We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Camping ” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Providence Inn

The Providence Inn
Ranked #50 of 81 Restaurants in Malton
Price range: US$12 - US$30
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: The Providence Inn, Yedingham, Malton, Traditional English pub serving traditional English food. B&B available. Caravan (with or without electric hook-up) & Tent pitches. A children's play area & fishing.
Evesham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Camping ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights, price is extremely reasonable at £10 a night although facilities are limited to toilets only. The staff are welcoming and helpful, especially when you have a flat tyre on a bank holiday Monday! The lady couldn't have done any more to help us, phoning her husband and friends to see if they could help.
The only down side for us was a group that decided to camp behind us, they were rowdy and disrespectful. We think one member of this group may be responsible for our flat tyre!
However this is not the Providences' fault. We had an enjoyable stay overall.

Helpful?
Thank Sarah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    22
    8
    8
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Thoroughly enjoyed our stay!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

We spent a lovely weekend here, staying on the small caravan/ camp site. Basic amenities, clean enough but no shower block. But pub staff very helpful and welcoming. Quiet village location, off B road. Open fields in surrounding area and a small river nearby. Lovely pub meals and tasty Sunday lunch! Yes we would visit again! Nearest town, Malton, 15 mins away by car. Village shop/ petrol in next village ( Snainton) 10 mins by car. Lovely for a quiet few days away.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank FeeGeeH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Shocking ”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

Came here overnight using there campsite 5 of us so decided to have some food at 7pm, we ordered the food straight away it was 1hour 35mins before it came, soup was salty no flavour-carrot and coriander, steak and ale pie no better gravy very salty,veg over cooked, chips over cooked and not chunky has described by this time we all were disappointed so complained with which she wouldn't take on board, will never eat there again

Helpful?
2 Thank Ian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cas R, Owner at The Providence Inn, responded to this review, 7 September 2014
I heard what was said and requested feedback from many of my regular customers regarding the comments made by this man. All thought they were unfounded. We do not use salt in our gravies, not even a little. An article published in the local paper by a journalist sings our praises where food is concerned. The majority of our customers do exactly the same. While I hear these comments I do not feel they represent the majority of our custom. What would you do?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
76 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Hidden gem ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

We have just come back from staying here and what a lovely place it is. The owners and staff are lovely and friendly. They couldn't do enough for us. The food is delicious and the amenities for camping are spot on. A lovely big area with spots next to the little river that runs through the village. A marquee for customer use, beer garden and outdoor toilets. A lovely quiet place all just for £10 a night. We couldn't have asked for more and is definitely worth more than £10. Fantastic value for money. We will be visiting the fab little place regularly. So glad we found it.

Helpful?
2 Thank Janet H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bradford
Level Contributor
254 reviews
157 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
“A reet good weekend”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

I stopped here with friends on a camping weekend. The camp site was by the river, a good flat field with vehicular access a minutes walk or so from the Pub. Fees are £10 per night per tent (regardless of occupancy) which was reasonable.

There are no showers but good outside toilet facilities, a marquee for general use and a sitting out / smoking area.

We ate in the pub one night and the food was good pub fayre. We had breakfast both mornings at £5.50 per head for a good cooked plateful, orange juice, tea and coffee.

The pub is very homely with an open fire for the winter nights. A good selection of lagers and a cider selection and 2 real ales were available.

The landlady was very pleasant and very helpful as were all the staff.

Will be back next year hopefully.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank waj_the_badge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Providence Inn also viewed

Malton, North Yorkshire
 

Been to The Providence Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing