We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very good again”
Review of Teesdale Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Teesdale Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 July 2013

our second stay in this hotel was most enjoyable. we were taken aback to learn that chef was out of action but David proved to be an admirable substitute. food was first class and the service excellent .the knickerbocker glory is to die for.we will no doubt be back.
don and margaret

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donald D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davefalconer, Owner at Teesdale Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2013

Dear Don and Margaret,
Thanks for coming to stay with us again. Michael (our trainee prodigy) and myself are delighted to read your compliments about our food. I hope it will be even better when you come and see us again!
Thanks for the great review!
Regards,
Dave

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (364)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

206 - 212 of 364 reviews

Reviewed 3 July 2013

Very nice welcome and nice friendly staff, good home cooked food.
The rates through an agent fairly high for the area and extra for breakfast. £83.00 b&b to high for the quality of room.
Shower curtain had mould on it, bath grout needs replacing. Room has wallpaper pealing, no milk for welcome tray, kettle full of old water and the nice touch of biscuits not there. I know it's only 2 star but rate does not reflect the value for money. Just needs updating and attention to detail.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank offroader1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davefalconer, Owner at Teesdale Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2013

Dear offroader1,
We no longer include breakfast if you book through such 3rd party websites as their commissions are very high. It's not an easy climate for small independant hotels and there's an additional trend toward booking on such sites. We will match any price online over the phone and provide breakfast. Please accept my apologies for the ommissions on your welcome tray. We work very hard to maintain very high standards as a quick glance at our other reviews will show. Your room is in line for our ongoing thorough refurbishment and updating of the hotel. Your observations are correct but can I just add, for anyone reading this review: the wallpaper is curling slightly in a few spots, the shower curtains are washed regularly but accumulate ingrained black marks around the bottom seam as they become due for replacement and the grouting is a little discoloured but fully intact.
Thanks for coming to stay with us. If you would like to come again, please give us a call and we'll give you a lovely room and breakfast of course!
Many thanks for your review,
Regards,
Dave

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2013

We had another great short break at this family run hotel in beautiful, hospitable Teesdale. Lovely food and staff, nothing too much trouble. All the staff are gorgeous and their attention to detail is superb. We can't wait to go back again. Fluffy white towels and smooth cool, cotton bed linen - just right!

Room Tip: Ask Justin!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sue c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davefalconer, Owner at Teesdale Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2013

Dear Sue,
Thanks for another fantastic review and more importantly thanks for coming back and being so appreciative!
Hope to see you both again,
Regards,
Dave

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2013

This is my second time staying in this hotel, the staff are really friendly helpful and attentive. Food good and varied which is nice when you are staying, also they cater well for vegetarians if you let hem know, I'll be back. The area is fantastic so beautiful and so much to see.

Room Tip: Rooms 1, 2 and 5 a bit small, but most are really nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dawnnelson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davefalconer, Owner at Teesdale Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2013

Dear Dawn,
Thanks so much for coming again. We're glad you enjoyed the food. We're always happy to discuss anyones dietary requirements or just their preferences! Thanks for the great review. Hope to see you again next year!
Regards,
Dave

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2013

We (my husband and I and our 2 friends) spent 3 nights here 25,26,27 May 2013 and were treated like royaltly from the minute we arrived. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff who were all very helpful and always pleasant.The hotel manager David welcomed us when we arrived and gave us some great ideas for day trips while we were there. We ate at the hotel each evening and the food was excellent. There was also a great choice of wine. We enjoyed a lovely rose with our meals and even sampled the champagne. We came in exhausted one evening after spending the day exploring the beautiful surrounding countryside and were told to take a seat in the bar and were served hot tea and coffee, just what we needed!! The bar was brilliant in the evening, lively and fun with the locals and residents sitting together enjoying each others stories and jokes!! Don't take my word for it, just stay at the Teesdale hotel and enjoy!!!!! - thanks Dave we will be back, Sandra and John H, Mandy and Dennis M xxxx

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandra H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davefalconer, Owner at Teesdale Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2013

Dear Sandra, John, Mandy and Dennis,
Thanks so much to the four of you for coming. I'm so glad to hear you had a nice time. It was lovely to meet you all. Every time I looked at you I saw four smiling faces; it's great to see. Please come again.
Regards,
Dave
PS: And thanks so much for a fantastic review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2013

In some ways this hotel is oldie worldie. Nevertheless it is a worth a stay with reasonable prices, a comfy room and a good breakfast. Pleased be warned that the stairs are quite steep and there is no lift. I could not get a Wi-Fi connection but so what. The hotel is well located for the Pennine Way and exploring Teesdale.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Delibaba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davefalconer, Owner at Teesdale Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2013

Dear Delibaba,
The front part of the hotel and the quirky staircase are original listed 17th Century features. The broadband supply is a bit 17th century up here too and bobs up and down although we try our best with it. Thanks for coming and enjoying your stay and taking the time to leave some lovely comments.
Regards,
Dave

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2013

We spent three nights here and had a very enjoyable time. The hotel was very comfortable, clean and tidy. On arrival the staff were very welcoming and throughout the stay the staff were extremely friendly and helpful, the service excellent. We ate at the hotel each evening and enjoyed the food, some of it locally sourced and there was good selection of wines and ales. The hotel is in a perfect area for exploring the gorgeous countryside, easy to find and with a handy car park to the rear. I would definitely recommend staying here and hope to do so again in the future.
Hannah

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hannah p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davefalconer, Owner at Teesdale Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2013

Dear Hannah,
The staff read the reviews and I'm sure they're very chuffed to hear that they're appreciated because they do a great job! Thanks for your lovely comments and please do come again!
Regards,
Dave

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Middleton in Teesdale
0.0 mi away
Brunswick House
Brunswick House
#2 of 3 in Middleton in Teesdale
74 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Rose & Crown
The Rose & Crown
#1 of 1 in Romaldkirk
444 reviews
11.5 mi away
The Morritt Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Jersey Farm
Jersey Farm
#1 of 1 in Barnard Castle
229 reviews
14.4 mi away
The Manor House Hotel
The Manor House Hotel
#1 of 1 in West Auckland
1,050 reviews
22.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Teesdale Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Teesdale Hotel

Address: Market Place, Middleton in Teesdale DL12 0QG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Middleton in Teesdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Middleton in Teesdale
Price Range: £76 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Teesdale Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Teesdale Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Teesdale Hotel Middleton In Teesdale, Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing