We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Did not want to go home!”
other travellers have booked this property
The grass always tastes better on the other side of the fence!!!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The grass always tastes better on the other side of the fence!!!
Doodale Cottage with parking next to the brick wall. Main entrance to kitchen with integrated dishwasher
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
21 reviews
The grass always tastes better on the other side of the fence!!!
Doodale Cottage with parking next to the brick wall.
Main entrance to kitchen with integrated dishwasher
Kitchen with electric oven, hob and microwave.
Kitchen with fridge freezer.
Kitchen with door to utility room.
Utility room with washer dryer and downstairs toilet.
Dining Area
Living Area with leather sofa and wood burning stove.
TV and seating in Living Area
Living Area
Open plan ground floor - plenty of space for 2.
Upstairs with balcony
Sleeping Area - king size and twin bed for flexible sleeping arrangements
King size bed with door to ensuite shower room
Shower Room
Shower Room
Upstairs
Front of Cottage
Outside Area
Jazz with calf born in June 2017.
Diamond born 13th June 2017
2 of our young cows - Sidonia and Maisie
Our cows and calves love a brush - particularly under the chin.
We have a variety of wildlife in our trees and hedgerows.
Our wild deer can often be seen grazing our fields.
Hay making at Barr Farm
Harvest time at Barr Farm
The Wentworth Arms - just 160m from Doodale Cottage
The Royal Oak - 400m from Doodale Cottage.
Old Malton
Old Malton Church
Old Malton
Malton
Malton
The North Yorkshire Moors Railway starts at Pickering.
Whitby
Whitby on a cold and sunny November day.
Castle Howard is just 7 miles away
Hole of Horcum on the North York Moors
Rosedale
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Malton, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
lindab38
middlesbrough, cleveland
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Did not want to go home!”
Reviewed 9 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

What a beautiful place to stay, Sally was so lovely with her greeting and the special touches in the cottage were greatly received. It was for my birthday weekend away and we did not want to come home at the end.
The cottage/barn was finished to a very high standard and we loved reading about how it all developed and the pictures to show the work progress.
The under floor heating was fab and there was no need to put the log burner on ( awwww..!) The bathroom , utilty room and all furnishings were of a very high standard and the level of cleanliness exceptional.
Would definately recommend to others.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
elaineand...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“perfect and beautiful cottage”
Reviewed 22 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015

We have just returned home after a 3 night break to doodale cottage. What a beautiful cottage with everything inside you could wish for. All the extra personal touches made it really special. We had a fabulous time and cant wait to go back. So close to so many places and attractions but as soon as the door is closed it was wonderfully peaceful. Just Perfect

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jayne_Rob...
St Helens, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Extremely high standard, friendly, helpful and great location”
Reviewed 16 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015

Lovely long Valentines weekend booked through tripadvisor. Friendly and helpful advise even before we arrived recommending local walks. Essential provisions all waiting for us tea, coffee, cake and wine. Immaculate cottage well equipped to very high standard. We loved the log burning stove and nice to wander around the farm. 2 pubs both serving food within walking distance and even more choice in nearby malton. Would recommend the walk Sally told us about - Horcum Hole make sure you stop at the pub in Levisham lovely little village. Would definitely stay at the cottage again and definitely recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dazout
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed 14 February 2015 for a stay in September 2014

. Thank-you so much for all the little extras yum yum. . Dan had a really great time. Clean and bright couldnt ask for more.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shirlee W
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic Cottage, Lovely Location.”
Reviewed 18 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at Doodale Cottage for 5 nights in December. We were met by Sally the owner upon arrival, she was very welcoming. The cottage has all the modern conveniences you could wish for. The under floor heating was extremely efficient and kept the cottage cosy and warm. There is a log fire also. To be honest we used the fire more for effect as the cottage was lovely and cosy. The appliances and accessories are all to a high standard as is the cleanliness. The homemade ginger cake was a lovely touch. Would love to come back again in the warmer months.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elmofud
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“GREAT WEEKEND BREAK”
Reviewed 30 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Doodale cottage is everything you could want in a holiday cottage.
Warm, cosy and spotlessly clean.
Extra little touches lie homemade cake and wine add to the whole experience.
There are two pubs one right across the road both doing great food.
Malton is an easy walk away.
All in all a great find we would highly recommend this lovely place.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nancywals...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome. We loved this beautiful property which was very well-equipped and had lovely country feel to it.”
Reviewed 19 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Hosts, Sally and Roger,show true country hospitality,even leaving us freshly cooked scones with jam and cream on our arrival. The cottage was immaculately clean and had everything we needed.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;