We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Weekend stay”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
8 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
6 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14
Middleton in Teesdale, Durham, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
billyjan
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Weekend stay”
Reviewed 11 September 2018 for a stay in September 2018

We stayed here with friends for a 50th birthday weekend. Apart from the weekend being fabulous with all our friends. This house is truly amazing. There is everything you need in it . The renovation work from a old Chapel to the house it is now is 100% professional. Can't wait to book this again. The village is so so beautiful with really friendly people. Please have a look at the photos.
Message to the owners you have a unbelievable fantastic house and well done on all your hard work

Date of stay: September 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Sep 2018
Thank you for your lovely review, and I'm so pleased you had a fantastic stay, and found that the chapel had everything you need. We look forward to welcoming you back again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff L
Teesside
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The venue is a MUST, and not to be missed for a family gathering”
Reviewed 5 September 2018 for a stay in August 2018

Dales Chapel in Middleton-in-Teesdale is the best venue we have been to for a family gathering. There were 15 of us (including a 2 year old).
The chapel in the middle of Middleton-in-Teesdale within easy walking distance to both shops, cafes and eating places. We had a meal in the Teesdale Hotel and is was excellent.
The chapel is so big, with three staircases, it took a while to get your bearings as to where everything is, and I do mean EVERYTHING.
This place has everything and more. All rooms are "Large" and include all you need
Congratulations to the owners for the way it is organised and set out, and the amenities within. Take a look at the Website, its all there.
Would we go back again - You bet we will

Date of stay: August 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Sep 2018
Thanks so much for your fantastic review, and I'm so pleased the chapel worked out well for your family gathering! It's means a lot to us to hear that our guests have enjoyed their stay, and the facilities in and around the chapel live up to expectations.
We look forward to welcoming you back again next year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Two_puddi...
Newcastle-upon-Tyne
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“This tasteful church conversion is like a mini Butlins”
Reviewed 13 June 2018 for a stay in June 2018

I was part of Emily's party.This rental has everything you need to keep you inside - space, high spec facilities, kids games room, adults games room, televisions, games. So, you could stay here any time of the year. The owners have thought of everything. You can get shopping delivered, but there is a Co-op a few yards away. The village has a couple of pubs and restaurants. We visited High Force and Raby Castle during our weekend.
One note of caution is that there is no off-street parking but we were always able to park on the main street.

Date of stay: June 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Jun 2018
Thank you so much for your review. I'm so pleased you enjoyed your weekend. In days gone by, everyone walked to chapel so on site parking was not required. As you mentioned though, there is plenty of roadside parking. Thank you for noticing and appreciating the extra touches we have included, and thanks for choosing to stay at the chapel.
We hope to see you again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
emily0309...
Seaham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Beautiful property”
Reviewed 11 June 2018 for a stay in June 2018

We stayed for a weekend for a family birthday celebration with various ages from 60 to 7 weeks.
The Chapel was absolutely wonderful, very well converted with plenty of space for a family or group gathering.
It was extremely well stocked for a holiday rental and everything was though of. The games room was fantastic and had something for all ages.
There was a lovely basket of goodies left by the owners which was greatly appreciated.
The location was perfect for days out and exploring - but there is plenty to keep you entertained within the Chapel.
Would defiantly recommend this Chapel and would return again.

Date of stay: June 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Jun 2018
Thank you for your fantastic review Emily. We believe it's the little touches that make a big difference, so I'm glad they added to your celebration weekend. We hope to see you again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lesley B
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fabulous family party house”
Reviewed 4 May 2018 for a stay in January 2018

From the moment we stepped into the beautiful hall of Dales Chapel we knew we had found the perfect place for a family celebration. We couldn’t find any fault in this beautiful home. Full of character but with every modern convenience.The top floor room made a fabulous party room for 7 adults &4 children!
The owners & the lady who takes care of the Chapel are lovely people & nothing was too much trouble for them.
Thoroughly recommend this superb house

Date of stay: January 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 May 2018
Thank you so much for your kind and helpful review Lesley. I'm so pleased the whole family enjoyed the facilities and we hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracey A
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Certainly has the wow factor.”
Reviewed 3 May 2018 for a stay in February 2018
1
person found this review helpful

We visited Dales Chapel during the February half term and we will definitely be returning.
As soon as we all walked through the doors we were amazed. This is not just a holiday let, it's an absolute entertainment dream.
The children were aged from 2 to 17 and not one of them wanted to leave. We had an absolutely amazing time and even managed a bit of ladies time at The Garage Spa.
The chapel was clean, spacious and very well equipped.
Sam was very helpful and we cannot wait to return in Feb 2019 and Xmas 2019.
Thanks for a wonderful experience.

Date of stay: February 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 May 2018
Thanks for the fantastic review Tracey. It’s very gratifying to know that the little touches we include and noticed and enjoyed. Looking forward to seeing you in February!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shelley40...
newcastle
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Book now you've found your ideal property!”
Reviewed 29 April 2018 for a stay in November 2017
1
person found this review helpful

I have been to this amazing property probably 10 times now. I've been with family and pets, I've been with crazy friends, I've celebrated Christmas, birthdays and achievements. This is the most spectacular home. It's located within the village so pubs and shops a minute away. But I never go too far. It's stunning. Decor is amazing and the space is perfect for larger gatherings; whether cosying up on the sofas with a book, watching a film using hi Tec cinema systems, a card game next to a roaring fire or a game of snooker. Loads to do, fabulous village and made feel very welcome but don't hesitate this chapel will blow your mind. And nothing is too much to ask from the owner (Sam). Adore this place and cannot recommend highly enough.

Date of stay: November 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Apr 2018
Thank you so much for your kind and helpful review Shelley. We’re so pleased you choose to come back to Dales Chapel and we hope to see you again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing