We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good quality 2* hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Teesdale Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Teesdale Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Colne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Good quality 2* hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

Provided you dont expect 5* rooms and food from a hotel only given 2 the Teesdale Hotel is just fine. No luxuries and the sort of plain fair you'd expect. There were two things that were 5* - the friendlieness of the staff and the beer - very well kept Black Sheep at a reasonable price. If you've been out walking all day in the wonderful countryside all around what more can you ask?

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davefalconer, Owner at Teesdale Hotel, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear John B,
Thanks for your review. We always score very highly in the AA 2 star category because we provide quality clean and very reasonably priced accommodation. More than that though we provide great friendly and helpful hospitality and great value quality food. It's the extra we put in that makes us special! To be honest, I'm a little disappointed in your review; when we have big groups like yours it's a big job and we work very hard. Your group we're really positive about their stay, going out of their way to say so. Appreciation really matters; you all left a great tip and thanks so much for that, but it's not all about the money!
Regards,
Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    134
    152
    38
    10
    5
See reviews for
28
198
33
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Cranbrook, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

The food was quite good, but the room was a disappointment. Both taps on the basin were loose, the loo seat was very loose. The bed side lamp shade was broken and hanging down, and the shower over the bath was positioned too close to the wall to allow a body to stand under it. However the bed was comfortable.
The breakfast was quite good but spoilt by the one waitress also having to man reception to book guests out and collect money- this took preference over serving breakfast. Staff were friendly and promised to fix the room

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davefalconer, Owner at Teesdale Hotel, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear Andy W,
That's a real shame! The feedback you gave me at checkout was really positive! If you had told me about those loose items I could have fixed them immediately..You did tell me about the taps but at the end of your stay. We try our best to stay on top of such little problems but we also do our best to give great value which means I do as much of the maintenance myself. The hotel is kept very clean indeed by my fantastic domestic staff.
Regards,
Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

We were camping in the area (in a tent) and the weather was grim, too horrid even to barbeque under an umbrella, so we headed into Middleton to get some food. The forresters offered French fair, but we fancied good old pub grub, and this is what we got here. Good real ale, hearty food, good service and reasonably priced. Excellent!

Also - after reading another review. There is no O2 reception in Middleton, I can confirm that. But its hardly the hotel's fault! Just enjoy being unplugged for a little while!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davefalconer, Owner at Teesdale Hotel, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear geordiemark23,
thanks for appreciating our food. All of our food is made on the premises from high quality local ingredients, so when you get a pie it's a proper pie, not a lid of puff pastry on a pot of stew. It's not all 'pub-grub' either, we manage to have a very varied menu. We get local trout; brought in by local anglers, local game when available, lamb from a local farm, all simply and beautifully cooked.
Regards,
Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodbridge
Level Contributor
121 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

Had not stayed in Middleton in Teesdale for many years, so decided to give the Teesdale Hotel a try. The hotel looks far better from the front picture, as when you go inside some of the décor is rather old, dated, and tired. For example the gents toilet on the ground floor could only be described as grim. Still had old avocado porcelain, which must date back from the 1970's, and an old filthy soap dish. This did not give me a good first impression of the hotel on arrival. Clearly quite a lot of money needs to be spent in certain areas. There is an adequate car park at the rear, through a narrow arch.

We booked a classic room, which would have been £80, but paid £52(25% off) in advance, through the hotel's own website. We were given a bedroom at the back of the hotel, which was free from any traffic noise. The room had little space, and extremely small TV, but as we were only paying £52 a night for B&B, this was not really an issue. Lovely white fluffy towels were provided. No bath, just a shower. The double bed was small, very, very, uncomfortable, and we both had a poor night's sleep.

We ate a meal in the restaurant which was rather nice. Good choice of menu, although 2 of the main dishes had gone by the time we ordered. The menu by the front door was rather faded, and out of date, as salmon was not available. Had a cooked breakfast in the morning, although the service was incredibly slow, bearing in the restaurant was virtually empty.

The staff were friendly and welcoming. Reception is not permanently manned, and was rather chaotic. When we checked out, our bill had not even been made up.

To sum up, if you can pay just £52 for B&B, and you are on a budget, then this is a good deal. Regrettably, though we will not be staying at this hotel again, as overall we were disappointed, especially with a poor night's sleep.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank V2-60885
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davefalconer, Owner at Teesdale Hotel, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear V2-60885,
I'm so sorry to read here that you had a poor nights sleep! Only two of our double rooms are shower only so I will be checking the beds. In our improvements we have prioritised the beds because they are so important. We are a family owned and run hotel and we reinvest as much as is possible in the hotel. In addition and most of all; we invest our time and care. We are very much well on the way to conquering the old decor and you have managed to hone in on the remainder, primarily the gents. It is however, very clean. The old metal soap dish you mention is never used, it is actually an ash tray and its kept very clean despite being rather war-torn. The menu is all cooked to order from fresh so on busy nights we often run out of certain items. We do, however, manage to provide a very comprehensive menu so there's always plenty to choose. The exterior menu box is in direct sunlight and it only takes a couple of days for a computer print out to fade; we don't have it properly printed because we change the menu regularly to accommodate the fantastic locally sourced seasonal produce which we use. Thanks for noticing the charm of this old building; it is a challenge, but we think it's worth it!
Regards,
Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle-upon-Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

This is a dark and dated hotel with no mobile reception in the village and terrible customer service.
We arrived at 2pm, checked in and dropped our bags in the room and immediately went out to walk around the village. This was intended as a spur of the moment one night away.
There is no mobile reception (I use O2) at all in the village and this was a problem I realised within an hour as I was waiting for a call from home at some time this evening.
We went back to the hotel to explain this and that without phone reception we would have to leave - this isnt explained anywhere on their website so I felt it would be reasonable for them to accept my cancellation without charge - or with perhaps some compromise. Not a chance. Worse than that they said they would have to charge me as the company I booked through (Laterooms) would insist on it - they said they had no choice.
I didnt want to make a scene at the time and without mobile reception couldnt contact Laterooms to verify their claim - so I paid the full charge and left.
I later contacted laterooms to see if they would recognise my position and arrange for a full or partial reimbursement. They said it was the hotel's choice to charge or not and nothing to do with Laterooms - so who lied to me? I suspect the hotel.
If you want to go to a dark and dated hotel, with staff who are happy to lie to your face for a quick and easy quid or two, in a village with no mobile reception then this is the hotel for you - but I wont be going back I and I suggest you do yourself a favour and avoid this hotel.

Room Tip: Was only in it for 5 mins so cant really help here!
See more room tips
Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Anthony1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davefalconer, Owner at Teesdale Hotel, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear Anthony1973,
The paperwork sent to customer and hotel for all laterooms bookings states: "There will be no cancellation charge if a booking is cancelled before 10.00 hotel local time 2 days before your date of arrival. If the booking is cancelled later, or in the case of a no-show, the first night will be charged."
These terms protect the hotel from unfair loss of revenue. I am able to and happy to make concessions depending on circumstance but on a bank holiday weekend we could have filled that room three times over so I wasn't prepared to lose vital revenue. The mobile phone signal in the area is not our responsibility and I have never received a complaint that we don't forewarn people. There is also a landline telephone in every room. You are of course entitled to your opinion about the hotel. A quick glance at the vast majority of our reviews will, I hope, reassure readers that we have very high standards of hospitality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

Stayed for 2 nights and really liked this small/medium size family hotel. Nice traditional feeling to the hotel. Room was comfortable etc. Cooked breakfast was very good. We also ate in the bar both nights - food was excellent! We were really impressed with the choice and quality of all the food (beef casserole, vegetarian Thai curry etc etc). WiFi was fast, although signal did not stretch to our room (so had to use lounge or bar etc). Staff are really, really helpful and friendly - Dave, the owner, is great (including very good advice on local walks etc) and Sally was also fantastic and very efficient. Prices are very reasonable, both for B+B and for food/drink. We plan to return!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davefalconer, Owner at Teesdale Hotel, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear David W,
Thanks so much for the great review and great news that you're planning on returning!
Regards,
Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
66 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

We were caught in a situation where we needed accommodation quickly with little time to plan. we fell upon the Teesdale hotel and were very pleased we did.

Good points:
Staff - all really helpful. A real credit to the place.
Bar - drinks, all served at a very reasonable price.
Parking - free
Atmosphere - very friendly

Other points:
Rooms - are basic but they provide a good base.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank suncatchershell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davefalconer, Owner at Teesdale Hotel, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear suncatchershell,
I am very lucky to have such great staff! Thanks for choosing to stay here and leaving a fantastic review. Hope to see you again.
Regards,
Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Middleton in Teesdale
0.0 mi away
Brunswick House
Brunswick House
#2 of 3 in Middleton in Teesdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Rose & Crown
The Rose & Crown
#1 of 1 in Romaldkirk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
11.5 mi away
The Morritt Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.1 mi away
Headlam Hall Hotel Spa & Golf
24.0 mi away
Langley Castle Hotel
Langley Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Langley-on-Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,068 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Forresters Hotel & Restaurant
The Forresters Hotel & Restauran...
#2 of 8 in Middleton in Teesdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Teesdale Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Teesdale Hotel

Property: Teesdale Hotel
Address: Market Place, Middleton in Teesdale DL12 0QG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Middleton in Teesdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Middleton in Teesdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Teesdale Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Teesdale Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Teesdale Hotel Middleton In Teesdale, Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing