We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cycle trip - May 2012”
Review of The Old Barn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Middleton in Teesdale
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Old Barn
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 10 May 2012

Stopping over from Newcastle to Lancaster. What a lovely place and a super host. Couldn't fault anything. Lynda keeps a beautiful b&b and serves a great breakfast. After that, the only problem for a cyclist is 'the only way is up'. I'll certainly be back.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nigel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (78)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 78 reviews

Reviewed 8 February 2012

On a frosty winter's day we couldn't have asked for a warmer welcome and there was no holding back on the central heating of the rooms either. Lynda was an ideal host and ensured our stay was just what we wanted. Excellent accomodation, clean and modern. Breakfast was equally ideal. Showers were piping hot too, lovely after a long day on the hills. I would recommend The Old Barn for a Stay in the Y dales.

Room Tip: I had the room at the back, no outside noise and the sun through the windows in the morning...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leslie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2011

We had a wonderful stay at the The Old Barn - it's extremely comfortable, very stylish and wonderfully clean. The Host Lynda was superb and cooks a fantastic breakfast. We've stayed in many, many b&b's over the years and this is by far one of the finest - great price too. We had two lovely days here and hope to come back again. Mr & Mrs Swinhoe

Room Tip: boutique b&b's
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jelena s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2011

We've stayed in dozens of B & B's over the past 10 years and rate this amongst the best. Lynda is a delightful host, her breakfasts are superb and the bedroom with en-suite power shower is immaculate. There's a great choice of restaurants within just 2 minutes walk. Set within lovely walking country, Middleton comes over as a very friendly place. Take time to say hello to Charlie, the village cat, who wanders around the village as though he owns it! An excellent place to stay with excellent value for money.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank langman c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2011

We can endorse the very positive views of other travellers. Fully modernised accommodation, kept spotlessly clean, and a very friendly and helpful hostess. Wet outerwear was spirited away for drying! Excellent breakfast to start the day. Only one minor drawback - those (like US based visitors) used to generously proportioned accommodation while on the road may find the room here, and the washbasin in the ensuite bathroom, on the small side. But that's fairly common in the UK, while the modest price (relatively uncommon in the UK when compared with other European countries or the US, sadly) means that the Old Barn combines quality with excellent value. We'd very happily stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mick_and_Moose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2011

We were a family of 6 and occupied all the rooms.The decor was lovely and good quality, the best shower ever! The breakfast was fabulous, and the host Linda was very nice.Would recommend this B&B and it is well worthy of its 4* rating.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank loveholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2011

The Old Barn is a lovely B&B with good quality rooms and excellent value for money. Would definitely stay there again and recommend to others

Room Tip: Rooms are very good quality
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bjsdjp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Middleton in Teesdale hotels
0.1 mi away
Teesdale Hotel
Teesdale Hotel
#1 of 3 in Middleton in Teesdale
367 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Forresters Hotel & Restaurant
The Forresters Hotel & Restauran...
#2 of 10 in Middleton in Teesdale
362 reviews
0.1 mi away
Brunswick House
Brunswick House
#2 of 3 in Middleton in Teesdale
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Hill B&B
The Hill B&B
#4 of 10 in Middleton in Teesdale
21 reviews
0.9 mi away
Leekworth Caravan Park
Leekworth Caravan Park
#1 of 1 in Middleton in Teesdale
94 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gentian House
Gentian House
#7 of 10 in Middleton in Teesdale
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Barn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Barn

Address: 12 Market Place, Middleton in Teesdale DL12 0QG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Middleton in Teesdale
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Middleton in Teesdale
Price Range: £30 - £68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This converted barn in a central location in Middleton in Teesdale has been renovated to a very high standard, providing four star Bed & Breakfast accommodation in farmhouse style decor and really comfortable bedrooms. Your host, Lynda Bares, aims to make your stay as pleasant and relaxing as possible with a friendly atmosphere, good food and drinks, useful information and helpful service. An ideal base to explore the North Pennines. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Old Barn Middleton In Teesdale, Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing