We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Little Gem in the Wolds”
Review of Cross Keys B&B

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Malton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cross Keys B&B
Ranked #5 of 16 Malton B&B and Inns
Dunstable, United Kingdom
1 review
“A Little Gem in the Wolds”
Reviewed 5 August 2013

My wife and I had a family event that we came up from Bedfordshire to attend. Our nephew. who lives in Thixendale,recommended The Cross Keys and booked us in. What a great choice he made for us. We were welcomed by Steve who showed us to our very comfy room. We came back really tired out from a long day with our nephews family and friends and went straight to bed.We both slept really well and came down for breakfast in the cosy bar and were greeted by Steve and Mary, who served us with an absolutely splendid "Full English" and we mean "full". If you are in the area, we would recommend this B&B. Great location, very friendly and excellent food and let us not forget, the price was fair too!! Many Thanks, Alan and Carol

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan_and_Carol2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    3
    0
    2
    7
See reviews for
8
18
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2013

We stayed here two nights whilst walking this section of The Wolds Way in a heatwave. What a brilliant place to stay - full of character, spotlessly clean, idyllic location. There is nothing to fault. Once you get used to the host's dry wit, you realise you are being looked after with the closest attention to detail - he was a delight. The rooms were great, the beer was great, and the food was superb - particularly the effort that was made to cater for quite fastidious vegetarians! I would recommend The Cross Keys to everyone.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheila190748
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

Stayed at the Cross Keys in June 2013 for two nights while walking the Yorkshire Wolds Way and had a wonderful time. The hosts Mary and Steve couldn't do enough for me even arranging pick ups at surrounding villages. My room was lovely and clean and I was able to rest my feet (!) before having an excellent evening meal. Breakfast was equally good with lots of choice. The Yorkshire Wolds are really beautiful, and finding the Cross Keys was the best thing I could have done! Stay here if you can.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Glyn872
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2013

My friend and I had the Cross Keys as our first stop on a 3 day bike ride of the Yorkshire Wold Cycle Way. We were met by the lovely Steve, we put our bikes in the secure shed and enjoyed a couple of hours resting in our lovely clean, cosy room, we even had a spot of tea in the sunny back garden. In the evening we sampled the excellent pub food and few pints of the guest ale. The next morning we had a really lovely breakfast and set off on day 2. We'd highly recommend The Cross Keys and the friendly folk who run it.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Driffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2013

Stopped by for a drink and bar meal whilst on a 9 mile walk around Thixendale. Very cosy, very friendly atmosphere. Beer was excellent (guest beer Jennings). Food, we had sandwiches and chilli, tasty and well priced. Will visit again. Landlord couldn't have been more friendly and chat with other customers was very friendly, one couple walking the Wolds Way and other couple on holiday. Location brilliant in the heart of the best quiet landscape in the country.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank howarew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hinckley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2013

We spent two nights at the Cross Keys Steve & Mary where brilliant, rooms where fresh and clean and extremely comfy. The breakfast was more than filling and of good quality (no supermarket bacon or sausage) also had our evening Rump steak one the best I have had.
Well worth a visit and good value.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tomgriff21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2012

My wife and I stayed here for 1 night in Aug 2012. We cycled there and Steve met us and locked our bikes away and made us feel very welcome. Nothing was too much trouble for them. The room was small but very cosy and had everything you could want except a TV but sometimes it is nice to be away from all that. Similarly there was no mobile phone reception but they let us use their landline and it was nice not to have to check your phone all the time. The evening meal was okay but not as good as I had hoped it would be but the breakfast was sensational. One of the best I have had (and I have had quite a few!) and all reasonably priced too. We shall be returning.

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank timclay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Malton hotels
4.1 mi away
Burythorpe House
Burythorpe House
#1 of 1 in Burythorpe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 531 reviews
7.4 mi away
The Old Lodge
The Old Lodge
#1 of 4 in Malton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
7.4 mi away
The Talbot Hotel Malton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
The Cresswell Arms
The Cresswell Arms
#2 of 16 in Malton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
7.8 mi away
The Wentworth Arms
The Wentworth Arms
#6 of 16 in Malton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
9.6 mi away
Ham & Cheese Country Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cross Keys B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cross Keys B&B

Property: Cross Keys B&B
Address: Thixendale, Malton YO17 9TG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Malton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Malton
Hotel Class:3 star — Cross Keys B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Cross Keys B&B Malton, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing