We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A bit of luxury on our walking holiday!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Old Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Old Lodge
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Malton
Certificate of Excellence
Calne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A bit of luxury on our walking holiday!”
Reviewed 15 August 2014

I stayed here for one night whilst walking The Yorkshire Wolds Way with a friend.

Our room was large with two double beds and a view of the grounds. It was beautifully decorated and full of character.

We dined in the hotel in the evening and the meal was tasty. The dining room lacked character and atmosphere though and the tables and chairs were not in keeping with the historic building at all!

Breakfast was awesome with fresh fruit, seeds, nuts, yoghurts, cheeses, meats, breads and pastries and you could have a cooked option. 10/10 to this hotel for providing veggie sausages AND bacon. It really is quite unusual but most welcome.

Friendly, professional staff and a lovely place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DB70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldLodgeOwner, Owner at The Old Lodge, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Thank you for your positive review about your stay at The Old Lodge whilst walking the Yorkshire Wolds Way.
We're delighted to hear that you found your food tasty and your room to be beautifully decorated and full of character.
We are disappointed that you did not think that the tables and chairs in the restaurant were in keeping with the building- the dining room has been recently redecorated and refurbished to include a wood floor and dark wood and leather chairs, with new dark solid wood tables and chandeliers, and we have had much positive feedback. We realise of course that likes and dislikes about such things are very personal and so we must of course respectfully accept that you did not find them to your taste.
We are really pleased to receive your feedback about our breakfast- it's nice to hear that you appreciated our vegetarian bacon and sausage, and we hope that it set you up to continue your walking holiday with a full energy boost!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    354
    80
    25
    8
    9
See reviews for
106
205
9
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

We stayed for one night. 2 adults and our 4 year old son. The hotel is beautiful. We ate in the bar in the evening. The service was fast and the food was delicious. The breakfast was lovely with plenty of choice. Would defo stay again.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicky H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldLodgeOwner, Owner at The Old Lodge, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Thank you for your kind review of your stay with us at The Old Lodge. We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed your food and your breakfast and we hope to see you again soon.
Tracey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

I would like to commend Eileen (The Manger) and her lovely dark haired assistant (on Reception). Both were very kind to us as we trudged in at about 8.20 p.m. having completed the last day of our walk across the Cleveland Way (1st August 2014). My Son and I did the walk to raise money for the Charity "Hounds For Heroes". I initially spoke to Eileen whilst enquiring about accommodation at the planning stage of our trip. When Eileen discovered the purpose of our trip, she kindly offered us rooms for the night at no charge. We were also given dinner and breakfast to see us on our way. This was an extraordinary gesture and we will not forget it.

I should also mention that our rooms (located away from the main building) were very good and the food was excellent.

Robert H

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldLodgeOwner, Owner at The Old Lodge, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Thank you for your review, and it was our pleasure to help you with your fund raising efforts.
We're glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and Eileen has asked me to comment that the pain that you were in when you arrived will be etched on her and Hayley's minds forever!
We hope that you come and visit with us again soon, under less exhausting circumstances!
Tracey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Anthony & myself had the most amazing Wedding here at The Old Lodge. The day ran so smoothly, the staff were so attentive and helpful, the food was delicious and the decorations were beautiful. They really do go the extra mile here and I would recommend this venue to anyone wanting to hold a family function. A big thank you to Eileen, you made our day so special.

The new Mr & Mrs Holdsworth xxx

Room Tip: Room 7 the Honeymoon suite is lovely. it also has a large bathroom and a 4 poster bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosanne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldLodgeOwner, Owner at The Old Lodge, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Thank you for your kind review- we really appreciate you taking the time out to send us feedback. We're glad that you had an amazing day and we thought that you looked beautiful and your horse and carriage was fabulous!
Please come back and see us again soon!
Tracey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

My nephew's wedding venue. Great occasion, wonderful setting for an outdoor wedding. A lovely day from start to the spectacular fireworks finale late in the evening. A comfortable ground floor room overnight and then a really good breakfast to round off. Would certainly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: I need a ground floor room as I have mobility difficulties. Our room was ideal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lae30346
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldLodgeOwner, Owner at The Old Lodge, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
We would like to thank you for taking the time to post a review about their nephew's wedding at The Old Lodge.
We are delighted that you enjoyed both your nephew's wedding and your stay with us, and we hope that you choose to come and visit us again soon.
Thank you,
Tracey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

My husband and I got ready for our wedding and spent our wedding night in the honeymoon suite at The Old Lodge Hotel - it was lovely, the staff were friendly, the room was great and the breakfast was very nice.
We would definitely visit again

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen333purple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldLodgeOwner, Owner at The Old Lodge, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and found our staff to be friendly and the breakfast to be very nice.
We hope to see you again soon at The Old Lodge
Tracey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 June 2014

We have stayed in many hotels throughout North Yorkshire and the Yorkshire Dales over the past 12 years.
The Old Lodge at Malton is by far the best one that we have visited.
Every member of staff was extremely helpful and polite
The hotel is set in its own very well maintained grounds
The room that we had far surpassed our expectations and was clean and comfortable in every respect
We dined in the hotel every night and the meals were served as promptly as possible and very well presented and the food, delicious
We can not recommend this hotel highly enough

Thank you for giving us both a very enjoyable holiday

John and June Tyler Sunderland

Room Tip: We looked at the web site and discussed our options with the hotel by phone We were not dissappoint...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldLodgeOwner, Owner at The Old Lodge, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Thank you John and June for posting such a lovely review for us at The Old Lodge. We really appreciate you taking the time out to do this and we hope to see you again soon at The Lodge.
Tracey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malton
0.3 mi away
The Talbot Hotel Malton
4.0 mi away
Burythorpe House
Burythorpe House
#1 of 1 in Burythorpe
524 reviews
7.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Forest & Vale Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
The White Swan Inn
The White Swan Inn
#1 of 3 in Pickering
648 reviews
18.6 mi away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
7.9 mi away
The Worsley Arms Hotel
The Worsley Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hovingham
599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Lodge

Property: The Old Lodge
Address: Old Maltongate, Malton YO17 7EG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Malton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Malton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A fully restored Tudor mansion set in extensive well maintained grounds, with 28 rooms, many with four post beds. Restaurant with choice of menus, and fully equipped bar. A wonderful venue for work, a holiday, wedding or celebration. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Old Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Hotel Malton
The Old Lodge Malton, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing