We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Something of a Disappointment”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Talbot Hotel Malton
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Malton
Certificate of Excellence
London, UK
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 273 helpful votes
“Something of a Disappointment”
Reviewed 10 June 2014

I was struggling to find somewhere for an overnight stay in Yorkshire that was both reasonable (some of the best rated country house hotels in Yorkshire are charging £300 per night BB which quite frankly is just ridiculous - this is not a capital city or haute resort area) and could also deliver something with character and a gastronomic experience. The Talbot hotel looked like it might be able to tick all of those boxes.

I had booked one of their DBB packages which also included tickets to the nearby Castle Howard (well worth spending an hour or two at). Having checked in, we were shown to the bedroom by the receptionist, which was a nice touch. The bedroom itself was a large, square room with a high ceiling. Sadly, the furniture was bland mahogany cheap reproduction, and I found the mattress and pillows to be extremely uncomfortable. There was no hospitality tray, instead one has to call down for hot beverages (complimentary) to be delivered to one's room. In a five star property this is usually never a problem as the service is very slick, in a 3 star hotel/inn it feels misplaced and just wastes everyone's time. At this level, a hospitality tray would be a far more convenient solution all around. The bathroom is the best aspect of the rooms as they have been very stylishly refurbished with chocolate marble and white "brick" shaped tiles. There is something of a mismatch between the relatively low quality bedroom and high quality bathroom. This property is on the road, but the secondary glazing helps to minimise the road noise, but bear this in mind if you are a light sleeper.

The inclusive a la carte dinner very sensibly offers the diner an allowance towards the a la carte menu with full flexibility how one chooses to use it (save for drinks). Most of the waiting staff are young and too inexperienced; I observed one waitress simply standing around looking unsure what to do. The first course took around three quarters of an hour to arrive which is far too long; the main course arrived in a much more prompt fashion. The food was very well executed and conceived.

Breakfast the following morning was a bit of a bland affair; the cold items sounded better on paper than they were in real life; they looked sad and were boring. The waitress forgot to pass to the kitchen my request to have my bacon cooked crisp, so when it arrived soggy I had to send it back. This was just yet another service issue; one mistake is forgivable, but more than one simply points to a lack of training and proper management. The variety of items available for breakfast is limited and lacking in imagination compared to the dinner menu.

I feel that The Talbot Hotel needs a little shake-up, and some tweaks from the management level downwards to fine tune the guest's experience in all aspects. I didn't find my stay relaxing as there was always some niggle… I am rather indifferent about it, and until they can improve these multiple aspects, I cannot see myself being a repeat guest.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank IntlTraveller21stc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,276 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    852
    284
    92
    40
    8
See reviews for
126
885
4
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (351)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
yorkshire
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Had a pleasant overnight stay here with dinner in the James Martin Restaurant. The hotel is lovely and furnished to a good standard. Check-in was ok. Went for a drink in the bar but no staff around, had to wait for quite a while before anyone appeared! No polite chit chat, just a little unwelcoming. Dinner on the other hand was superb, a great delight and I would definitely go back just for this. Breakfast was ok, nothing outstanding. Just not sure where this Hotel would be if it wasn't for the James Martin affiliation. An ok overnighter but nothing more.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jonesYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northumberland
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

The hotel had clearly been recently refurbished. The public areas were spotless and beautifully decorated and furnished. Sadly our room did not live up to expectations. Yes it was furnished and decorated superbly but it was very small up three flights if stairs (no lift) and overlooked the main road so there was a lot if traffic noise. The bathroom was minute - no room for a bath.
We had afternoon tea on the terrace which was ok but nothing special but we needed something to ease the rumbling tums as dinner was not until 9pm. That was not by choice we were "given" that slot on check in. So if you plan a visit I suggest you phone in advance and book the time you prefer. The grounds were in the process of being renovated and will be very good when the work is completed. Dinner was very good and the portion size was more than adequate which is rare these days. However if you go expecting James Martin to cook for you then you will be disappointed.

Room Tip: Avoid room 20
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hillwill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 June 2014

We have just enjoyed our third three night stay at the Talbot in Malton in two years. Each time we come here, it seems to be better than the last! The staff are extremely welcoming, and each one of them made a fuss of our small dog who was also made very welcome in the hotel....even down to them having provided bedding and feeding bowls in the suite we had.
We have stayed in three different rooms now: the Nantclwyd, A Norton Room, and on this occasion, The Houghton Suite. Every time the rooms have been spotlessly clean and well appointed.
We had afternoon tea on our first day, which was really good. I don't understand some of the negative reviews about this service at the hotel as it was faultless for us.
On the second night, we had the tasting menu in the hotel restaurant....although 'reassuringly expensive', it really was first class. Every course was a beautifully presented exciting treat and I would definitely pay for it again. Try it for yourself, don't expect a mountain of food, but leave yourself open to the experience and I'm sure you will enjoy it as much as we did.
Special mention to Dominic the restaurant manger who was for us an accommodating and hospitable host. He, along with the rest of the serving staff, are a credit to the hotel.
We will be coming back, and I'm sure we won't be leaving it too long!

Room Tip: We've stayed in three different rooms now and all have been good. If you like space, and like to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fatbill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forest of Dean, Gloucestershire
Level 6 Contributor
233 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We travelled to Malton especially to sample the James Martin restaurant and we were not disappointed. The vegetarian was particularly impressed as fine dining has not extended to vegetarian meals in other establishments. The staff were welcoming and attentive but not imposing. Rooms are large and with the character of the country house hotel that this is. Breakfast was delicious and service excellent. Good value for the standard of food and accommodation.
This is a good location for York and touring the moors and dales.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dean-Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

This was a special trip as part of my wife's 60th birthday, she is a James Martin fan and we had great expectations!
Car parking is limited with areas near the hotel labeled "No Parking" we were forced to park at the end of the car park area furthest from the hotel, the last available space. Later arrivals were allowed to park in the "No Parking" areas.
No help with luggage transportation was offered.
The receptionist who greeted us was helpful and friendly, as was the barman, the rest of the staff were unsmiling and disinterested.
The room, 15, afforded a magnificent view of the adjoining roof at a distance of 1.5m and nothing else. The bathroom had damp stains and mold on the wallpaper and the soap holder was hanging off the tiles. There is no air conditioning and the room was uncomfortably hot. It was not possible to sleep with the window open due to the noise of the heavy rain and local yobs roaring up and down the road outside in their boy racer cars.
While waiting in the sitting room to eat we were treated to an impromptu demonstration of furniture removal by the staff who for some reason took most of the chairs out, only to bring them back again a short time later, followed by a loud conversation between current staff members and a young man who seemed to be a former member of staff re management vacancies and the remunerations on offer, interesting but.........
Once seated in the restaurant annex, the service could only be described as at a snails pace, the food when it eventually arrived was a disappointment, tepid, unimaginative, and lacking in all aspects that we had expected. The same applied at breakfast the following morning, with little choice, slow service, and was no better than I produce at home.
The receptionist at check out could hardly be bothered to break off her conversation with another member of staff to provide me with a bill.
No help was offered to take our bags back to the car.
A couple of days after our visit I was asked to complete a feedback form which I did, the day afer the General Manager left a message on my answer phone re the feedback, and said he would call back to discuss it, he never did! That says it all!!

Room Tip: Don't accept room 15
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank SJS240
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oldham
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We stayed at The Talbot for two nights to celebrate a special birthday. From the moment of arrival until the minute of departure the experience ticked every box and more than met our expectations. The Hotel was clean, comfortable, the room was large, of a very high standard and the staff were very helpful, in reception, the bar and the James Martin restaurant. We ate in the Restaurant the first night and the meal was a delight. The Bar and Atrium area were pleasant relaxing areas with prices at a good level for this type of Hotel. The location is ideal for a visit to Castle Howard, the North Yorkshire Moors and the Scarborough Whitby coast. I would recommend this Hotel and Restaurant, and indeed have.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malton
0.3 mi away
The Old Lodge
The Old Lodge
#3 of 4 in Malton
515 reviews
7.7 mi away
Best Western Forest & Vale Hotel
7.8 mi away
The White Swan Inn
The White Swan Inn
#1 of 3 in Pickering
674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 mi away
The Black Swan Hotel
The Black Swan Hotel
#2 of 4 in Helmsley
1,593 reviews
18.3 mi away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
13.2 mi away
Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Talbot Hotel Malton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Talbot Hotel Malton

Property: The Talbot Hotel Malton
Address: Yorkersgate, Malton YO17 7AJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Malton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Malton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Talbot Hotel Malton 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Talbot Hotel - Malton Wentworth Restaurant - Malton Brasserie - Malton Cookery School Dating back to 1740 this lovely old hotel was reinvented in 2012 and named Small Hotel of the Year at Welcome to Yorkshire's White Rose Awards in 2014. The Wentworth Restaurant holds 2 AA rosettes. The country hotel design and atmosphere combined with its historic market town location convenient for York, the moors and coast has made it the place to say in the area. There are 26 individually furnished bedrooms, drawing room and bar, extensive landscaped grounds, two restaurants - the Wentworth Restaurant and Malton Brasserie - and the Wentworth Room for private dining and meetings. Just a short walk from the hotel is the Malton Cookery School, under the same management. The kitchen is in the hands of head chef Dan Graham who has worked under top chefs including Michel Roux at Le Gavroche. The Wentworth Restaurant offers contemporary British cooking with a fine dining 9 course tasting menu in the evenings and a Sunday lunch menu whilst the Malton Brasserie is open daily for lunch and dinner offering brasserie classics and a daily specials board. Working at the Talbot is about enthusiasm and a willingness to reach high standards in a friendly and fast paced environment. For more information please speak to us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Talbot Hotel Malton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Talbot Malton Nr York
The Talbot Malton Nr York
The Talbot Hotel Malton Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing