We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Complete Satisfaction”
Review of The Old Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Old Lodge
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Malton
Certificate of Excellence
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Complete Satisfaction”
Reviewed 20 June 2014

We have stayed in many hotels throughout North Yorkshire and the Yorkshire Dales over the past 12 years.
The Old Lodge at Malton is by far the best one that we have visited.
Every member of staff was extremely helpful and polite
The hotel is set in its own very well maintained grounds
The room that we had far surpassed our expectations and was clean and comfortable in every respect
We dined in the hotel every night and the meals were served as promptly as possible and very well presented and the food, delicious
We can not recommend this hotel highly enough

Thank you for giving us both a very enjoyable holiday

John and June Tyler Sunderland

Room Tip: We looked at the web site and discussed our options with the hotel by phone We were not dissappoint...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldLodgeOwner, Owner at The Old Lodge, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Thank you John and June for posting such a lovely review for us at The Old Lodge. We really appreciate you taking the time out to do this and we hope to see you again soon at The Lodge.
Tracey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

490 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    363
    85
    26
    8
    8
See reviews for
106
212
9
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Manchester Uk
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

I booked this on Booking.com. Not knowing what to expect. It was for business as a single traveller - but what a find! Gorgeous rooms, wonderful setting,, lovely helpful staff, meal in restaurant nice presentation and tasted great. Drinks in bar after pleasant and relaxing. Perfect stop for the weary business person, couples. Want to come back!

Room Tip: Go for luxury!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holidayblueeyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldLodgeOwner, Owner at The Old Lodge, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Thank you for your kind review of your stay with us as a business traveller. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay, and hope to see you again soon!
Tracey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Riding of Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We attended a family wedding here on 7th June a fantastic day the staff are so friendly and nothing was to much trouble, the room was fantastic and spotless, breakfast was lovely.
Would recommend the hotel to anyone for a special occasion.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldLodgeOwner, Owner at The Old Lodge, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to add a review of your recent stay with us for a Wedding at The Old Lodge. We are delighted that you had a good stay with us and we hope to see you again soon at The Lodge.
Tracey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We stayed here for my brothers wedding and opted to stay in one of the fantastic family rooms in the recently renovated pub a short walk from the main building. The wedding was fantastic and the food was divine! The room was spacious for a family of 4 (2 teens) and the bathroom a good size - even though we were all in the same room we had a tv either side of the room. Breakfast was a good size and there was a good choice too.

The price was excellent too.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldLodgeOwner, Owner at The Old Lodge, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Thank you for your kind review. We're glad that you enjoyed your stay in The Lodgings. I've stayed there before with friends and I think it's great for a group of friends or family, having the feel of a holiday cottage with the communal lounge and kitchenette area.
I am really pleased that you enjoyed your food and the wedding and we hope to see you again at the Lodge sometime!
Tracey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We stayed here on a recent cycling holiday with friends around Yorkshire and the staff here couldn’t have been more accommodating. They were very pleased to help us store our bikes in a secure area of the hotel and the rooms were lovely. We also had food here in the evening and it was great and reasonably priced. My only comment would be that the showers need a bit updating as the hot water seemed a bit dependant on who else was having a shower in the other rooms but it’s worth noting that the room we had also had a bath so it wasn’t really a problem. All round this is a lovely place to stay with fantastic staff.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lexy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldLodgeOwner, Owner at The Old Lodge, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Thank you for your review and your positive comments about your stay with us at The Lodge. We're really glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and found the staff to be helpful.
Regarding the showers- we will trace back to the boiler concerned (we have lots of them!) and see what's happened on this occasion.
Once again thank you for such a kind review.
Tracey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Just held my son and daughter-in-law's wedding at the Old Lodge and it was amazing. The staff were so attentive, helpful and couldn't have done more to make this special event perfect - our thanks to them all but especially to Eileen who made everything run smoothly - nothing was too much trouble for the Old Lodge. All of the food was wonderful tool We highly recommend this beautiful hotel as a wedding venue.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldLodgeOwner, Owner at The Old Lodge, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Thank you for your review- we really appreciate your comments and we're glad that you had a great day with us. We look forward to seeing you again soon at The Lodge
Tracey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
109 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

From the moment we walked through the door, we were greeted with such amazing hospitality. The receptionist went beyond the call of duty to ensure that our stay was problem free which it was.
The restaurant served traditional Yorkshire food which was delightful and the service could not have been better.
We were a party of 8 and we stayed in the annex..The Old Lodgings which was an amazing experience, rather like being in your own independent hotel with its own communal lounge tv and kitchen facilities (if required) along with an honesty bar,we literally had the place to ourselves.
This venue most definitely lends itself to any pre-wedding or family celebration or company get together. Would strongly recommend to anyone that enjoys a relaxing enviroment. Thank you

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Stephen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldLodgeOwner, Owner at The Old Lodge, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Thank you for your positive review of your stay with us at The Lodge. We are very happy to hear that you had a good time, and we hope to see you again soon!
Tracey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malton
0.3 mi away
The Talbot Hotel Malton
4.0 mi away
Burythorpe House
Burythorpe House
#1 of 1 in Burythorpe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 531 reviews
7.5 mi away
Best Western Forest & Vale Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
The White Swan Inn
The White Swan Inn
#1 of 3 in Pickering
4.5 of 5 bubbles 655 reviews
18.6 mi away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
7.9 mi away
The Worsley Arms Hotel
The Worsley Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hovingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Lodge

Property: The Old Lodge
Address: Old Maltongate, Malton YO17 7EG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Malton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Malton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A fully restored Tudor mansion set in extensive well maintained grounds, with 28 rooms, many with four post beds. Restaurant with choice of menus, and fully equipped bar. A wonderful venue for work, a holiday, wedding or celebration. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Old Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Hotel Malton
The Old Lodge Malton, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing