We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Old Barn
Nearby Hotels
Brunswick House(Middleton in Teesdale)
Hotels.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Rose & Crown(Romaldkirk)
US$184
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$84
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Teesdale Hotel(Middleton in Teesdale)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Jersey Farm(Barnard Castle)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Manor House Hotel(West Auckland)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (78)
Filter reviews
78 results
Traveller rating
70
8
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
70
8
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbiscuitsexcellent breakfastb bpennine wayon arrivallocal areathe ownertwin roomhigh standardscrambled eggs with smoked salmonday's walka wonderful staystayed nightsthe rivercooked breakfastfull englishlynda
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
64 - 69 of 78 reviews
Reviewed 24 February 2011

We have just spent two nights at the Old Barn. Lynda is an excellent host with attention to detail ensuring guests get individual and first class attention. Her knowlegde of the local area area make a guide book/maps unnecessary - they are all there anyway for guests to use. Breakfasts are excellent and we found we did not need anything until an evening meal. Rooms were fresh, newly decorated, warm and with the most comfortable beds we have slept in.

Keep his place a secret to yourself - you would be disappointed if you could not book a stay here because others have got there first.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ITCHINGTON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2010

We used a variety of accommodation whilst on our walk along the Pennine Way. We considered this to be the best. Very warm welcome received. Tea/coffee and cake provided on arrival. Whilst we had this, Lynda sat and chatted with us, giving details of all the local eating places, which were located only yards away. The rooms were excellent and in pristine condition. Good breakfast provided.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iangaughan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2010

Linda very welcoming,cake and tea on arrival, rooms very comfortable and decor and cleaniness excellent, if you do not mind a twin room then choose the twin as it is very big and roomy with a nice view and very good value for money

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cruise5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2010

This is a newly re-furbished B&B accomodation in a beautiful location. No expense has been spared on the quality of fixtures and fittings with very comfortable beds, magnificent bathrooms with power showers and plenty of storage space.

Lynda the owner was very accomodating to every request and nothing was too much trouble. The breakfast was first class and for four guys walking the Pennine Way it was the best accomodation we had during the week.

Highly recommended and it's not often we can say that!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank capricornnine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2010

I usually can't be bothered to write reviews, but as this was such a nice stop I feel I should share the good news.

I wont go into raptures about B&B, but everything was right - modern stylish room, extremely comfortable bed (and quiet - slept like a log), excellent power shower, usual breakfast fare - fry up perfectly cooked, friendly host, and reasonably priced.

What more could you want?

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dullrider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews