We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly simple hotel with clean comfortable rooms, good service and good food.”
Review of Teesdale Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Teesdale Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 December 2009

Stayed here as a break on a trip North. Staff were welcoming. Room was warm, clean and comfortable and the en suite had a bath as well as a shower. The dining room menu was adequate and the food was good and well presented. A very pleasant stay in a pretty little town.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jshcah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (367)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

362 - 367 of 367 reviews

Reviewed 8 June 2009

Our first impression of the restraunt was that it looked quite nice & that is ehy we decided to eat there. On arrival we were shown to our table in the corner of the restraunt & then started to look round & saw that the wallpaper( which had been papered over other wallpaper) had started to come off & things looked rather grubby.
My husband ordered goats cheese for his starter & when we asked for some bread to go with it we were given 1 slice of sliced bread with a packet of butter. Not a good start.
I ordered steak & ale pie which was served with frozen chips & mushy peas. The pie was o k but the peas hadn't been cooked properly & were really hard. I couldn't eat them.
My husband ordered roast ham with pea puree & the pea puree was dry & the ham was a child sized portion.
When asked we told the waitress that we were dissapointed with the meals & told her why. She said that she would tell them in the kitchen.
No one had the common courtessy to come out & see us or even appologise.
We paid our bill & left wishing that we had eaten somewhere else..........anywhere else

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank stibby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davefalconer, Owner/manager at Teesdale Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2009

I am really sorry that you did not enjoy your meal . I cannot recall or comment on this particular occasion. I know the corner of the restaurant to which you refer where the wallpaper had started to peel due to a broken downpipe which has been repaired and the decor fixed. Since taking over the hotel the restaurant has been the final room to refurbish, but we have left it until last because we felt it still looks rather elegant, the great majority of the feedback we get seems to confirm this. We are still ayoung business working hard to improve, I am very sorry about your experience and we will do our utmost to remedy the problem.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2009

This is an old building with a charachterful exterior in a pleasant village well placed for beautiful Teesdale. The twin bedded room was rather cramped and the shower in the en-suite got hotter the lower the head. Otherwise the beds were comfortable and everything was clean.
The bar was a very pleasant room with a stained glass window showing the rare gentians found in the valley. It was made by one of the family. Chairs comfortable, beer excellent and a good ambience with a local as well as residential clientele. Recommended even if you don't stay here,
The dining room was pleasant enough with comfortable armchairs at one end. The menu was unadventurous but adequate - and the same can be said of the food. Local produce featured but the local lamb chops weren't that special.
Overall the decor was rather old fashioned - a sort of staid respectability. However the price was reasonable - you get what you pay for! Good value for money. Owners and staff friendly.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnson6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davefalconer, Owner/Manager at Teesdale Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2009

Thank you for your valuable feedback. I'm glad that you seem to have found your stay generally comfortable. The plumbing in this old building is a little 'quirky' but we are very aware of it and have a programme of constant improvements. We are still a young business, and we are working hard to continue to improve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2009

Its a lovely old building in a picturesque village (we googled Middleton-in-Teesdale because it is right in the middle of the area we wanted to see, i.e. close to lake district, hadrians wall area, beamish museum and durham city). The surrounding countryside is lovely; agreat find.
The staff were really friendly, I should mention, so were all the locals, in the bar and out on the street: everybody says "hello" - unheard of in London. The bar is fab, attended by locals and guests alike, with a great atmosphere and some nice banter.
The food was great. Home-cooked and unpretentious and hearty portions and very well-cooked. I fell in love with their Steak and Ale Pie (had it 2 nights running). Their was a good selection on the menu although some more lighter meals wouldn't go amiss, but then again a hearty meal is better, you can always leave some (or so I told my girlfriend).
The room was very clean and fresh and a good size. On the whole I'd say the place is run very conscientiously. We'd reccomend.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bibeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davefalconer, Owner/manager at Teesdale Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2009

I'm delighted to read your positive feedback. Thank you very much for your visit and we really appreciate your comments which will encourage us to carry on improving.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2009

We stayed here on Valentines night, it was a last-minute booking and we decided to take advantage of the £100 per couple dinner, bed and breakfast offer.

Upon arrival, we were struck by the pleasantness of all of the staff. They really did go out of their way to help in any way possible.

That evening, we had the Valentines special menu (alone, it would have cost £25 per person). This was extremely disappointing, and took the shine off the evening. Not only was the menu very limited, but it tasted like frozen-microwaved food. I opted for the 'chicken in cider gravy' which was extremely bland. My partner commented on the blandness of his lamb. The accompanying vegetables were no better, very tasteless indeed. For dessert, I had the brandy baskets with ice-cream accompanied by a 'fruit compote' (this turned out to be identical to the Tesco frozen summer fruits which I have often had). The meal did not include any wine. All in all, we were very disappointed with the meal. Had it not been for this, we would have enjoyed the stay much more, as the hotel is quite quaint and nice, and the staff wonderful. Unfortunately, I would not return.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank lattelinz86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davefalconer, Owner/manager at Teesdale Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2009

Thank you for your feedback. I am very sorry that you were disappointed with your meal. Our food is all home-cooked using local ingredients, as much as possible. We are still a young business and want to be able to provide the best service we can so we do take note of all feedback so that we can constantly improve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Vincent D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Middleton in Teesdale
0 mi away
Brunswick House
Brunswick House
#2 of 3 in Middleton in Teesdale
74 reviews
9.1 mi away
Jersey Farm
Jersey Farm
#1 of 1 in Barnard Castle
231 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Rose & Crown
The Rose & Crown
#1 of 1 in Romaldkirk
451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 mi away
The Morritt Country House Hotel
21.3 mi away
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
17.7 mi away
Park Head Country Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Teesdale Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Teesdale Hotel

Address: Market Place, Middleton in Teesdale DL12 0QG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Middleton in Teesdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Middleton in Teesdale
Price Range: £75 - £87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Teesdale Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Teesdale Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Teesdale Hotel Middleton In Teesdale, Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing