We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Forresters Hotel & Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Very friendly staff, especially Dan !!,
Food was excellent , breakfast always freshly cooked and the baguettes with chips absolutely delicious.
Accommodation was clean and well presented, our room having a separate upstairs bathroom.
French themed throughout as you would expect with french owners!!.
Groupon made this a really good value short break.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barney-rabbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (364)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

126 - 132 of 364 reviews

Reviewed 18 April 2014

A fantastic hotel for a chilled out break.

Food is exceptional - especially the sweets, Breakfast has a great choice, including their Breakfast Gateaux - full English with cake style presentation. Dinner was amazing with 3 courses being a challenge. Cost was £28 for 3courses which might be considered expensive for a country pub but it was worth every penny. The Beef Bourginion melted in you mouth and with a sauce so rich it could have doubled as a retired banker.

Dan the waiter ensured that breakfast was an enjoyable experience with his cheery banter.

The room was adequate. Queen size bed was comfy but I felt it was oversized for the room and would have preferred a double, others no doubt would choose the bigger bed. Bathroom was big enough for our two dogs to sleep in.

Staff were friendly as were the locals.

They have been very creative with their use of space with some ensuites being up stairs, fine if you have one of these rooms (we didn't) but a little noisy for the ones below - which is why I rated it 4stars.

I would gladly return and would encourage others to visit.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Coriacan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

My husband and I stayed here for two nights a couple of weeks ago together with our dog, Daisymay. We stayed on a groupon deal which was amazing value for money. The friendliness of the owner, Franc and all the staff was greatly appreciated but the highlight was the food. We ate in the bar on the first evening as we had the dog with us although we still mixed and matched between the bar and restaurant menu. The second night we ate in the restaurant with the dog with us. On both occasions the food was superb , indeed I had the best mussels I've ever eaten There is a well balanced wine list with good but very reasonably priced wine. Breakfast is equally good with a menu that surpasses many first class hotels . I particularly appreciated the presentation of the food on all occasions. The only slight negative was our bedroom which was exceptionally small with an old fashioned bathroom with a small shower cubicle. I suspect this may have been because we were staying with our dog. Having said that it was clean and comfortable with flat screen TV , tea and coffee and free Wifi and still extremely good value for the price we paid. I would certainly go back and it is a pity that we are too far away to go just for the food and the special theme evenings.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daisymaydurham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

My brother booked the Forresters for his wedding reception. Food and service superb. Hugely recommended. I had a superb beef bourginion and for breakfast their wonderful breakfast gateaux. Added to that the fact they are dog friendly made it a perfect stay for us. Will definitely return

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank martin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Had a fantastic time at my sisters wedding, service is excellent, couldnt fault the staff, very attentive, no request is a problem, wedding meal was fantastic, drinks service was constant, highly recommend an overnight stay too, lovely rooms and gorgeous breakfast, highly recommended

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fegsunderland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

This is a find for great food in a delightful setting. Middleton is a good centre for exploring the Dales. We took advantage of an unbelievably priced Groupon offer. Our room was (as one other reviewer said) "quirky" with unusual decor, but met all our requirements, and staff were friendly and helpful. Our first evening meal was absolutely delicious and without fault. The second night we had a bar snack - best ever. We were disappointed that we had to eat out with friends on the third night! We shall definitely stay again when visiting the area. Unfortunately, we didn't get the opportunity to meet the chef!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelmaniac18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

We stayed thanks to a great groupon deal, if not may not have considered this location. However we have had a relaxing and enjoyable stay in a wonderful part of the country. Frank and his wife run a lovely hotel with amazing French cuisine. Although a little more pricey than other local venues the food really is worth every penny, it's locally supplied, excellent quality and beautifully presented.

Room Tip: Room 7 comfy, although noise from downstairs in the restaurant can be heard. However great view of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jillyj3416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Middleton in Teesdale
0 mi away
Teesdale Hotel
Teesdale Hotel
#1 of 3 in Middleton in Teesdale
367 reviews
0 mi away
Brunswick House
Brunswick House
#2 of 3 in Middleton in Teesdale
74 reviews
8.4 mi away
The Coach And Horses
The Coach And Horses
#17 of 19 in Barnard Castle
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.8 mi away
High Force Hotel
High Force Hotel
#1 of 2 in Forest-in-Teesdale
92 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Hill B&B
The Hill B&B
#4 of 10 in Middleton in Teesdale
21 reviews
0.9 mi away
Leekworth Caravan Park
Leekworth Caravan Park
#1 of 1 in Middleton in Teesdale
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Forresters Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Forresters Hotel & Restaurant

Address: 52-53 Market Place, Middleton in Teesdale DL12 0QH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Middleton in Teesdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Middleton in Teesdale
Price Range: £37 - £49 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Forresters Hotel & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Forresters Hotel & French Restaurant in Middleton in Teesdale offers French Cuisine “The Northern Portion” in a restaurant which has the authentic look and ambience of its French counter parts. Enjoy classic French dishes sush as Beef Bourguignon, Magret de Canard, Cheese Soufflé, King Scallops as well as delectable pastries, homemade Ice Cream and homemade chocolates. Watch out also for special nights such as moules frites and crepes. The Forresters also offer a Bar with Pool Table and large Selection of drinks, Lagers, Ciders including some French Cidre, large selection of Spirits and local Real Ales, a large selection of wines & sparkling wines is also available by the glass. Watch out for regular music entertainment Food served Tuesday to Saturday from 12.00pm All our rooms are en suite with Freeview TV, Tea/Coffee making facilities and WiFi access. Our licensed bar is open until midnight every day and our restaurant serves outstanding French style dishes. Dogs and children are welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Book Direct Rooms, Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your The Forresters Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Forresters Hotel And Restaurant
The Forresters Hotel & Restaurant Middleton In Teesdale, Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing