We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a gem”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Forresters Hotel & Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Cumbria
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“What a gem”
Reviewed 27 March 2014 via mobile

I met a lifelong friend and we stayed at The Forresters Hotel.On arrival we were greeted by the smiling and friendly owner,this was the start of a fantastic two night break in lovely Middleton,which held many childhood memories for me.The owner showed us to our lovely twin room,which was excellent,gorgeous luxury bathroom,telescope and all!beds spotless and very comfy,tea,coffee,hot chocolate readily available.The views towards the church and onto the village were lovely.We decided to stay in for our evening meals,and we were so glad we did!The food is first class,very French,a wonderful reflection on Franc the French owner,the quality was outstanding,and presentation so perfect.I personally had the twice baked cheese soufflé both evenings as it was second to none!main courses were yummy and we delighted in different choices,each of us thoroughly enjoying each evening meal!
Dan was the man at breakfast time!a breath of fresh air and made breakfast a blast!the ingredients used were delicious,fresh and tasty!enjoyed by us both!the pancakes were absolutely gorgeous.Thankyou for a terrific stay,your friendly attention to detail and atmospheric surroundings are a winner.Hope the season is good for you all,and can't wait to return.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank CumbriaLizzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    228
    78
    25
    13
    9
See reviews for
31
246
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
redcar
Level 6 Contributor
424 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014 via mobile

My wife and I have just returned from staying 3 days at the Forresters using a Groupon voucher. We had a wonderful time.We hadn't realised that the restaurant had a distinct french feel but this was a big bonus. We had all our meals in the hotel and thoroughly enjoyed every single one. Our room was of a reasonable size with a big bathroom. Franck and his staff were very friendly and helpful and Jo his wife is a superb cook. The only slight negative, that on the first night there was quite a bit of noise in the bedroom from down below. We will definitely be back

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank redscarfox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartlepool
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

This was another Groupon experience - and another solidly positive experience too;
Six of us descended on the area - we had a brilliant time, walking and eating and drinking in and about Barnard Castle and Middleton in Teesdale .. 6 long-term friends just taking a break from life and enjoying each others company.
Good bedrooms, well done out, nice bathrooms / showers (some ONLY have a shower if you are needy of a bath), and a warm welcome.
Good quality real ales at £2 a pint and amazing quality food from the kitchen at a pretty reasonable price ... top notch to be honest!
The breakfasts were very good too, and plenty of it
I would pay top price rather than Groupon to go back and have the fun and food experience we enjoyed.... that's how good it was!

Room Tip: A general tip - make sure you stay up late enough to not be bothered by late night music events in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dirkvdw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

I have just come back from a Saturday to Monday stay here with my partner. I don't usually write reviews, but I had such a nice time and was so impressed, I felt compelled to express how much of a positive experience my stay was.


Food - We ate at the restaurant on our firsts night of our stay. I expected just your normal hotel/bar grub but I was pleasantly surprised and their food surpassed my expectations. In fact, not only did the food surpass my expectations of bar food, it would have surpassed my expectations of any 5 starred restaurant. I ordered coq au vin and my partner ordered merguez. Both our dishes were extremely tasty and the portions were very generous. The second night we just ate in the bar area. I had a simple steak and onion baguette and my partner had tomato and orange soup, which is the best soup I've ever tasted. For breakfast both mornings I had scrambled eggs and salmon on toast which was cooked perfectly and presented wonderfully. We discovered that the chef is trained in patisserie and we sampled a few home made chocolates - wow..just WOW!
At this establishment, even the simplest of options on their menu has an extra special unique twist. For example, even their chips are not just chips, they are home cooked, finely chopped and garnished. It seems as though all their food is well thought and lovingly prepared. It is food heaven.

Room - I loved the room we stayed in (4). The décor was modern, clean, relaxing and elegant - not like your generic corporate chain hotel. We had a comfy king size bed which was a nice change. The icing on the cake for me was the bathroom; huge, modern and chic with a beautiful free-standing bathtub and even had a decorative telescope.
The facilities in the room were also good - modern flat screen TV, free wi-fi, kettle, tea, milk and coffee.
The only negative about the room would be that it is above the bar and if you are picky about noise at night or like and early night, you would probably be better off getting a room away from the music and noise of people coming and going (on a weekend night). However, saying that, it was only noticeable on our first night which was a Saturday. On Sunday we didn't have any issues with noise from the bar.

Staff - we had most staff contact from Matt, who was so friendly, helpful and an absolute delight. Each and every staff member that we spoke to was lovely. We got the impression that all the staff were naturally friendly and sociable and weren't just being nice to us because they had to be - they appeared genuinely interested and helpful. Whoever hired the staff made a good choice.

Atmosphere - the hotel is nicely decorated - modern, clean and has lots of little quirky accents.

Things to do here - On our first day we had a trip to Barnard castle and the village, which is only about 15 mins away by car. On the second day we had a trip to Durham (about 30-40mins away by car); visited the cathedral and had a walk around the pretty village. We then went to Newcastle. On our last day we had a walk around Full Force waterfall (which is well worth a view and is only 5 miles away from the hotel). It was a cold and wet weekend when we went, so we didn't do as much walking as I would have liked but I would love to go back here to explore the beautiful countryside more.

I booked the weekend away on a Groupon voucher just to go somewhere new. Even on a non-discounted price, this hotel experience is worth every penny, and more. We had a lovely time.

Like the food here, absolutely everything in this hotel is well thought out, of high standard and seems lovingly followed through.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brombles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Hi we have just stayed there for two night break. It was amazing food and fantastic customer service. Will definitely go back THe food was fantastic valve for money and compliments to the chef. The only issue we had was it was a bit noisy at times but that was a very small issue.THe barman was extremely helpful and always had time for the customers

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanne Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Stayed here for one night using a groupon deal. Excellent location right in the heart if town. Room was very nice. Only downside was mattress was very uncomfortable. Service was excellent and worth a return alone. Would definitely recommend

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AJFOST
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hexham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

This was our 3rd stay at the forresters we received a warm welcome from Franck the owner and his staff. Francks wife cooks the tastiest food ever,nicest food we ever had.Always enjoy our stay here, nice rooms,friendly service, professional staff,lovely atmosphere cant wait to go back. WELL DONE THE FORRESTERS !

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cazley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Middleton in Teesdale
0.1 mi away
Brunswick House
Brunswick House
#2 of 3 in Middleton in Teesdale
69 reviews
11.5 mi away
The Morritt Country House Hotel
8.4 mi away
The Coach And Horses
The Coach And Horses
#12 of 21 in Barnard Castle
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Gentian House
Gentian House
#8 of 9 in Middleton in Teesdale
4 reviews
8.5 mi away
Homelands Guest House
Homelands Guest House
#1 of 21 in Barnard Castle
318 reviews
8.5 mi away
YHA Langdon Beck
YHA Langdon Beck
#1 of 5 in Barnard Castle
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Forresters Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Forresters Hotel & Restaurant

Property: The Forresters Hotel & Restaurant
Address: 52-53 Market Place, Middleton in Teesdale DL12 0QH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Middleton in Teesdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Middleton in Teesdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Forresters Hotel & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Forresters Hotel & French Restaurant in Middleton in Teesdale offers French Cuisine “The Northern Portion” in a restaurant which has the authentic look and ambience of its French counter parts. Enjoy classic French dishes sush as Beef Bourguignon, Magret de Canard, Cheese Soufflé, King Scallops as well as delectable pastries, homemade Ice Cream and homemade chocolates. Watch out also for special nights such as moules frites and crepes. The Forresters also offer a Bar with Pool Table and large Selection of drinks, Lagers, Ciders including some French Cidre, large selection of Spirits and local Real Ales, a large selection of wines & sparkling wines is also available by the glass. Watch out for regular music entertainment Food served Tuesday to Saturday from 12.00pm All our rooms are en suite with Freeview TV, Tea/Coffee making facilities and WiFi access. Our licensed bar is open until midnight every day and our restaurant serves outstanding French style dishes. Dogs and children are welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Forresters Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Forresters Hotel And Restaurant
The Forresters Hotel & Restaurant Middleton In Teesdale, Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing