We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely faultless”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Talbot Hotel Malton
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Malton
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Absolutely faultless”
Reviewed 3 November 2013

From arrival to departure the Talbot surpassed expectation. Having never visited Malton we will be sure to return due to the surpassed service and experience we enjoyed. Dinner was a pleasure, simply a pleasure.The courses were timed, presented and cooked to perfection. Knowledgeable and always available staff made the entire experience one I only hope to repeat in the future. Huge thank you to Jeremy and the rest of the staff at the Talbot. Until next time.....

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hannah170883
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy d, General Manager at The Talbot Hotel Malton, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Dear Hannah170883,

Thank you very much for your review following your recent stay with us at The Talbot.

We are all delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us so much and all hope to see you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Jeremy du Plessis.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,248 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    834
    275
    92
    39
    8
See reviews for
122
870
4
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (344)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

This was our second visit to the Talbot and it was fabulous. We thoroughly enjoyed the 7 course taster menu with wines to match. The food was superb and the staff discreet and attentive. The sitting room with open fire was warm and cosy. Cannot fault this hotel, lovely rooms with comfy bed and excellent ensuite. Breakfast was excellent and it was lovely to see locals coming into the Hotel for morning coffee.

We look forward to a return visit in the not too distant future. Would certainly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CMR189
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy d, General Manager at The Talbot Hotel Malton, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Dear CMR189,

Thank you so much for your review and I am really pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us at The Talbot.
We all hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Jeremy du Plessis.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falkirk
Level Contributor
44 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Talbot Hotel on 29 October to celebrate our 37th Wedding Anniversay. We arrived early and received a lovely welcome although we were not able to check in until 2.30pm we were able to leave our luggage and stroll around the town. We were fortunate to be given an upgrade to a feature room (Room 11) overlooking the garden. (Thank you) The room was beautifully decorated, spotless clean and the four poster bed was very comfortable.
We had booked B&B and dinner. The choice on the menu was excellent and we enjoyed our meal very much. We had a leisurely breakfast and again the choice and quality was excellent.
All the staff were very friendly, helpful and professional.
I wish we had booked for more than one night as we were reluctant to leave. We will certainly be back!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FalkirkArnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy d, General Manager at The Talbot Hotel Malton, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Dear FalkirkArnie,

Thank you for your review following your recent stay with us at The Talbot.

I am really pleased that you enjoyed the service from the team and the room and hope that you will come back and see us again soon.

Kind regards,

Jeremy du Plessis.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 October 2013 via mobile

Called at the Talbot for lunch on the 21st oct with our dog kaiser who was made very welcome , had lunch in the bar area which was excellent staff are very friendly and efficient,
this was our second visit to this beautiful hotel the first time April this year when we stopped over in a feature room which was fabulous .
I would highly recommend a stay/ lunch at hotel food is delicious , overall 5* experience will definitely return.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mrscuda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy d, General Manager at The Talbot Hotel Malton, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Dear Mrscuda,

Thank you very much for your review. We are all delighted that you enjoyed your visit to The Talbot and hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Jeremy du Plessis.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

A table for four in the restaurant to celebrate a birthday & anniversary. The service was first rate & the atmosphere mid week ( Wednesday) was very pleasant.
The food was really really good. Nice menu with a nice variety and choice. Decent portion sizes & each dish had a very good balance of tastes that complimented each other. The beef cheek marinated in beer melted in the mouth and the pressed pork starter was delicious.
Pudding was very tasty & well presented (as all the dishes were). Someone's working very hard to make the restaurant a great place to dine. Sadly unable to stay over on this occasion but by the look of the place it would be a nice experience. Well done.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank outdoortripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy d, General Manager at The Talbot Hotel Malton, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Dear outdoortripper,

Thank you for your review, I am glad that you enjoyed yourself so much and we all hope to be able to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,

Jeremy du Plessis.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Little snoring
Level Contributor
48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

To start on a positive - all the staff were extremely pleasant and helpful. We were a party of four in two rooms. Our friends didn't like their room and were immediately moved. Our bath developed a leak and we were also moved.

However, we weren't impressed with the recent refurb. It looked like 'grand country house' style done on the cheap. Too many patterns and colours. The chairs were the most uncomfortable I have ever sat in, particularly in the restaurant. They are a semi-armchair, too long in the seat, with a sloping back. Hence, no support when sat upright, or when relaxing. The settees in the drawing room were good, as was the log fire.

The deal we went on included champagne on arrival. Being the cynical old man I am I expected prosecco, or similar. A very nice bottle of Laurent Perrier put me right.

Food was not memorable, particularly a rubbery panna cotta (too much gelatine?). Service was more enthusiastic than skilled, with a very pleasant Polish young woman standing out.

I feel mean being so negative, but it did not impress. To give it some context we enjoyed visits to Rick Stein's in Padstow, and to Morston Hall in Norfolk. The Talbot has many good reviews, so yet again it's just a matter of taste. I wish good luck to the staff, and hope James martin ups his game in the kitchen.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LittlesnoringDogboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy d, General Manager at The Talbot Hotel Malton, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Dear LittlesnoringDogboy,

Thank you for your feedback, it is very interseting indeed.

I can remember showing you to your room personally and laterly, showing you to another Four Poster room after an issue with the bathroom and to allow us some time to repair the fault.

I can also remember showing your friends to on of our suites and talking to you all in The Drawing Room while you were enjoying your champagne.

I know that Dominique our Restaurant Manager was going through wines each night with you that would match your food and I was aware that he introduced you to a Pouilly Fuisse that you particularly enjoyed.

Thank you for remarking about the staff and how pleasant they were.

You obviously were not that impressed with the decor of the house, nor our food offering, I would state that the first remark is all about personal taste, as hundreds of guests each month tell us they love it.
The second remark concerning our food is of course your own opinion and what your expectations about us are.
I am sorry that we did not live up to these expectations.

However, be assured that we have done nothing on the cheap here during the refurshment. It's a shame that you fail to mention, the King Size Beds, power rain showers, keeping the beautiful interior in tact, its wonderful staircase, large public rooms, new conservatory, to mention a few points.

I think it slightly unfair to compare us to Rick Steins place, or Morston Hall. These are long term established businesses, which have taken many years to get where they are now.
They have 3 Rosettes and 4 Rosettes, Michelin Stars, Red Stars for The Hotel, Cookery schools and all of which, has not happened overnight.
We have 2 Rosettes for our food and have been awarded Four Black Stars for our property.
The other Hotel mentioned by your friend comparing us, was Le Manoir, Oxfordshire. 5 Red Stars and numerous food awards.
Hardly comparable properties and I know having eaten at all three myself, much more expensive.
On that note, even the best places in the country do not always get it right, as I found when sending my raw Turbot special back to the kitchen the last time I visisted The Seafood Restaurant, Padstow, nor indeed when being charged for an invisible course of ''Specialities'' that we did not receive when recently dining at Le Manior with My Family?!
Needless to say the Head Waiter was able to remove the £102 charge as quick as it appeared.
Mistakes happen and I still had a most enjoyable time with my beautiful Wife and Mother.

We all can take constructive feedback here, but I do believe that one must compare like for like when matching different establishments with others as the style of service within these places varies widely.

Thank you once again for your thoughts and Iknow my team have taken them on board and we will try and keep on striving to improve everyday we are here.

Kind regards,

Jeremy du Plessis.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derbys
Level Contributor
122 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We stayed a few days ago. The room was large and comfortable. Breakfast excellent. And dinner of Michelin star quality. It was so good that we look for excuse to go back. Staff caring, and car perking on site. Need i say more to reach 20 characters?

Room Tip: No fitness center or pool? But otherwise I suggest a south facing room as this will have a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fiveducks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy d, General Manager at The Talbot Hotel Malton, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Dear Fiveducks,

Thank you for your feedback, it is very kind indeed.

We all hope to see you back very soon in the future.

Kind regards,

Jeremy du Plessis.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malton
0.3 mi away
The Old Lodge
The Old Lodge
#1 of 4 in Malton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
3.9 mi away
Burythorpe House
Burythorpe House
#1 of 1 in Burythorpe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 531 reviews
18.3 mi away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Best Western Forest & Vale Hotel
13.1 mi away
The Black Swan Hotel
The Black Swan Hotel
#2 of 4 in Helmsley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,511 reviews
7.8 mi away
The White Swan Inn
The White Swan Inn
#1 of 3 in Pickering
4.5 of 5 bubbles 655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Talbot Hotel Malton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Talbot Hotel Malton

Property: The Talbot Hotel Malton
Address: Yorkersgate, Malton YO17 7AJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Malton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Malton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Talbot Hotel Malton 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Talbot Hotel - Malton Wentworth Restaurant - Malton Brasserie - Malton Cookery School Dating back to 1740 this lovely old hotel was reinvented in 2012 and named Small Hotel of the Year at Welcome to Yorkshire's White Rose Awards in 2014. The Wentworth Restaurant holds 2 AA rosettes. The country hotel design and atmosphere combined with its historic market town location convenient for York, the moors and coast has made it the place to say in the area. There are 26 individually furnished bedrooms, drawing room and bar, extensive landscaped grounds, two restaurants - the Wentworth Restaurant and Malton Brasserie - and the Wentworth Room for private dining and meetings. Just a short walk from the hotel is the Malton Cookery School, under the same management. The kitchen is in the hands of head chef Dan Graham who has worked under top chefs including Michel Roux at Le Gavroche. The Wentworth Restaurant offers contemporary British cooking with a fine dining 9 course tasting menu in the evenings and a Sunday lunch menu whilst the Malton Brasserie is open daily for lunch and dinner offering brasserie classics and a daily specials board. Working at the Talbot is about enthusiasm and a willingness to reach high standards in a friendly and fast paced environment. For more information please speak to us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Talbot Hotel Malton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Talbot Malton Nr York
The Talbot Malton Nr York
The Talbot Hotel Malton Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing