We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Talbot Hotel Malton
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Malton
Certificate of Excellence
North Wales
Level Contributor
91 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

Four of us have just visited this hotel for one night and it was wonderful.
We had booked a Travel Zoo offer which included a bottle of champagne in your room (We had the Junior Suite no. 16 & our friends the Fitzwilliam no. 24) a 5 course tasting menu in the James Martin restaurant (absolutely superb) and breakfast.
We could not fault any of our stay. The staff were lovely, the rooms beautiful, clean with very comfy beds and the food was really an eating experience - wonderful flavours and presentation.
The whole hotel is beautifully decorated and all areas clean and well kept.
Excellent on all counts and I hope we get the chance to revisit.

Room Tip: There was a supplement to pay for the Fitzwilliam suite but personally we all preferred the Junior s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ClaraM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,228 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    823
    269
    89
    39
    8
See reviews for
120
856
4
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (337)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
telford
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

This is a warm and friendly hotel. The staff are very pleasant and helpful. It has a great history and the story is a great read. The restaurant is first class and the food is both beautiful to look at and wonderful to eat. We stayed in the Fitzwilliam suite which was a real treat and lovely fresh bedding each day was a nice touch. Would thoroughly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank naughtynana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

The rooms are comfortable and well decorated making a nice change from the chain hotels. Staff are all friendly and have a bit of character.

I didn't use the restaurant on this occasion as during my previous visit I felt it was plain food dressed up as 'haute cuisine' and a little pretentious. This wouldn't put me off staying as there are restaurants close by and the breakfast at the Talbot is excellent.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

The hotel has comfortable rooms, imaginative food, friendly service and a genuine welcome for dogs. However restaurant staff need more training in attention to detail. Plates remain on the table too long after the food has been eaten. Guests can be kept waiting to be seated at breakfast. A more visible management of the restaurant service would greatly improve the dining experience.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barleyboy10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here over night, all the staff are very courteous and very helpful. The food is exceptional, so many things I want to say, about the food. I strongly recommend that you stop here. The plus is the dog was very welcome and little treats are laid out for them.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Draykill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunedin, Otago, New Zealand
Level Contributor
53 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

We had an incredibly romantic stay here, beautiful rooms with the best hotel bed I have ever slept in, great staff who were attentive around the clock! Dinner in the Talbot restaurant was exquisite, beautiful food with a gastronomic flare, I could eat here all day every day for the rest of my life!! We had the most beautiful bottle of French rosé I have ever tasted, sadly I cannot remember the name of it!! Wish we stayed more than one night, but what a memorable night it was!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Charlotte F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

Think this must be the best hotel we have ever stayed in. Beautiful room, fantastic bathroom with a shower that was powerful as well as plenty of hot water. Food was amazing, the James Martin 5 course taster menu was sublime. Can't wait to return.

Room Tip: We stayed in Rockingham which has a four poster huge bed. Away from the road, no outside noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malton
0.3 mi away
The Old Lodge
The Old Lodge
#1 of 4 in Malton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
3.9 mi away
Burythorpe House
Burythorpe House
#1 of 1 in Burythorpe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
18.3 mi away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Forest & Vale Hotel
13.1 mi away
The Black Swan Hotel
The Black Swan Hotel
#2 of 4 in Helmsley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,461 reviews
7.8 mi away
The White Swan Inn
The White Swan Inn
#1 of 3 in Pickering
4.5 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Talbot Hotel Malton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Talbot Hotel Malton

Property: The Talbot Hotel Malton
Address: Yorkersgate, Malton YO17 7AJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Malton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Malton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Talbot Hotel Malton 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Talbot Hotel - Malton Wentworth Restaurant - Malton Brasserie - Malton Cookery School Dating back to 1740 this lovely old hotel was reinvented in 2012 and named Small Hotel of the Year at Welcome to Yorkshire's White Rose Awards in 2014. The Wentworth Restaurant holds 2 AA rosettes. The country hotel design and atmosphere combined with its historic market town location convenient for York, the moors and coast has made it the place to say in the area. There are 26 individually furnished bedrooms, drawing room and bar, extensive landscaped grounds, two restaurants - the Wentworth Restaurant and Malton Brasserie - and the Wentworth Room for private dining and meetings. Just a short walk from the hotel is the Malton Cookery School, under the same management. The kitchen is in the hands of head chef Dan Graham who has worked under top chefs including Michel Roux at Le Gavroche. The Wentworth Restaurant offers contemporary British cooking with a fine dining 9 course tasting menu in the evenings and a Sunday lunch menu whilst the Malton Brasserie is open daily for lunch and dinner offering brasserie classics and a daily specials board. Working at the Talbot is about enthusiasm and a willingness to reach high standards in a friendly and fast paced environment. For more information please speak to us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Talbot Hotel Malton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Talbot Malton Nr York
The Talbot Malton Nr York
The Talbot Hotel Malton Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing