We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely food”
Review of Teesdale Hotel

Teesdale Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We chose to eat here after reading about it and the food was delicious. A good choice of menu and we were offered the option of eating in the bar or the restaurant, we chose the latter and it was a lovely setting. Staff were very friendly and if we are out this way again we would definitely return.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank tim6666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davefalconer, Owner at Teesdale Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2014

Dear tim6666,
So glad you enjoyed it! Thanks for a great review!
Regards,
Dave

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (157)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

111 - 115 of 157 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2014

We had a meal here in February, it was totally delicious, romantic setting and very reasonable price.

Thank Lucy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davefalconer, Owner at Teesdale Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2014

Dear Lucy A,
Thanks for the great review!
Regards,
Dave

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Two nights stay early July,(we also stayed last year) We wanted a restfull break in our favourite part of the county and that was exactly what we got. Apart from our original booking with AGODA who only confirmed that breakfast was not included after we had paid the amount they quoted initialy. We cancelled and booked direct at a considerable saving.
We dined both nights and found that the food, the friendly staff and everything about the place was what you would expect in a friendly village like Middleton.
We did have a problem with the TV which Dave was unable to fix but an adjustment on our bill brought a happy compromise.
A very happy experience and a one we will certainly repeat next year. Thanks to Dave and all his staff.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Geordie Pensioner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davefalconer, Owner at Teesdale Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2014

Dear Geordie Pensioner,
Thanks for visiting and being so understanding about the problem with the TV. Hope to see you again!
Regards,
Dave

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We had 2 meals there. The staff were really friendly, polite and courteous. The prices and choice are the most reasonable in that small village and the meals were generous portion size and gorgeous. We had, garlic mushrooms, gammon and raspberry choc crunch and it was the best meal I'd had in a while. We didn't stay the night and yes it's a bit dated but the meals and staff made it memorable.

3  Thank Lovingit38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davefalconer, Owner at Teesdale Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2014

Dear LAFFABLE,
Thanks for your great review!
Regards,
Dave

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

We where supposed to have spent a couple of nights here but they had double booked, but they did arrange for us to stay at a guest house across the road. We visited The Teesdale a couple of times during our stay, for drinks and food. Only ranked 2 star. No surprise, as it needs a visit from the hotel inspector off tv as it desperatly needs a refurbish. The staff however are very pleasent and welcoming and the food was good. The two times we visited the atmosphere nice and the staff welcoming and friendly. The food was good but be aware breakfast is not included in the room price and they charge £10 per head, although I have no idea if it's worth the money.

Thank Wollycobbles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davefalconer, Owner at Teesdale Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Dear Wollycobbles,
Sorry about the overbooking. On bank holiday weekends the bookings come in so rapidly through various channels that they don't all reach us on time and we occasionally get overbooked. Thank you for being so understanding about it and coming to us for your evening meals and drinks. I'd always recommend booking direct with us or through our website because due to lack of heavy commissions we provide breakfast included. I'm sure the Hotel Inspector would love what we do, we certainly do and more importantly, so do lots and lots of happy customers!
Regards,
Dave

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Teesdale Hotel also viewed

Middleton in Teesdale, Durham
 
Middleton in Teesdale, Durham
Eggleston, Barnard Castle
 

Been to Teesdale Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing