We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overnight stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ham & Cheese Country Inn
Ranked #3 of 16 Malton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cullompton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Overnight stay”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We were heading back down from Scotland after almost 3 weeks B&B in Scotland we needed a quiet location for an overnight stop on the jouney back to the South West. - Found this location on the net and booked it a day in advance we arrived at the Pub had a very pleasant and friendly reception including the locals -Nice selection of real ales. The evening meal was very well prepared with an excellent variety on the menu. Room was fresh and clean. The Breakfast was well presented and plentiful which set us up for the day. The whole place was Clean fresh and in a quiet location could not fault and would return if ever passing or wanting to explore the area again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Larry620
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    18
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
12
31
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hatton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

My husband and I spent 3 nights here at the beginning of June and found it to be like a home from home. The atmosphere was very friendly both by staff and locals. Food was fabulous and reasonably priced. The Ham and Cheese is located in a very quaint and quiet area so perfect for a peaceful retreat. The only thing that lets it down is the water system as pressure is poor but this would not put us off booking again. It is also very clean with lovely rooms with en - suite.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheri Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Fantastic friendly service. Lovely surroundings and decor. Pleasant atmosphere and immaculatley clean. Good menu choices and food exceeded expectation. Great presentation, portions sizes ample and lovely and hot. Delicious and fantastic value for money! We had Gammon, Egg, Chips and Peas special at £5. Kids menu £4.75 which includes main, drink and Ice Cream. Will definitley be making this a regular treat!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hull
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

I stayed with my partner here as a belated birthday present as we were around the area and i wanted somewhere close to our day out which wasn't too expensive. The ham and cheese came up on my search, and when i rang to book the woman was very helpful, and even offered to put a few nice things in the room for us being a special occasion. That was lovely, and on arrival there was a rose and rose petals on the bed. Thank you.. The room was brilliantly decorated and the furniture all matched (rm 3) however the decor in the pub and outside was rather dated, i was very happy to see the room we stayed in was not like this at all! I noticed some re furb going on downstairs so this could b the start of a re decor maybe? We didn't have an evening meal here as id already booked a meal in Thornton le sale for my partners bday. The breakfast in the morning was amazing. Just enough for us and a caffatiere of much needed coffee. We were both very impressed . And the people who were working there was attentive and polite. Id read mixed reviews on the place, but after staying there id definately stay again. Value for money and a great little stop off point . Great name also ;) thanks ham and cheese x

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emilyjwills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Excellent! Plenty of parking outside, lovely warm welcome on arrival, comfortable room and bed had a great night sleep. We had dinner and breakfast at the Inn as its the only one in the village and both meals were excellent best mushroom soup I have tasted. We stayed on good Friday so there was music playing downstairs for the locals and guests at the inn, the music didn't keep us awake but i'm sure if you're a light sleeper it probably would. It's a great location for people doing any of the walks in the North York moors we started the day with a great breakfast and only a 20 minute drive to the car park where we started the walk. I would recommend the Ham and Cheese for an overnight stay or a weekend away.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 2
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pettrena R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nantwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

My husband and I have just returned from a very enjoyable stay at the Ham and Cheese Inn. We received a very warm welcome on arrival. The bedroom was very clean, comfortable and spacious. The Ham and Cheese Inn has so much character. The bar food was very reasonably priced and tasty. We enjoyed playing pool and darts in the bar area. I would definitely recommend the Ham and Cheese Inn to anyone looking for comfortable accommodation at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FiT399
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malton
2.7 mi away
The Old Lodge
The Old Lodge
#1 of 4 in Malton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
5.7 mi away
Burythorpe House
Burythorpe House
#1 of 1 in Burythorpe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 531 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Talbot Hotel Malton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
The Worsley Arms Hotel
The Worsley Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hovingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 606 reviews
2.6 mi away
Suddaby's Crown Hotel
Suddaby's Crown Hotel
#4 of 4 in Malton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
7.1 mi away
Best Western Forest & Vale Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ham & Cheese Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ham & Cheese Country Inn

Property: Ham & Cheese Country Inn
Address: Main street | Scagglethorpe, Malton YO17 8DY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Malton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Malton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ham & Cheese Country Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Book Direct Rooms, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ham & Cheese Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ham & Cheese Country Inn Malton, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing