We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent accommodation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ham & Cheese Country Inn
Ranked #2 of 14 Malton B&B and Inns
Nantwich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent accommodation”
Reviewed 18 April 2014

My husband and I have just returned from a very enjoyable stay at the Ham and Cheese Inn. We received a very warm welcome on arrival. The bedroom was very clean, comfortable and spacious. The Ham and Cheese Inn has so much character. The bar food was very reasonably priced and tasty. We enjoyed playing pool and darts in the bar area. I would definitely recommend the Ham and Cheese Inn to anyone looking for comfortable accommodation at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FiT399
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    18
    3
    4
    1
See reviews for
15
32
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brighouse
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

we picked this B & B partly because of the name and we love this area. We were made very welcome and the room was lovely. The breakfasts were cooked to our spec: well cooked bacon and the evening meals were very good value. we had tried somewhere else in Malton the first night and was disappointed, so we tried here. The portions are amazing and the food cooked well. Simple fare done well. We would def come again

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol61Brighouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

We stayed overnight here. The host was very welcoming. The B&B was very reasonably priced and had all the facilities we needed - clean and comfortable. As it was not near anywhere else we decided to have our eveing meal here. The menu looked very tempting. However, we think it must have been the chef's night off. We were both very disappointed with our meals - they did not live up to their descriptions and were quite pricey.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JaneyWaneyYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

Booked in as a solo traveller at short notice and found that I had made a good choice. A village pub with restaurant and rooms. Nothing too fancy, you understand, but did the simple things well and at a good value price. Room was well presented, clean and quiet. Manager and staff were welcoming and unfailingly helpful. Free wi-fi worked well. A good traditional cooked breakfast included in the room rate. Had dinner there twice. Fish pie was OK, lamb shank from the specials board was very good. Wouldn't hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SteveandChris81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We arrived on Saturday evening and hung around the bar with our overnight bags waiting for an acknowledgment from either of the two staff who seemed to free at the end of the bar, Eventually, we were asked to 'sign this if you are staying the night'. There was no other greeting with this command! We were shown to our room at the front of the Inn. This was a lovely, bright and airy room, cutely decorated with a lovely old fireplace and mantelpiece, it smelt lovely too. The large windows are lovely old sash windows (unfortunately rotted into holes on the outside sills) and thus were single glazed so all outside noise could be heard in the room. This didn't matter though because all the bar noise and loud disco-like music could also be heard inside the room! The shower took an age of twiddling settings to offer hot water but then would suddenly turn from hot'ish to freezing, very disconcerting and uncomfortable. After finding a setting which offered fairly consistent hot water, leaving them there did not give you hot water when next used - sigh. We ate in on Saturday night, choosing as it turned out, a good Fish, Chips and Mushy peas dinner, although they didn't have Mushy Peas so we had to settle for Garden variety (!?) We were offered the option to eat in the purpose dining room but this seemed to cause consternation and considerable mutterings amongst the bar staff. The dining room was dark even with the offer of turning on the lights and cold, although the manager/owner (?) did come in and turn on the gas fire. We had loud music playing right next to us. This seemed to be the norm - the loud music was turned on in the dining room at 7.00ish the following morning at the start of and throughout breakfast serving time and could be heard quite clearly in the bedroom - so if you are expecting a lie-in you will be disappointed! I had previously emailed please requesting a vegetarian option for the full English breakfast offered, thinking they would just substitute the meat for veggy sausages. We were met with a friendly greeting and the offer of tea or coffee each served in an individual tea-pot or filter coffee in a cafetiere. I expected the lady to ask who was having the vegetarian breakfast, when she didn't I asked if she had a vegetarian option. She was visibly startled and immediately said No whilst at the same raising her shoulders to her ears in a 'so, that's that then' sort of way. She then backtracked and said she had tomatoes or beans or scrambled egg or ...... I asked if I could have beans and mushrooms on toast seeing as a vegetarian English breakfast didn't seem to be on the cards. She returned a few minutes later and asked if I wanted fresh tomatoes or tinned - I said I had ordered beans and mushrooms on toast much to her obvious confusion. She returned a few minutes later and put rounds of dry toast onto each side plate, giving me an inkling of what might be to come. A while later she returned with a full English for my husband and for me - a plate of beans with two tiny mushrooms on the side - REALLY! Who thinks it is acceptable to place a pile of beans on a plate and call it a breakfast and why serve it to a guest? At seeing my reaction to this bizarre offer of breakfast she then said 'Oh, did you want the toast on top of the beans? - AGAIN, REALLY! The following morning I opted for tomatoes on toast to try and keep it nice and simple, my husband's full English held a different amount of food items from the previous day. The manager or owner had been sat in the bar area whatever time of day/evening/night we had passed through but at check-out time he was no-where to be seen! We hung around again for awhile, eventually my husband went to the kitchen to see if there was anyone to check us out and found him in there chatting to the staff. Despite the fact that we were the only two guests in the Inn and were checking out on time, the bill was not prepared or ready. Eventually ready, at my husband's prompting and honesty he had to redo it by adding on the previous nights bar bill! So, a variety of experiences at this inn hence The Good, The Bad and the Indifferent!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank iloveholidays50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ferndown, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Touring North Yorks with our dog this proved a great, economical venue. It was a Monday so quiet but the food was good and the rooms were clean and a decent size. Our dog was made most welcome but the real star was Jess, probably the girl referred to in the 2/10 review. She was brilliant and looked after our every need - she certainly spoiled our four legged friend ! We'll certainly be back when next in the area.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

We picked this hotel as it was the closest the Flamingo World without actually staying next to it. Very easy to find as it's signposted as you go along the dual carriageway as per sat nav. What a lovely hotel/public house, 2 log fires burning, selections of Ale, Cider and Lager, and not the cheap crappy stuff that I hate, even the pool table seemed to be brand new, or they must have just shined all the pool balls. The toilet facilities were outstanding also, which you don't usually get in the country. The food was fantastic, and plenty of it, the chips were home made not oven ones. Kieron front of house was especially welcoming and so was the lady who was behind the bar and serving the food who unfortunately we didn't get the name of, who worked tiredlessly. The room was spotless and a brilliant view of the countryside when we woke in the morning. Would definitely recommend it to everyone, and would definitely go back.

Room Tip: We were in room number 2 and it was ace
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vexpez13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malton
2.7 mi away
The Old Lodge
The Old Lodge
#3 of 4 in Malton
518 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Talbot Hotel Malton
7.1 mi away
Best Western Forest & Vale Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
The White Swan Inn
The White Swan Inn
#1 of 3 in Pickering
677 reviews
5.2 mi away
The Worsley Arms Hotel
The Worsley Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hovingham
622 reviews
10.6 mi away
The Feathers Hotel
The Feathers Hotel
#3 of 5 in Helmsley
731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ham & Cheese Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ham & Cheese Country Inn

Property: Ham & Cheese Country Inn
Address: Main street | Scagglethorpe, Malton YO17 8DY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Malton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Malton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ham & Cheese Country Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ham & Cheese Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ham & Cheese Country Inn Malton, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing