We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality Relaxation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Talbot Hotel Malton
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Malton
Certificate of Excellence
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Quality Relaxation”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2012

We stayed at The Talbot hotel for a weekend in late September for a friend's wedding in the area and chose it because it looked like a quality hotel in the right location. We only booked a Ryedale Room which is the most reasonable on offer but were pleasantly surprised as our room was large and well appointed with a modern shower room and Penhaligon twiddlies. The bed was very comfortable and we could open a window in the room as fresh air is very important to me anywhere we stay! Tea for two was delivered on arrival very promptly after a call to order it. The whole hotel had a calm and relaxing atmosphere.

Two tiny things which would have made our stay perfect would have been a smaller lighted mirror in the bathroom to apply make-up and as well as the amazing monsoon shower a hand held shower. However, these are very minor things and not massively important, just thought I would mention them.

Breakfast was delicious and served in the restaurant and an additional room with delightful views adjacent to the restaurant. We didn't eat in the restaurant in the evening. We did sit in the well-appointed downstairs rooms to read the papers and had some sandwiches in the bar at lunchtime on the day of the wedding we attended. All the staff we met were very pleasant and happy to chat which was nice.

We ate out on the Friday night at 'The New Malton' restaurant/pub which provided a great atmosphere and very reasonably priced food.

Malton is a lovely market town and well worth a stroll around - a couple of great interior shops.

Room Tip: Although we booked the standard Ryedale Room we had Room 5 which was large and had a big bay window...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SweetPeaJackson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,228 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    823
    269
    89
    39
    8
See reviews for
120
856
4
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (337)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2012

Recently booked a table in what was supposed to be a five star eating experience. Initially greeted by an over friendly waitress. The chairs were dirty, with crumbs seeping through the edge. We were offered no specials, only knew they were available after we had ordered and over heard anohter waiter offering them. When the food arrived it was cold, sent it back which meant we didnt all eat together, when it was returned the plate was even hotter but the food only slightly warmer.
Waiting staff clearly dont expect complaints, her reaction was of horror and how dare we complain. Only good thing was getting a refund for one course, but then had to be told the reason the potato is cold is because they pipe it onto the plate.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank rachelj662016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Talbot-Malton, General Manager at The Talbot Hotel Malton, responded to this review, 10 October 2012
Dear Mary59mary59

I was very sorry to hear of your poor experience of the Talbot. I would ask that should you wish to I would be very keen to discuss this with you.

I would also like to say that we have never advertised or considered trying to be a 5 Star property as you say in your review and I am sorry if that is what you were expecting but it is certainly not what the Talbot is trying to achieve.

If you would like to discuss this further if you would like to e-mail me the best contact number to get hold of you and I will call you.

Kind regards

Robert

rwormall@talbotmalton.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
somerset
Level Contributor
53 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2012

The hotel was very inviting, it is large with many room downstairs to relax in. Our bedroom was large and had a lovely soft bed. The bathroom was luxurious with all new, clean fitments.
The staff were extremely helpful and the bar man was good to chat to. The food was nice but I wouldnt say stunning. It was pouring with rain for the 2 days we were there, Whitby is worth a visit. shame we didnt get to see James.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 01stuff01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicestershire
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2012 via mobile

Initially lured by the promise of James Martin's food influence, we actually enjoyed every aspect of this hotel. The staff were brilliant in every area, a cheery smile, a warm greeting and efficient service. Our room (a Feature Room) well worth the extra, was excellent, lovely bathroom, stunning views and super-king bed.

As we would have hoped the food was really great. A small but very varied menu and, that hard to find marriage, innovation without pretention.

Teeny niggle - there was a wine/ gourmet event evening on on the Saturday so we were put in a small room off the restaurant which was pleasant enough but a bit of a feeling of "second class citizen" particularly disappointing as we had booked many months ago for my birthday just for the restaurant experience. Great to have events but important not to let the"rest of us" feel left out.

Overall however, highly recommended and we will return.

Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TigersTog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evesham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2012

Went for dinner for my friends 50th and it was absolutely brilliant food and 99% of the staff. the barman just needs to know that champagne only comes from the champagne region of France. We decided to try the English sparkling wine on the menu and he tried to argue with me that it was "champagne" - not a very knowledgable barman! Certainly didn't spoil a magnificent experience though. would heartily recommend this spot to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2012

Impromptu visit to to the Talbot on a Saturday evening.

This is a very welcome addition to the Ryedale district, with no other comparable establishment nearby (The Pipe and Glass near Beverley being the closest).

The staff were very welcoming and our comparatively casual attire (jeans / t-shirt) did not make us feel uncomfortable in the grand, almost regal surroundings.

The food was well presented, albeit with portions on the small side.

The menu was slightly limited, however the dishes were very innovative and extremely well executed.

The service was immaculate throughout our meal.

We paid £75 for two three course meals and two drinks each.

We will go back again and certainly recommend the Talbot to friends.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Talbot-Malton, General Manager at The Talbot Hotel Malton, responded to this review, 16 October 2012
Dear Charlie T

Many thanks for taking the time to post your review of your recent meal at the Talbot. I am pleased that you enjoyed your evening with us.

Kind regards

Robert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2012

Just off the main road this wonderful hotel is a little piece of paradise. The restaurant is fantastic - the executive chef is James Martin, I had the lightly smoked beef - splendiferous and a white chocolate and whiskey croissant bread pudding - awesome!!! The rooms are spacious and elegant and the staff are friendly and attentive, unfortunately we were there for a family funeral and lovely flowers were out in our room. I wish I could have stayed there longer. The bed was comfy, and it had all mod cons in it, including wifi for freer- oh and amazing views - what more can a girl ask for?

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Talbot-Malton, General Manager at The Talbot Hotel Malton, responded to this review, 16 October 2012
Dear Pam W

I am pleased that you found the Talbot to your taste I only wish your visit was for a nicer reason. I hope that next time you come to see us it will be for pleasure.

Kind regards

Robert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malton
0.3 mi away
The Old Lodge
The Old Lodge
#1 of 4 in Malton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
3.9 mi away
Burythorpe House
Burythorpe House
#1 of 1 in Burythorpe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
18.3 mi away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Forest & Vale Hotel
13.1 mi away
The Black Swan Hotel
The Black Swan Hotel
#2 of 4 in Helmsley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,461 reviews
7.8 mi away
The White Swan Inn
The White Swan Inn
#1 of 3 in Pickering
4.5 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Talbot Hotel Malton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Talbot Hotel Malton

Property: The Talbot Hotel Malton
Address: Yorkersgate, Malton YO17 7AJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Malton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Malton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Talbot Hotel Malton 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Talbot Hotel - Malton Wentworth Restaurant - Malton Brasserie - Malton Cookery School Dating back to 1740 this lovely old hotel was reinvented in 2012 and named Small Hotel of the Year at Welcome to Yorkshire's White Rose Awards in 2014. The Wentworth Restaurant holds 2 AA rosettes. The country hotel design and atmosphere combined with its historic market town location convenient for York, the moors and coast has made it the place to say in the area. There are 26 individually furnished bedrooms, drawing room and bar, extensive landscaped grounds, two restaurants - the Wentworth Restaurant and Malton Brasserie - and the Wentworth Room for private dining and meetings. Just a short walk from the hotel is the Malton Cookery School, under the same management. The kitchen is in the hands of head chef Dan Graham who has worked under top chefs including Michel Roux at Le Gavroche. The Wentworth Restaurant offers contemporary British cooking with a fine dining 9 course tasting menu in the evenings and a Sunday lunch menu whilst the Malton Brasserie is open daily for lunch and dinner offering brasserie classics and a daily specials board. Working at the Talbot is about enthusiasm and a willingness to reach high standards in a friendly and fast paced environment. For more information please speak to us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Talbot Hotel Malton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Talbot Malton Nr York
The Talbot Malton Nr York
The Talbot Hotel Malton Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing