We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Talbot Hotel Malton
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 01/06
Book now, pay at stay
US$158
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$101
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Burythorpe House(Burythorpe)
Free cancellation until 30/05
Book now, pay at stay
US$101
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 01/06
US$162
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 31/05
Book now, pay at stay
US$168
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 01/06
Book now, pay at stay
US$205
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Old Manse Hotel(Pickering)
Free cancellation until 28/05
Book now, pay at stay
US$128
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kings Head Hotel(Kirkbymoorside)
Free cancellation until 31/05
Book now, pay at stay
US$115
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Lastingham Grange(Lastingham)
Free cancellation until 26/05
Book now, pay at stay
US$283
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$93
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$87
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 21% below average rates

The price you found is 21% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$110/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (1,360)
Filter reviews
1,360 results
Traveller rating
909
300
98
44
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
909
300
98
44
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjames martinexecutive cheffeature roomtasting menudrawing roomafternoon teanorton roombottle of champagnecookery schooljunior suiteon arrivallovely hotelcountry housefour poster bedthree coursesbeautiful roomnorth yorkshire
Filter
Updating list...
714 - 719 of 1,360 reviews
Reviewed 18 May 2014

This is an excellent hotel with excellent staff at reception and in the bar. The hotel rooms were large with excellent decor. TV could do with updating and although tea and coffee is supplied if requested it would be more convenient if this was also available in the room. Room we had (19) suffered from traffic noise which was caused by outside windows being open. These windows were not accessible and it needed someone to close them. Once closed noise levels were lower but still noticeable. Hotel was clean and well maintained. Very large and comfortable bed. Would use again if in the area.
We used the James Martin Restaurant and will review this separately.

Room Tip: Room 19 suffers from traffic noise especially if outside windows are open.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charles Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

My Husband and I visited this Beautiful Hotel on the 13th of May, and booked an Afternoon tea for our mothers birthday.
After a rocky start, as nobody was around, or on reception we was a little unsure where to go, But I will say that the lovely hostess made up for this, we was seated in a lovely drawing room, and the tables were low and set up with fine china upon them, the room did fill up with other guests having afternoon tea, ( some piano music would of made the atmosphere even better, as you could hear everyones conversations.) We was presented with 2 large fine china tea pots, with lovely t bagged tea, and two 3 tier cake stands, the lower having sandwiches, de crusted, a selection of Salmon & cream Cheese, Egg & Cress, Fresh ham and wholegrain Mustard, My mother in law did say she had a cheese one, but i didn't get one, I think she cheekily ate it but wouldn't admit, well why not it was her 72 nd Birthday after all.
The Scones and fresh clotted cream were the best i have ever tasted, there was a lovely selection of cakes a perfectly presented, I would of loved the top tier to of had cheese and biscuits and grapes, this was just something i had elsewhere and it was a nice change, ( maybe something to consider, or offer).
My mother in law was Excited to see James Martin, and said hello but he was in a business meeting, so i had to tell her to not pester him for a photo, her words were "what a handsome man" made her day. Thank you James and sorry for the Interuption!.
I will definitely recommend the Afternoon tea, I will try the accommodation should an event come that i need accommodation instead of driving back to Harrogate.
Keep up the fantastic work, and we wish you every success for the future.
Your Staff should be commended for their hospitality.
Thank you.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yorkie031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Booked this hotel as part of an Amazon Local two nights bed and breakfast plus James Martin dining experience package. We arrived early and not surprisingly our room was not yet ready. The receptionist suggested that we leave the cases with her while we took advantage of the afternoon to explore the town and she would have the cases delivered to the room when it was ready. No fuss just good service.

Our feature room was Watson (no 12) a very comfortable and well appointed room facing the river. It was quiet and peaceful if a little warm for us (it was unfortunate that we couldn't open the window due to the inclement weather). Our package included a 3 course meal in the James Martin Restaurant which was very good indeed.

We would certainly use the Talbot again if in the area.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the river are nice and quiet
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Saint100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

We had booked a feature room (Rockingham) but were told our room wasn't quite ready (we were very early). It wasn't a problem, we went for a walk around Malton. When we returned the Restaurant Manager introduced himself and said we had been up-graded to the Junior Suite! The room is gorgeous, very spacious with views out over the gardens and the car park at the front. We had dinner in the James Martin Restaurant on the first night and the Supper Club on the second night. The Supper Club is amazing value. The meal in the restaurant was superb. We have just booked our third stay which will be in July.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Hermes02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We visited this hotel in December and were unfortunate to experience problems with the heating system there. We said that we would return and did so at the weekend. We had a suite - very nice and well appointed. The hotel is well refurbished and the new manager to whom we spoke at length has a positive philosophy about his staff and the way they interact with guests. We dined in the James Martin restaurant which is good - no pretensions toe Michelin stardom but very good and well cooked food served by a young team who reflect the manager's attitude to training and relationships - they were all friendly, polite, knowledgeable about the food and enthusiastic about their role - very refreshing! The setting is lovely with extensive grounds and great views from the room we had - the Fitzwilliam Suite. Overall this was an entirely positive experience and one we shall repeat having already booked our return in July. I recommend it to lovers of good country house hotels - not inexpensive but worth it and that's what counts.

Room Tip: The suites are very nice and the two we have stayed in have great views.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Westyorkshireman_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews