
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013

We have not stayed here but have eaten food on a couple of occasions good service excellent value for money and a good choice very nicely presented and the staff very friendly lovely location and plenty of parking

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

The room was very nice and clean, the beds were extremely comfortable ( I had one of the best nights sleep in a long time). The staff were very friendly and helpful.
Breakfast was very nice but more choice of cereal and beans with the cooked breakfast would have made it better, but still a nice breakfast overall. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013

We booked in for three nights to attend a wedding in nearby Castle Howard. We had a lovely stay and not a bad word to say. The room had loads of character, spotlessly clean, beautiful breakfast and really friendly staff. Separate entrance to the pub so felt really private as well and plenty of car parking. It is in a really central location to lots of sights etc and so we will definitely return as lots more to see. Thanks for a really pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Room 6 double en-suite, very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shropshire
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013

we stayed one night , the staff are very friendly , our room was clean but the en suite we had needs updating as the shower was very poor and disappointing , the breakfast was nice , lovely part of yorkshire .

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kim r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
135 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2013

We stayed just one night but from the moment we arrived the staff made the stay enjoyable.

The room was not the biggest and the floors a bit squeaky but the bar was pleasant and the food excellent value.

It is quiet and if you are wanting to visit that part of the UK It would be good place to use as a base

Room Tip: As for one ensuite
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank woodentom1110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malton
4.7 mi away
Burythorpe House
Burythorpe House
#1 of 1 in Burythorpe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 525 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Talbot Hotel Malton
0.9 mi away
The Old Lodge
The Old Lodge
#1 of 4 in Malton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Suddaby's Crown Hotel
Suddaby's Crown Hotel
#4 of 4 in Malton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
7.0 mi away
Old Manse Hotel
Old Manse Hotel
#3 of 3 in Pickering
4.5 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
3.1 mi away
Ham & Cheese Country Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wentworth Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wentworth Arms

Property: The Wentworth Arms
Address: 111 Town Street, Malton YO17 7HD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Malton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Malton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Wentworth Arms 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Wentworth Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wentworth Arms Hotel Malton
The Wentworth Arms Malton, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing