We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice friendly hotel great staff”
Review of Teesdale Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Teesdale Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Nice friendly hotel great staff”
Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

Just had the pleasure of a two night stay at the Teesdale Hotel. Set in a beautiful village with lovely surrounding countryside for walking or just relaxing and taking in the scenic views. Nice friendly staff comfortable bed sheer luxury. The food served was of an exceptional standard at resonable prices

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Vince L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davefalconer, Owner at Teesdale Hotel, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear Vince L,
There's any amount of walking to do in the stunning countryside here in Upper Teesdale and it's still relatively undiscovered so it makes for a perfect escape! Thanks for that great review.
Regards,
Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    142
    158
    38
    11
    5
See reviews for
30
207
34
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

We stayed on a Groupon deal and weren't made to feel like second class citizens (like some places). A very friendly welcome and all the staff were hard working and just as friendly. This hotel/bar is in a small town in the countryside but was busy an a Sunday night so that must tell you something. The rooms are not your standard hotel rooms - ours was "individualistic" (retro?) with a 50s wardrobe and dressing table etc but warm, clean and comfortable. The food was excellent and the Steak & Ale pie was delicious - we were stuffed and couldn't finish our desert. The beer and atmosphere in the bar was good too - open fire. We'll stay there again next time we're in the area.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davefalconer, Owner at Teesdale Hotel, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear John H,
Everyone is welcome here! Thanks for a fantastic review. Hope to see you again!
Regards,
Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlington
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Stayed here in Jan 14. The weather was wet and cold but the welcome at the hotel was as warm as the roaring fire in the bar. Our room was very comfortable, a little chilly at times but the windows are only single glazed and it was freezing outside. Of particular note at the hotel is the quality of the food served, decent portions and very tasty, served by friendly staff. We spent a lot of time at the hotel during our stay and were included in friendly banter by the staff and regulars. Will definitely be revisiting this hotel again. Many thanks

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mrs-T-1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davefalconer, Owner at Teesdale Hotel, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear Mrs-T-1967,
Thanks for a fantastic review. We're looking forward to welcoming you here again!
Regards,
Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

A three night stay away from troubling mobile phone access! Justin and his staff were attentive and very friendly. The breakfast was simple but more than adequate to set us up for the day. We ate in the restaurant each night and were delighted with the choice and quality; the menu was chalked up on a huge board in the bar. A real coal/log fire was a feature here as was the small but excellent choice of ales (free house). The en-suite room was clean and cosy with the only fault being an uncontrollable shower. The village is well situated with access to some great walking country and only ten miles from Barnard Castle, where is the magnificent Bowes Museum, and the same distance from High Force, the highest waterfall in England. The weather was wonderful (second week in March) and we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. We shall return!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pentaxman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davefalconer, Owner at Teesdale Hotel, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear pen taxman,
Great news that you're considering a return! Thanks for taking the time to post your kind comments. See you soon I hope,
Regards,
Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 March 2014

That's not all that was warm and toastie. A lovely open fire greeted us in the bar area and the Black sheep went down a treat. The staff were lovely friendly and efficient. Nothing was too much trouble. The food was to die for, all home cooked, all freshly prepared and really scrummy. Try the vodka trifle you wont be disappointed. We stayed for two nights for our Wedding Anniversary last week as a present from our son on a bed, breakfast and evening meal status, we will be returning in the autumn for another break and hope to return again for our anniversary next year. The bed was really comfy with beautiful crisp white linen. The towels were fluffy and white. The décor and furniture were a bit dated but try as I could I could not find a dust web anywhere. I don't usually recommend anything but I just had to rate this hotel. Thank you.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicky L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davefalconer, Owner at Teesdale Hotel, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear Nicky L,
Thanks for that fantastic review! Looking forward to seeing you for your anniversary next year!
Regards,
Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Market Drayton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

We have visited this hotel for food and drink and always wanted to stay. We booked into this traditional hotel and that's exactly what it was. The rooms are decorated to match the traditional surroundings it doesn't need any TLC because it has plenty. The dining room is both modern and traditional just the right mix, fabulous. After a minor problem the staff and owner could not of been more helpful! We loved it we will certainly return, in fact I'm going to ring now!!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hillary and Bob J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davefalconer, Owner at Teesdale Hotel, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Hillary and Bob J,
We're delighted that you enjoyed your stay and appreciated our attempt to keep the traditional feel of the hotel whilst providing an up to date experience. Hoping to see you both again soon!
Regards,
Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

We spent 2 nights B & B but also had an evening meal at the hotel both nights and found the food good value for money. Staff were very friendly and helpful and the room was comfortable and adequate for the time spent there.
Would recommend it to anyone wishing to stay in the area.

Room Tip: If you do not like stairs ask for a lower floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank plainjane54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davefalconer, Owner at Teesdale Hotel, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear plainjane54,
Thanks for the recommendation and the great review. Hope to see you again soon!
Regards,
Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Middleton in Teesdale
0.0 mi away
Brunswick House
Brunswick House
#2 of 3 in Middleton in Teesdale
70 reviews
11.5 mi away
The Morritt Country House Hotel
13.3 mi away
The Brown Horse Hotel
The Brown Horse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Tow Law
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.7 mi away
Park Head Country Hotel and Restaurant
0.0 mi away
The Forresters Hotel & Restaurant
The Forresters Hotel & Restauran...
#2 of 9 in Middleton in Teesdale
353 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gentian House
Gentian House
#5 of 9 in Middleton in Teesdale
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Teesdale Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Teesdale Hotel

Property: Teesdale Hotel
Address: Market Place, Middleton in Teesdale DL12 0QG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Middleton in Teesdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Middleton in Teesdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Teesdale Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld and Cancelon so you can book your Teesdale Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Teesdale Hotel Middleton In Teesdale, Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing