We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Forresters Hotel & Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Cardiff
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Great food”
Reviewed 25 September 2013

My wife and I ate in the Forresters on the 18 september. The meal was excellent, service was very friendly and efficient. The staff took time to chat which in this day and age is unusual. I recommend this restaurant without reservation.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TaffCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    228
    78
    25
    13
    9
See reviews for
31
246
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Not only were our rooms perfect, but the dining experience as well. The selection of desserts are tremendous. Recently we had the cookie dough cheesecake which was out of this world, compliments to the chef! This hotel has a very family orientated feel. We asked directions to the nearest grocery shop and one of the staff, Rachel, kindly assisted us with this. Hats off to her! We soon got chatting and she explained a bit about the background of the hotel and how she made some of the desserts, including the cookie dough cheesecake!

Overall, such lovely staff, rooms and food. What more can I say.

Room Tip: Room 6 all the way!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stacey J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

My husband and I stayed in the Forresters for three nights. The room was spacious and clean. All the staff were extremely welcoming and friendly. The food was excellent and we had breakfast and evening meal each night.

We have stayed in many hotels this summer whilst competing in the dog agility shows around the country and must say this is the best by far. Will definitely stay again when we are in that neck of the woods!

Room Tip: ROOMS TO THE REAR WILL BE QUIETER - please note no fitness centre or swimming pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkshire
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

Stayed this weekend for two nights and received a warm welcome from Frank the owner and Matt. Frank kindly carried our luggage up to our lovely room where there were lots of well thought out little extra's to make ones stay more comfortable.Having worked in the travel industry before retirement I can honestly say that the breakfasts here are the best I've ever had plus the evening meals are to die for. Loved the French atmosphere too.the staff were all lovely and helpful and we hope to return next year to this lovely little hotel.

Room Tip: If you have mobility problems make sure you have an en suite at room level as some rooms have the ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christinegertch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

We stayed one night, having seen earlier reviews on Tripadvisor, and were very pleased that we did.

Our room was very comfortable with a six foot bed, upstairs ensuite (in the loft space), very clean and looked out over the high street. But the highlight was the food.

The bar was quite busy with a couple of large groups, but we enjoyed a couple of beers before our meal and the chance to look at the day's desserts which are on display in the bar area. The barmaid was very friendly and chatty - in fact the service throughout was excellent.

We chose mainly from the specials menu and every dish that we had was absolutely excellent. Special mention goes to the lobster bisque (my partner's starter) and lobster thermidor (my main course). Having already spotted a fantastic looking millefeulle (spelling?) in the fridge earlier, I was determined to try it, even though the rest of the meal was extremely filling. It was superb. The wine selection was also very good and reasonably priced.

We will return if we're ever in the area and wouldn't hesitate to recommend the Forresters to anyone.

Room Tip: Our room faced the street and was above the bar, so there was some noise as we were staying on a Sat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fife, Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

We stayed for one night on our cycling holiday. The reception was friendly and efficient (our bikes were very well looked after). The room and bathroom (which has a bath - very welcome on a cycling holiday!) were both clean and comfortable. Our evening meal was perfectly adequate, and there was a number of real-ales available: just the job on a cycling holiday!

The only problem is bar noise in the bedrooms. We had room-6, which along with room numbers five and above, are all directly above the bar. Our sleep was not affected too much, but only by virtue of having cycled for 6-hours that day! We recommend that you try to get rooms 1 to 4, as (we think) they should be much quieter.

Room Tip: Avoid room numbers 5 and above
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sula-Bheinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 10 September 2013

Driving through Middleton-In-Teesdale recently, we stumbled across The Forresters Hotel & Restaurant. We did not use the hotel facilities, so cannot comment on those, but an impromptu decision to take a break from a long drive turned out to be a good one. A warm welcome awaited us. Nothing was too much trouble for the waitress, Sophie, who was friendly, knowledgeable, and attentive without being intrusive.
The food was delicious! Beautifully cooked and presented without being 'fussy', yet the attention to detail was beyond reproach. Try the pork loin with savoy cabbage and mustard cream! Their very talented chef had prepared everything, down to the truffles which accompanied our coffee. It was well worth the drive, and I'm sure in the future we will be sampling other dishes from the menu. This was possibly the best meal I have eaten in a restaurant.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Middleton in Teesdale
0.1 mi away
Brunswick House
Brunswick House
#2 of 3 in Middleton in Teesdale
70 reviews
11.5 mi away
The Morritt Country House Hotel
8.4 mi away
The Coach And Horses
The Coach And Horses
#19 of 21 in Barnard Castle
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Gentian House
Gentian House
#6 of 9 in Middleton in Teesdale
5 reviews
8.5 mi away
YHA Langdon Beck
YHA Langdon Beck
#1 of 5 in Barnard Castle
33 reviews
8.6 mi away
Hill Top - Killhope B&B and Cottage
Hill Top - Killhope B&B and Cott...
#2 of 4 in Bishop Auckland
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Forresters Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Forresters Hotel & Restaurant

Property: The Forresters Hotel & Restaurant
Address: 52-53 Market Place, Middleton in Teesdale DL12 0QH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Middleton in Teesdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Middleton in Teesdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Forresters Hotel & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Forresters Hotel & French Restaurant in Middleton in Teesdale offers French Cuisine “The Northern Portion” in a restaurant which has the authentic look and ambience of its French counter parts. Enjoy classic French dishes sush as Beef Bourguignon, Magret de Canard, Cheese Soufflé, King Scallops as well as delectable pastries, homemade Ice Cream and homemade chocolates. Watch out also for special nights such as moules frites and crepes. The Forresters also offer a Bar with Pool Table and large Selection of drinks, Lagers, Ciders including some French Cidre, large selection of Spirits and local Real Ales, a large selection of wines & sparkling wines is also available by the glass. Watch out for regular music entertainment Food served Tuesday to Saturday from 12.00pm All our rooms are en suite with Freeview TV, Tea/Coffee making facilities and WiFi access. Our licensed bar is open until midnight every day and our restaurant serves outstanding French style dishes. Dogs and children are welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Hotels.com so you can book your The Forresters Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Forresters Hotel And Restaurant
The Forresters Hotel & Restaurant Middleton In Teesdale, Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing