We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good and not so good”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Teesdale Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Teesdale Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Warwickshire, UK
Level Contributor
158 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“Good and not so good”
Reviewed 9 November 2013

From the outside the hotel looks lovely but inside, as mentioned in other reviews and acknowledged by the management, it is in need of a bit of TLC. Our room (7) was clean but rather basic and old fashioned despite being described as a "superior double". No kingsized beds unfortunately. Plumbing has also seen better days and a bit of noise from next door in the night - I always wonder why, when hotels are not full, they put guests in adjacent rooms! Makes cleaning easier I guess..... No road noise though.

On the positive side the food was good, especially the evening meal, and the staff great - friendly, welcoming and helpful, particularly the guy who checked us in and served us at breakfast and seemed to be having to do everything himself - a really nice chap who was very apologetic that we had a bit of a wait.

Overall it was fine as long as you are not expecting boutique hotel luxury!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alchemilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davefalconer, Owner at Teesdale Hotel, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Dear alchemilla,
We're sorry that you found some aspects of your stay not so good. Its great that you enjoyed your meal and appreciated our conscientious levels of service. Thanks also for taking the time to share your thoughts. You were next door to another couple because they were also booked into a superior room and our three superior double rooms are all along that corridor. I'm really disappointed that you didn't appreciate the decor in your room. We decorate the rooms individually and in that case we took our cues from the fantastic Vivienne Westwood wallpaper which looks traditional but on closer inspection has really surprising quirky details. I'll certainly be returning to that room to look at it in a different light but until now I really havent needed to as we have always received positive feedback. The days when people will stop writing that the hotel needs a little TLC are not so far away I hope as we have done a hell of a lot of work and are embarking on more this winter. We are sticking with the homely traditional feel and giving it a twist; maybe it will always need updating to some people but we love it and take pride that the hotel is always clean and fresh with high standards of friendly hospitality.
Regards,
Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    134
    152
    38
    10
    5
See reviews for
28
198
33
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 3 nights last month and we were made to feel very welcome. The hotel itself is situated in a beautiful spot and everyone we spoke to both inside and outside of the hotel were very friendly and courteous.The food was good,the portions ample and the menu provided enough choice of wholesome home cooking. Our room was quite spacious and comfortable and for those who enjoy a bit of quiet-absolutely ideal.There are plenty of places to visit within easy reach and we would recommend Raby Castle as a must. We have no doubt we shall stay here again when we are next in the area. Jim and Lucja Smith

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davefalconer, Owner at Teesdale Hotel, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Dear Jim and Lucja,
Thanks for enjoying your stay with us and thanks for taking the time to post your really kind comments. Hope to see you again soon!
Regards,
Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Had four nights B&B here over August bank holiday, and had dinner here most nights too. A really good place to stay and to eat. Nicely laid-back, not poncey or pretentious, yet has high standards and is really keen and motivated to do a good job. Great food menu. The wonderfully pleasant, friendly and helpful staff are a massive bonus. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davefalconer, Owner at Teesdale Hotel, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Dear Andrew A,
Thanks so much for a great review! Hope to see you again soon! Regards, Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We went for a weekend in September. The rooms were clean and well decorated with all the usual (tea coffee,t/v, etc ) included. The beds were very comfortable and we both had a good nights sleep. Breakfast in the morning was a selection of cereal, fresh fruit ,tea and coffee, there was then a choice of freshly cooked breakfasts, which makes a change from buffet style cooked food. The food at night was very good and the portions huge so my advice is don't eat a starter go straight for the main. The barman/receptionist/handy man Justine must be the worlds most helpful man. He couldn't do enough for us and was a real credit to the hotel. You may have noticed that I have not given 5 stars , well its just that I feel that certain areas of the hotel are a bit dated . The bar area perhaps needs a update and a lick of paint , and the day room upstairs needs a good makeover. I may be nit picking and others might not agree with me but its the attention to small detail that makes that little difference. Would go again but diet for a week before.We went to high force on Saturday (englands highest waterfall) It is a long walk from the hotel I advise you drive there and take the footpath to the falls.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank simon w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davefalconer, Owner at Teesdale Hotel, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Dear simon w,
Justian will be delighted to read your kind comments about the great service he provides. I'm really lucky to have such great dedicated staff. You're right to notice that certain details have not been attended to; they're getting smaller and fewer however as we continue to work hard to make this an even better place to have a relaxing stay.
Thanks for the great review!
Regards,
Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster
Level Contributor
90 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

It's not 5 star, it's not The Ritz, some of the plumbing is a bit antiquated but it's a great place to stay! This was our 4th visit, but the first in 2 years and we really have no complaints. The room was tastefully decorated and clean, the bed comfortable. The shower was tempremental and lacked pressure but what the heck! Locally sourced food was delicious and well presented and cask ales in fine condition. Above all, the staff are really friendly and helpful.
The hotel has made big strides at refurbishment over the years. They may not be there just yet but they're not far off. Recommended!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank horsfif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davefalconer, Owner at Teesdale Hotel, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Dear horsfif,
Thanks for the encouragement! We're getting ready for another round of improvements this winter but I'm afraid that pumped showers are beyond our remit just now. Thanks also for the recommendation. Hope to see you again soon!
Regards,
Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dundee
Level Contributor
47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Have visited the hotel over the years and always find it a great place to stay.
The breakfast buffet is well stocked with quality provisions and the cooked breakfast boasts local produce.
A shame very slow internet in the village and poor mobile phone coverage but this is not the hotels fault.
Over all a great place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robmi9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davefalconer, Owner at Teesdale Hotel, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Dear robmi9,
Thanks for being understanding about the poor internet & mobile coverage in the area, thanks for staying with us again and thank you very much for the great review!
Hope to see you again soon,
Regards,
Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tyldesley, Lancashire
Level Contributor
147 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We stayed for two nights over the August Bank Holiday weekend, and first impressions were that the hotel has seen better days. The rooms are furnished with what I remember from my childhood, "austerity" type drawers and wardrobe which hail from the post war period. The decor in the en suite had paper coming away from the ceiling and the sealant around the bath had an amount of black mould on it. The bed was moderately comfortable, I've had worse, but also had far better. The evening meals on offer are basically traditional "pub fayre" and are ok, but nothing to rave over. Breakfast is of the buffet self serve for cereals and fruit juice, with a menu for eggs, in any guise with toast, or full English or a simple bacon or sausage sandwich, whatever the choice, it's £10.
On the plus side what the hotel lacks, is made up for by very positive, and friendly staff. The cask ales are also of excellent condition, with a choice of three, along with a number of other beers and cider.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aweighandappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davefalconer, Owner at Teesdale Hotel, responded to this review, 29 August 2013
Dear Aweighandappy,
Thanks for taking the time to review us. You're right the hotel has seen better days but we're definitely winning the battle to make it a really great place to stay. There are a few little ragged edges in the room you stayed in but we love the furniture! Its sturdy dark wood, old fashioned but in keeping with the hotel we feel.
We are under no illusions that value is a factor in everyones perception of quality: we're sorry that we are now charging Booking .com customers for breakfast but it is now a fact that people no longer use such websites to book late deals that hotels would like to sell off cheap, but use them for all bookings. It is essential to have a presence on these websites so we offer fantastic late deals on them ( which we will match over the phone and include breakfast) but any bookings made further into the future will be at close to full rate (as you paid). As a small hotel, their commisions are very large so we must recoup by charging for breakfast. Full choice from our lavish buffet plus full cooked breakfast is £10.00 and we're confident that its great value. All of our food is cooked from high quality local ingredients, it could be described as "pub fayre" but that wouldn't take into account the quality and love devoted to it.
It's great that you appreciated the team of fantastic conscientious staff that we have here who are all working hard to maintain and improve the standards and value for money that we offer.
Regards,
Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Middleton in Teesdale
0.0 mi away
Brunswick House
Brunswick House
#2 of 3 in Middleton in Teesdale
60 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Rose & Crown
The Rose & Crown
#1 of 1 in Romaldkirk
408 reviews
11.5 mi away
The Morritt Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.1 mi away
Headlam Hall Hotel Spa & Golf
24.0 mi away
Langley Castle Hotel
Langley Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Langley-on-Tyne
1,064 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Forresters Hotel & Restaurant
The Forresters Hotel & Restauran...
#2 of 8 in Middleton in Teesdale
346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Teesdale Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Teesdale Hotel

Property: Teesdale Hotel
Address: Market Place, Middleton in Teesdale DL12 0QG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Middleton in Teesdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Middleton in Teesdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Teesdale Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, HostelWorld, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Teesdale Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Teesdale Hotel Middleton In Teesdale, Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing