We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Didn't want to leave!”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
13 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Malton, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
LouBeeeLo...
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Didn't want to leave!”
Reviewed 22 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We spent an idyllic week at Grove Cottage in June 2014. It is a great base from which to explore - we took in Whitby, Robin Hoods Bay, Scarborough, Helmsley, Castle Howard, Light Water Valley and cycling in Dalby Forest. There are so many picture perfect villages in the area that we loved driving from place to place, taking it all in.

We found Grove Cottage to be immaculately presented, well equipped and comfortable. The hosts were friendly and informative and the welcoming milk and wine were most appreciated. The open plan layout downstairs works well and includes a large tv. We took full advantage of the hot tub, enjoying both the sun shine and then the starry skies - a fabulous way to relax. We didn't want to leave - would heartily recommend.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aylesbury
Reviewed 8 May 2014 for a stay in February 2014

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Stephanie...
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“Flawless - the best UK break we've ever had, and we've had a lot.”
Reviewed 23 April 2014 for a stay in February 2014

A brilliant cottage all round - the hosts were wonderful, they made us feel so at home (wine in the fridge) and were there for anything we needed. The cottage was gorgeous - I wish our house was like that! Beautifully decorated, very contemporary, all the cooking utensils you could ask for and absolutely spotless - no dust whatsoever!
And the hot tub is just amazing and could easily fit 5-6 people - its was February and 5 degrees c outside but we were so cosy in it stargazing at midnight - very romantic!
Location is great - both York and Whitby are a very reasonable distance and the moors are great for rambling.
Will definitely stay again and probably bring a second couple to join us, the cottage was so spacious!
B & S x

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Hot Tub!
Liked least: Electric hob (but not really a problem)
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield
Reviewed 9 April 2013 for a stay in February 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: The kids loved the hot tub
Liked least: Our teenagers missed some WI FI
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
CheshireM...
Nantwich, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Fab cottage with awesome hot tub”
Reviewed 25 August 2012 for a stay in August 2012

This is an immaculate cottage with the super addition of a modern hot tub on the patio. The cottage is an extension of the owners property but you would hardly notice as they leave you to enjoy your holiday. A lovely touch on arrival is a bottle of chilled wine and tea/coffee. The cottage has two good sized bedrooms upstairs which sleep 4 and downstairs a smaller room with a bed/sofa which would sleep another adult or child. The bathroom is modern and very clean with a large shower, towels are provided for the bathroom and the hot tub too. Downstairs is a smart kitchen with dining area and the living space with a flat screen TV on the wall - DVD player available too if you want it. There is a fridge (no freezer) and a washing machine in the outhouse area. The interior of this cottage is excellent with modern fittings and immaculately presented. The hot tub outside is easy to use and a superb addition - it gives this cottage the edge over others we viewed and was the key reason we booked - we were not disappointed, it was easy to use and we were in it every night. The location of the cottage is ideal for exploring North Yorkshire and its coast - be careful as you approach as you may miss the turning. Basically hit the road to Pickering from the A64 and turn left when you see the Whole Hog farm shop and cafe.
Overall I would recommend this cottage to anyone - unless you are looking for lots of outdoor space - there isn't really any but you can gaze upon the owners horses in the next field as you sit in the hot tub so I don't think that matters.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Hot tub
Liked least: lack of outdoor space
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grayfam
Edinburgh
Level 6 Contributor
344 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
“The hot tub is the star !”
Reviewed 15 April 2012 for a stay in April 2012
2
people found this review helpful

Just back from a lovely stay at this property. Its exactly as described, squeeky clean and with some very nice touches such as a large walk in shower, and a good flat screen TV. The big attraction is of course the hot tub which was bigger than we expected, always ready to use and enjoyable at all times of day/ evening . A joy to watch the stars - plasic 'glass' in hand. You do need to camber up 3 steps and over to get in - not always the most elegant manouver and a person with mobility issues might have a problem. The owners provide pool towels as well as fabulous bathroom towels so that was a bonus.
The house itself is comfortable although I think that 5 adults in the living area might be a bit of a squeeze. The teenager used the downstairs bedroom and while she found it ok, there are no blinds on the skylight windows so it was pretty light in the mornings. No wardrobe in this room, so its really more of an extra than a proper single room although the property description is fair about this - its more of a place for 4+ adults.
The kitchen area is pleasantly furnished - we noticed a few things missing such as a working tin opener, a bread knife and being real coffee addicts , a caffitiere ! This is only a small 'complaint' the overall standard of furnishings etc is high. We didnt use them but there is a good standard of eqipment for babies/young children provided
The property is next to the owners' and we didnt see much of them. They have several pets and we loved seeing the dogs, cats and ponies about the place. The property is pretty near the main road - you can see cars from upstairs and you notice traffic sounds outside/ if the windows are open. For us it did not spoil the overall experience.
The property is rural , well situated for touring, but if you are looking for pretty hills and walking from your doorstep its possibly not the best choice. Eden Camp (recommended) is just down the road - as is Flamingoland if that is your thing. Both Pickering and Malton are 10 minutes away by car. The farm shop over the road has good butchery/ bread. We always find Sykes efficient

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The hot tub
Liked least: Small complaint - kitchen eqipment could be improved
Travelling group: Family with Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth
Reviewed 17 September 2011 for a stay in July 2011
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Family (extended)
Your age range 65+
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing