We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very disappointing”
Review of Teesdale Hotel

Teesdale Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Bar Scene, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Very disappointing”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We called in here for lunch today, having been last year and enjoying a wholesome tasty meal. Wow, what a lot can change in a year ! I ordered the lamb casserole, priced at £11.95. When it came it was a huge disappointment as there were literally 7 pieces of sliced potato, half a diced carrot and a small pot on my plate - which I assumed the lamb casserole was in. I fished around for the lamb and managed to find one chunk of lamb and several small pieces of fat - that was it apart from gushings of gravy to 'fill' the pot. Very expensive for what it actually was and hugely disappointing. On a positive note, the staff were very friendly and pleasant - but I literally left feeling just as hungry as when I entered, what a let down. :(

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Debbiemhull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davefalconer, Owner at Teesdale Hotel, responded to this review, 10 November 2014
Dear Debbiemhull,
Please be assured that your experience was a blip in our usual great service and value. We have a great new chef who may have just been finding his feet as we are now receiving fantastic feedback for our great menu of great local produce beautifully cooked and presented.
Regards,
Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    52
    10
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Lovely food”
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We chose to eat here after reading about it and the food was delicious. A good choice of menu and we were offered the option of eating in the bar or the restaurant, we chose the latter and it was a lovely setting. Staff were very friendly and if we are out this way again we would definitely return.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tim6666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davefalconer, Owner at Teesdale Hotel, responded to this review, 10 November 2014
Dear tim6666,
So glad you enjoyed it! Thanks for a great review!
Regards,
Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Food was delicious”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We had a meal here in February, it was totally delicious, romantic setting and very reasonable price.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lucy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davefalconer, Owner at Teesdale Hotel, responded to this review, 10 November 2014
Dear Lucy A,
Thanks for the great review!
Regards,
Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
whitley bay uk.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Hotel? Restaurant? Bar? Who cares, Restfull breaks R Us.”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Two nights stay early July,(we also stayed last year) We wanted a restfull break in our favourite part of the county and that was exactly what we got. Apart from our original booking with AGODA who only confirmed that breakfast was not included after we had paid the amount they quoted initialy. We cancelled and booked direct at a considerable saving.
We dined both nights and found that the food, the friendly staff and everything about the place was what you would expect in a friendly village like Middleton.
We did have a problem with the TV which Dave was unable to fix but an adjustment on our bill brought a happy compromise.
A very happy experience and a one we will certainly repeat next year. Thanks to Dave and all his staff.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Geordie Pensioner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davefalconer, Owner at Teesdale Hotel, responded to this review, 10 November 2014
Dear Geordie Pensioner,
Thanks for visiting and being so understanding about the problem with the TV. Hope to see you again!
Regards,
Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NEWCASTLE
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely meal, lovely staff”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We had 2 meals there. The staff were really friendly, polite and courteous. The prices and choice are the most reasonable in that small village and the meals were generous portion size and gorgeous. We had, garlic mushrooms, gammon and raspberry choc crunch and it was the best meal I'd had in a while. We didn't stay the night and yes it's a bit dated but the meals and staff made it memorable.

Helpful?
3 Thank Lovingit38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davefalconer, Owner at Teesdale Hotel, responded to this review, 10 November 2014
Dear LAFFABLE,
Thanks for your great review!
Regards,
Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Teesdale Hotel also viewed

Middleton in Teesdale, Durham
 
Middleton in Teesdale, Durham
Middleton in Teesdale, Durham
 

Been to Teesdale Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing