We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Teesdale Hotel
Nearby Hotels
The Rose & Crown(Romaldkirk)
US$196
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Jersey Farm(Barnard Castle)
US$128
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$113
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$80
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Manor House Hotel(West Auckland)
US$73
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$62
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$193
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Brunswick House(Middleton in Teesdale)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (384)
Filter reviews
384 results
Traveller rating
161
166
38
13
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
161
166
38
13
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfriendly hotelhotel barcourse mealsuperior roomcosy barcoal firescallop chowderfor sunday lunchwalking groupwalking holidayporkan extensive menucomfy bedstaff were lovelylovely weekendfood was lovelysteak pie
Filter
Updating list...
221 - 226 of 384 reviews
Reviewed 9 August 2013

A midweek break at this family run hotel. Room was comfortable and well furnished.
We ate in the dining room which is even nicer than the pics on the website. The locally sourced trout was excellent as was the breakfast.
Also every member of staff we met were friendly courteous and efficient

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Peter T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davefalconer, Owner at Teesdale Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2013

Dear Peter T,
Thanks for your great review! Thanks for noticing our recently refurbished restaurant which we're very proud of. We are on an ambitious program to follow the same standard through the entire hotel and we're probably over half way there now. We're doing it mostly ourselves over the quiet months so a few more rooms should be done this winter. Thanks for visiting us, I hope you would consider returning sometime.
Regards,
Dave

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013 via mobile

Booked this hotel for my employee to stay overnight on a business trip and he was very impressed with the overall experience.

Booking
--------------

It was easy & simple and the price was excellent

On arrival
--------------

My employee advised that the service was very welcoming and could not fault them
He liked the outlook of the buildings and the local area

Parking
-------------
Due to the age of the building parking is really only good for cars however he did manage to fit his ford transit.

Room
----------
He enjoyed all the amenities and room were clean with plenty of towels

Overall.

Good experience clean and a friendly service. The teesdale hotel is in a great location for business trips.
I will book again if needed next time and will not hesitate.

Thank you again

Luxiria logistics ltd

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LUXIRIA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davefalconer, Owner at Teesdale Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2013

Dear LUXIRIA,
Great to hear that you'll likely return. Be assured we will not only continue to provide the same high level of service but will continue to improve.
Regards,
Dave

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013

Visited for lunch with friends. Quite acceptable - my friend particularly enjoyed her ploughmans lunch.Steak pie was good. I don't like "rustic" chips where the potatoes are not peeled, but that is a personal preference.
Hanging baskets and planters are spectacular and make the courtyard very pretty. The outdoor chairs and tables are quite rickerty and could do with being replaced although I'm sure in this economic climate its probably not possible to do everything

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Northerntraveller59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davefalconer, Owner at Teesdale Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2013

Dear Northerntraveller59,
We're glad you enjoyed your lunch. We've changed our chip style to peeled now; we're still making our own home cooked chips, as with all the food which is lovingly prepared on the premises with local ingredients.
We won Gold last two years for our baskets and planters and are waiting to hear about this year, fingers crossed!
Thanks for taking the time to post a review.
Regards,
Dave.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Middleton on Teesdale is an obvious overnight stop whilst walking through Teesdale. The Teesdale Hotel turns the obvious to into the very enjoyable. Comfortable rooms and excellent modern cusine at (if you're used to eating in London) great prices.

Room Tip: I suspect any one is just a acceptable as another; this is not a noisy village.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Keith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davefalconer, Owner at Teesdale Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2013

Dear Keith B,
Thanks for a great review! Good to hear that you set off again feeling refreshed.
Regards,
Dave

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

our second stay in this hotel was most enjoyable. we were taken aback to learn that chef was out of action but David proved to be an admirable substitute. food was first class and the service excellent .the knickerbocker glory is to die for.we will no doubt be back.
don and margaret

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donald D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davefalconer, Owner at Teesdale Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2013

Dear Don and Margaret,
Thanks for coming to stay with us again. Michael (our trainee prodigy) and myself are delighted to read your compliments about our food. I hope it will be even better when you come and see us again!
Thanks for the great review!
Regards,
Dave

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews