We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent”
other travellers have booked this property
Cottage frontage.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cottage frontage.
Lounge/Diner Exterior Sign
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
9 reviews
Cottage frontage.
Lounge/Diner
Exterior Sign
Fantastic coal and log fire.
Front Driveway.
Wrought iron double bed with Sealy mattress.
The view from the double bedroom.
Winter Wonderland!
Enjoy a glass of bubble at the rear of the cottage.
Spectacular views to the rear of the cottage.
Open plan kitchen.
Dining area.
Jacuzzi Bath
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Malton, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
weazel13
Sittingbourne, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 13 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Lovely cosy cottage in in a rural location but within easy reach of tourist attractions. Ideal for a relaxed week or break. It is very clean and the owners were delightful and made us very welcome.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MumtoM
North Lanarkshire, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Perfect retreat”
Reviewed 20 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed here during the school Easter holidays and had a fantastic time. The cottage is well furnished and very comfortable. It was equipped with everything we could need. The location too is perfect. Set in a beautiful, quiet village but within easy reach of York, the North Yorkshire Moors national park and the coastal resorts of Whitby, Scarborough and Filey. We also enjoyed days out at Eden Camp and Flamingo Land. The owners could not have been more helpful. They left wine, flowers and Easter eggs for us which was a lovely touch. The guest book shows that there are many return visitors and I can see why.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: No complaints
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susannah8
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Fantastic cottage”
Reviewed 9 January 2014 for a stay in January 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in this warm, extremely comfortable, quiet and beautifully decorated cottage. The red wine was excellent (Australian!), fuel for the fire was abundant and the owners were very welcoming and friendly. This was a wonderful place to stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hellie196...
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful countryside retreat”
Reviewed 18 November 2013 for a stay in November 2013

We thoroughly recommend this beautiful cottage for any visits to North Yorkshire, a very good location and very quiet. Extremely tastefully decorated, attention to detail and very clean. The hosts Sandra and Nick provided us with a welcoming bottle of wine on arrival and plenty of fuel for our open fire, which was appreciated. We would definitely love to return and stay again for our school rugby tour if our son is selected. Thank you, a real gem.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: Nothing to comment upon
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pauline K
Harlow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best place ever.”
Reviewed 7 November 2013 for a stay in October 2013
3
people found this review helpful

Having stayed at many self catering premises over the years, we can honestly say this one is the best. From the warm welcome on arrival to the flowers and wine left for us, everything was perfect. The Old Post Office was spotlessly clean with everything provided, right down to tea towels, oven gloves and dishwasher tablets.
We loved it so much we booked to return in April before we left.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anke K
1 review
Reviewed 11 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016
Google Translation

Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Nov 2016
Excellent facilities (also for families), idyllic rural location, lovely hosts who are very helpful and as an experience for the children an open fireplace for Marshmallow-roasting: What more could you want at Halloween. If we visit this region again, The Old Post Office will receive our first request for accommodation.
Anke,Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review, it was great having you to stay with us, an added bonus that the weather was kind too. Sandra
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$412
/ Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing