We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Teesdale Hotel & surroundings”
Review of Teesdale Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Teesdale Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 February 2013

We enjoyed our 4 days stay in Teesdale Hotel. Although the hotel is old but it is very clean and we were provided with good quality towels and our room was cleaned every day. Dave, the owner was very friendly and his staff were a credit to him. Very knowledgeable and helpful with advice and nothing was too much trouble for them.

Breakfast deserves a gold star!!! We also enjoyed our lunch and dinner - ingredients were sourced from local farmers. Well situated to enjoy the local attractions and scenery - drive to Alston and good walks highly recommended.

We will come back in the summer perhaps!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fussyMLondon_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davefalconer, Owner at Teesdale Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2013

Dear fussyMLondon_UK,
It would be great to see you up here again in the summer. Thanks so much for your lovely comments.
Regards,
Dave

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (367)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

230 - 236 of 367 reviews

Reviewed 10 February 2013

We have just returned from a 2 night beak on a KGB deal, and can certainly say it was an excellent hotel and super friendly staff. The room was dated (but so what) it was clean and comfortable which is the most important. Food in the hotel was top notch, evening meal cooked and presented beautifully, and Breakfast was amazing, cereal, fruit, toast and a full english cooked with quality products that was evident. Staff were helpful, and very friendly, and made you feel like old friends!!.....We visited High Force which was amazing and then went into the Cumbria hills......beautiful!!!....We will definatly be returning, with family next time.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jayneebaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davefalconer, Owner at Teesdale Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2013

Dear Jayneebaby,
Great news that you're thinking of returning! Thanks for the great review; it's really much appreciated.
Regards,
Dave

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2013

We have just returned from a 2 night break at The Teesdale Hotel and thoroughly enjoyed our stay.We found out about the hotel through buying a KGB deal and have not been disappointed,we thought all the staff to very hospitable and friendly, and the local people were lovely and welcoming, willing to chat and make conversation with you. We ate in the hotel on both nights and the food was good with plenty of choice with specials on the board that changed regularly. Will definately try to return soon, as we relaxed and completely chilled out.

Room Tip: upgrade if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank colour0191
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davefalconer, Owner at Teesdale Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2013

Dear colour0191,
It's fantastic to hear that you had a nice time; we love it when people tell us they've left feeling relaxed.
Thanks again for helping us work out our colour scheme for the bar, I hope you'll visit us again so you can check on the results!
Regards,
Dave

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2013

What a fantastic place! Lovely hotel with lovely staff and lovely food. I don't think that we have ever been made so welcome in a hotel.
Teesdale is a fantastic place, we only went for 2 nights and already feel like locals, the people are so friendly.
Lovely part of the world if you like walking and if you are lucky you might even get Dave to draw you a map with military precision!
Thanks to all the staff for a wonderful couple of days, we all enjoyed ourselves!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kellievena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davefalconer, Owner at Teesdale Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2013

Dear Kellievena,
Thanks so much for your lovely review. Please come up and see us again; I'll draw you another map!
Regards, Dave

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2013

Spent last weekend at the Teesdale using KGB vouchers. As others have remarked the decor and furnishings are in need of updating. Where improvements have been made e.g dining room , it really shows. Whatever the hotel lacks in facilities and decor it more than makes up in hospitality. We were warmly welcomed by Justin and all the other members of staff were just as friendly and welcoming at various points during our stay.
We ate at the hotel both nights. Although we were disappointed with the steak served, all the other dishes were first class. Special mention for the ginger sponge - to die for !!
Would thoroughly recommend this hotel - for the welcome alone.
Hope to be back sometime soon.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dave M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davefalconer, Owner at Teesdale Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2013

Dear Dave M,
Great news that you're planning to visit us again and thanks for your great review!
The bar has been in need of a make-over for a while now; it's the focal point of the hotel and sets the tone, so we're presently refurbishing it to the standard of the restaurant (which we're very proud of) ready for Easter.
Hope to see you soon,
Regards
Dave

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2013

We enjoyed a great weekend at the Teesdale hotel, we arrived on a snowy night it was just like a picture postcard, Sally and Dave were so warm and welcoming, we enjoyed a lovely home cooked meal in the bar were there was a lovely roaring fire.
The atmosphere was very friendly, the hotel rooms are in keeping with the hotel, the beds were comfortable with really nice clean bedding. Sally gave us a tour of the village later as she was going home, it was really nice that she gave us her time. The next morning we had a lovely cooked breakfast, we asked Dave for directions to the High force, he kindly drew a map which proved to be invaluable and exact. We thank you all at the Teesdale Hotel for a lovely memorable weekend, and my husband really loved the home made apple pie, please pass his thanks to the cook.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frances N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davefalconer, Owner at Teesdale Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2013

Dear Frances N,
Thanks so much for having an "excellent weekend" with us! Dot reads the reviews so she's already soaked up your praise for the pie. Hope you'll visit us again, I promise I'll do you another map!
Regards,
Dave

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2013

Friendly, welcoming staff (Justin I believe). Food excellent. Town very pretty especially in the snow. The room was nice and I could open the window and turn the heating off. When the refurbishment is complete I'm sure everyone would love the hotel.

Room Tip: Go when it's snowy and everybody cancels so you get upgraded!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lonsdale134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davefalconer, Owner at Teesdale Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2013

Dear lonsdale134,
It is very pretty around here in the snow. It's lovely all year round: in spring the hay meadows are left uncut to let the wild flowers grow, and of course long summer days are great for heading out on long walks and then the autumn colours are spectacular.
Refurbishments are always ongoing; we're a small family run place so we're never going to be able to close up and refit the whole place. It's a very old building with loads of original and often pretty quirky features; we're updating whilst retaining the place's old world charm.
Regards
Dave

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Middleton in Teesdale
0.0 mi away
Brunswick House
Brunswick House
#2 of 3 in Middleton in Teesdale
74 reviews
9.1 mi away
Jersey Farm
Jersey Farm
#1 of 1 in Barnard Castle
230 reviews
11.5 mi away
The Morritt Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
The Rose & Crown
The Rose & Crown
#1 of 1 in Romaldkirk
449 reviews
14.4 mi away
The Manor House Hotel
The Manor House Hotel
#1 of 1 in West Auckland
1,055 reviews
21.3 mi away
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Teesdale Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Teesdale Hotel

Address: Market Place, Middleton in Teesdale DL12 0QG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Middleton in Teesdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Middleton in Teesdale
Price Range: £76 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Teesdale Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Teesdale Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Teesdale Hotel Middleton In Teesdale, Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing