We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As good as previous said...”
Review of The Old Barn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Middleton in Teesdale
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Old Barn
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 10 August 2012

Only stayed one night at the Old Barn for bnb but would happily have stayed longer. The twin room that we had was really comfy and surprisingly quiet (it's on the road side), shower good too! Lynda was very friendly and helpful and we had loads of guides to choose from...good job, there are lots of options. We went for the obvious one - a 9 miler up to High Force by the back lanes and back down the river. We thought the middle stretch above and below Low Force was by far the best bit...possibly the nicest river walk we've done!
We had a good reasonably priced evening meal at the cafe a few doors down from but there are a lot of places to choose from. Middleton is a good base for staying in Teesdale...we will be back!

Room Tip: Only saw ours but as I said it's quiet despite being at front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chasaroodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (78)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 78 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2012

Just as a B and B should be. Spacious, comfortable accommodation lots of storage space, and spotlessly clean. Lynda looks after her guest with style and great customer service. Great breakfast too. Will certainly go back!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BerkshireWalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2012

We have just had an overnight stay at ‘The Old Barn’, I only wish our arrangements could have been changed as we would have booked another night!

On arrival we were met by Lynda the owner, she made fresh coffee and sat chatting about the area and our plans for the evening. We were made to feel at home and really welcome.

The ‘Barn’ has been sympathetically restored to a very high standard; bedrooms are furnished to a high standard with lovely quality sheets with feather quilts. Janice said it was the best night’s sleep she has had away from home.

Ensuite nice and warm with a fantastic power shower, just when you need it.

Before we left Lynda made our breakfast sourced from local suppliers, she really has gone that extra mile and deserves every success in her business.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MalcolmMuter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2012

Only stayed one night here but would have happily stopped much longer, its very difficult to pick fault with this delightfull b & b & I'm not going to try either as this would be unfair on Lynda who runs a near perfect place.
So I can only echo what the majority of others are saying, book a few nights here if you are planning to be in the area, you will not be disapointed !

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gapples_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2012

Stopping over from Newcastle to Lancaster. What a lovely place and a super host. Couldn't fault anything. Lynda keeps a beautiful b&b and serves a great breakfast. After that, the only problem for a cyclist is 'the only way is up'. I'll certainly be back.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nigel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2012

On a frosty winter's day we couldn't have asked for a warmer welcome and there was no holding back on the central heating of the rooms either. Lynda was an ideal host and ensured our stay was just what we wanted. Excellent accomodation, clean and modern. Breakfast was equally ideal. Showers were piping hot too, lovely after a long day on the hills. I would recommend The Old Barn for a Stay in the Y dales.

Room Tip: I had the room at the back, no outside noise and the sun through the windows in the morning...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leslie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2011

We had a wonderful stay at the The Old Barn - it's extremely comfortable, very stylish and wonderfully clean. The Host Lynda was superb and cooks a fantastic breakfast. We've stayed in many, many b&b's over the years and this is by far one of the finest - great price too. We had two lovely days here and hope to come back again. Mr & Mrs Swinhoe

Room Tip: boutique b&b's
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jelena s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Middleton in Teesdale
0.1 mi away
Brunswick House
Brunswick House
#2 of 3 in Middleton in Teesdale
74 reviews
0.1 mi away
Teesdale Hotel
Teesdale Hotel
#1 of 3 in Middleton in Teesdale
365 reviews
9.2 mi away
Jersey Farm
Jersey Farm
#1 of 1 in Barnard Castle
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
The Rose & Crown
The Rose & Crown
#1 of 1 in Romaldkirk
444 reviews
11.4 mi away
The Morritt Country House Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Forresters Hotel & Restaurant
The Forresters Hotel & Restauran...
#2 of 10 in Middleton in Teesdale
362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Barn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Barn

Address: 12 Market Place, Middleton in Teesdale DL12 0QG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Middleton in Teesdale
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Middleton in Teesdale
Price Range: £30 - £68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This converted barn in a central location in Middleton in Teesdale has been renovated to a very high standard, providing four star Bed & Breakfast accommodation in farmhouse style decor and really comfortable bedrooms. Your host, Lynda Bares, aims to make your stay as pleasant and relaxing as possible with a friendly atmosphere, good food and drinks, useful information and helpful service. An ideal base to explore the North Pennines. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Old Barn Middleton In Teesdale, Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing