We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“James Martin restaurant- superb”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Talbot Hotel Malton
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Malton
Certificate of Excellence
Pontefract
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“James Martin restaurant- superb”
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

My husband and I came for a 20th wedding anniversary meal just to the restaurant. I cannot fault the food or service at all. The staff made the whole occasion extremely special with attention to detail and each part of the meal was an absolute delight. For a very special personal event I cannot recommend this highly enough. Thanks to everyone concerned.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank JPackworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,276 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    852
    284
    92
    40
    8
See reviews for
126
885
4
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (351)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Staithes, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We arrived at 2.30pm and were given a great reception. Then we were shown to our most beautiful room (Rm3 The Lambton) which was on the ground floor as my wife is disabled. Great views, very clean and very spacious. We asked for a complimentary tray and they quickly produced one. We asked for more normal tea bags as opposed to Earl Grey and others.
The staff were excellent being personal and polite and very courteous and nothing was too much effort for them. All were obviously very well trained as high standards were well maintained by all of them.
What a delicious 5 course tasting meal. The taste buds have been blasted away with the different dishes.
Great music in the restaurant although the piano player in the bar was a bit loud and his music didn't fit in with this type of elegant hotel. We will be recommending this hotel to everyone.

Room Tip: Don't be afraid to ask for anything. The staff are so curtious and helpful. Even producing a com...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MACKEMLAD W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Booked on a travelzoo offer as a treat for my wife and I after recommendations by 2 friends - it didn't disappoint. Lovely ambience inside and out (helped by the weather!) but highlight was dinner. Nice bottle of champagne (complimentary) on the terrace before a superb 5 course tasting menu. Colour, taste & texture was amazing and our wine choices worked well & were reasonably priced (£26 & £40). Our £26 bottle was upgraded to a £30 alternative at no extra cost & was excellent. Room was comfortable & spacious. Staff friendly and helpful. I think they appreciate that whatever the budget, guests are often there for a special occasion & treat them accordingly. We will be back, probably with friends.

Room Tip: Upgrade was £25 but was sold out - will try next time as its obviously popular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SNFH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston Spa, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We had booked for afternoon tea to mark the start of the school holidays and were lucky with the weather. we were greeted on arrival and offered three rooms inside where we could take our tea, or the terrace. We settled on the terrace and very pleased we had. It offers attractive countryside views, and we had a pleasant breeze on a hot afternoon.

We were very pleased with the afternoon tea. It comprised small sandwiches, a selection of cakes and scones served with butter, cream and jam. The food was of high quality - the cakes and scones were light and full of flavour and the sandwiches were tasty without being too filling.

This was an experience we thoroughly enjoyed, and we would definitely return again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PhotoPaul1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

My wife and I were given voucher for our wedding anniversary to attend Afternoon tea with glass of champagne at this hotel and were not disappointed..We had booked in for 4pm and when we arrived there were plenty of spaces in the car park which overlooked a fantastic view of the outside eating area.Once in we were given the option of which table we would like ,offered tea or coffee and given the menu for us to see if we had any preferances..The tea we ordered arrived quickly and at the same time the charming waitress asked if the menu had everything we needed,which it had so she duly took the order and said "I'll be with you shortly".True to her word the afternoon tea arrived with a delightful selection of sandwiches and assorted small cakes ,along with scones with butter ,jam and clotted cream and a lemon possit to cleanse our pallet.The champagne was good quality and complimented our tea .This was a really lovely experience and the decor and ambience of the Talbot was fabulous

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lynnbaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 July 2014

we have just had a ryedale Festival Lunch for 45 folk
the ambience was excellent, the food great and the service very good and better than past visits.
the excellent lounge room and the whole ambience does yorkshire well.

if you haven't tried it I would recommend it and if necessary to get faster service, just be positive.!

EXCELLENT

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Taking an overnight offer to include champagne on arrival and a tasting menu, with full breakfast could have been a recipe for disaster, but not here. The elegant hotel greets you as you enter Malton, easy to find with ample parking. Friendly and courteous staff ensure a smooth check-in. My husbands cheese allergy had been noted and our case carried up the two short flights of stairs (I didn't notice a lift). The suite was tastefully decorated and exceptionally clean. Pre dinner drinks in the garden, fabulous food and service made for a memorable evening. Well done James Martin.

Room Tip: Wentworth Suite has magnificent views, but two floors up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank golfmadviv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malton
0.3 mi away
The Old Lodge
The Old Lodge
#3 of 4 in Malton
518 reviews
7.7 mi away
Best Western Forest & Vale Hotel
7.8 mi away
The White Swan Inn
The White Swan Inn
#1 of 3 in Pickering
675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 mi away
The Black Swan Hotel
The Black Swan Hotel
#2 of 4 in Helmsley
1,593 reviews
18.3 mi away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
13.2 mi away
Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Talbot Hotel Malton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Talbot Hotel Malton

Property: The Talbot Hotel Malton
Address: Yorkersgate, Malton YO17 7AJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Malton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Malton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Talbot Hotel Malton 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Talbot Hotel - Malton Wentworth Restaurant - Malton Brasserie - Malton Cookery School Dating back to 1740 this lovely old hotel was reinvented in 2012 and named Small Hotel of the Year at Welcome to Yorkshire's White Rose Awards in 2014. The Wentworth Restaurant holds 2 AA rosettes. The country hotel design and atmosphere combined with its historic market town location convenient for York, the moors and coast has made it the place to say in the area. There are 26 individually furnished bedrooms, drawing room and bar, extensive landscaped grounds, two restaurants - the Wentworth Restaurant and Malton Brasserie - and the Wentworth Room for private dining and meetings. Just a short walk from the hotel is the Malton Cookery School, under the same management. The kitchen is in the hands of head chef Dan Graham who has worked under top chefs including Michel Roux at Le Gavroche. The Wentworth Restaurant offers contemporary British cooking with a fine dining 9 course tasting menu in the evenings and a Sunday lunch menu whilst the Malton Brasserie is open daily for lunch and dinner offering brasserie classics and a daily specials board. Working at the Talbot is about enthusiasm and a willingness to reach high standards in a friendly and fast paced environment. For more information please speak to us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Talbot Hotel Malton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Talbot Malton Nr York
The Talbot Malton Nr York
The Talbot Hotel Malton Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing