We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Weekend break”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Teesdale Hotel

Teesdale Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Kids, Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lovely Weekend break”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

We booked a groupon voucher to stay at this hotel for two nights. It included a three course evening meal on the first night plus breakfast each morning and all for a very reasonable price of £79.00. I must mention first of all how friendly all the staff were they really made us feel welcome. Our room was nice very clean, warm and comfortable. The bar area was nice and had a gorgeous coal fire which was lovely and the atmosphere was really warm and friendly. The food was that good on the first night we decided to book a table to eat in the restaurant again on the second night of our stay. We had a really good short break here and will back to stay again in the future. We must also give Justian a mention he was really kind, helpful and friendly throughout our stay and passed on lots of great information about the local area and good places to visit. We look forward to seeing you all again very soon.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cooky_678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davefalconer, Owner at Teesdale Hotel, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear Cooky_678,
Looking forward to seeing you again too! Thanks for a fantastic review!
Regards.
Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    50
    9
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Back again! ;)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014 via mobile

We've stayed here on two occasions and have never been disappointed (see my last review) on this visit we got a good deal on groupon for Foresters across the road so only popped into the Teesdale for dinner (we couldn't visit this area and not pop in!!) The food here was much more down to earth and the atmosphere in the whole hotel friendly and efficient! Considering we have visited only twice before in the last two years we were recognised as regulars which goes to show how personal and friendly this hotel is. We opted for a three course meal each. The portions were huge and food well cooked and well presented! This is by far our favourite place to eat and stay when in this area.... We will be back!

Helpful?
Thank Cherryblossom759
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davefalconer, Owner at Teesdale Hotel, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear Cherryblossom759,
Thanks for returning, thanks for enjoying, and thanks for a great review! Hope to see you again soon!
Regards,
Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Evening Meals & Breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014

Food was well presented and varied choice for a small hotel. Drinks in the bar appeared cheaper than elsewhere?

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank plainjane54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davefalconer, Owner at Teesdale Hotel, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear plainjane54,
We try and keep our food and drink reasonably priced so thanks for noticing!
Cheers,
Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartlepool
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“First class food and beer!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

We had stayed and experienced the (excellent) food over the road at the Forresters, but wanted to check out another place in Middleton in Teesdale in our short break.
There were six of us and we enjoyed the Black Sheep beer and Oyster Stout very much, and plenty of it!
We all booked for evening meals on the Saturday evening, and were not disappointed - the second place in two days in such a small place to serve up superb food just shows how far food quality and cooking in the Uk has come on over the last ten years.
We all cleared our plates, but were tempted by the puddings as well and those plates were duly cleared too.
I fear we disturbed the bar later, after the meal when we enjoyed more beer and craic between ourselves and initiated several long-laughing fits between us - sorry if we disturbed the locals there too much!
First class!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dirkvdw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davefalconer, Owner at Teesdale Hotel, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear Dirkvdw,
Thanks for enjoying yourselves SO much!! You can bring your laughing fits here anytime. Eat, drink and be merry, as the saying goes! Thanks for a fantastic review.
Regards,
Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartlepool, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Delicious Sunday lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

My husband and I had a day out in Weardale and Teesdale. We stopped for lunch in the Teesdale Hotel ( never been in before ). Very friendly staff, absolutely delicious, hot, home made Sunday lunch. I would highly recommend to anyone and we will be going back soon.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Pauline F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davefalconer, Owner at Teesdale Hotel, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Dear Pauline F,
Thanks for coming for our home cooked Sunday Lunch. Thanks for giving us five stars! See you again I hope.
Regards,
Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Teesdale Hotel also viewed

Middleton in Teesdale, Durham
 
Middleton in Teesdale, Durham
Middleton in Teesdale, Durham
 

Been to Teesdale Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing