We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Small room but very good restaurant” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Forresters Hotel & Restaurant

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Forresters Hotel & Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Saltburn-by-the-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Small room but very good restaurant”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

Our room, number 1, was on the small side and somewhat dull in appearance. Having said that it was well equipped, clean and was satisfactory for our two night stay. The owner, Frank, is well deserving of the complimentary comments made by others and we found him to be very pleasant. The strength of this establishment is its catering. We ate one main meal here and two breakfasts; all were of a good quality. Also worthy of comment is the professionalism of the man who among other things acts as the main food waiter. Middleton in Teesdale is a delightful village with very many walks emanating from this hub.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank petermet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    220
    76
    24
    12
    9
See reviews for
29
237
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

Very friendly staff, especially Dan !!,
Food was excellent , breakfast always freshly cooked and the baguettes with chips absolutely delicious.
Accommodation was clean and well presented, our room having a separate upstairs bathroom.
French themed throughout as you would expect with french owners!!.
Groupon made this a really good value short break.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank barney-rabbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumnock
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

A fantastic hotel for a chilled out break.

Food is exceptional - especially the sweets, Breakfast has a great choice, including their Breakfast Gateaux - full English with cake style presentation. Dinner was amazing with 3 courses being a challenge. Cost was £28 for 3courses which might be considered expensive for a country pub but it was worth every penny. The Beef Bourginion melted in you mouth and with a sauce so rich it could have doubled as a retired banker.

Dan the waiter ensured that breakfast was an enjoyable experience with his cheery banter.

The room was adequate. Queen size bed was comfy but I felt it was oversized for the room and would have preferred a double, others no doubt would choose the bigger bed. Bathroom was big enough for our two dogs to sleep in.

Staff were friendly as were the locals.

They have been very creative with their use of space with some ensuites being up stairs, fine if you have one of these rooms (we didn't) but a little noisy for the ones below - which is why I rated it 4stars.

I would gladly return and would encourage others to visit.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Coriacan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona
Level Contributor
33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

My husband and I stayed here for two nights a couple of weeks ago together with our dog, Daisymay. We stayed on a groupon deal which was amazing value for money. The friendliness of the owner, Franc and all the staff was greatly appreciated but the highlight was the food. We ate in the bar on the first evening as we had the dog with us although we still mixed and matched between the bar and restaurant menu. The second night we ate in the restaurant with the dog with us. On both occasions the food was superb , indeed I had the best mussels I've ever eaten There is a well balanced wine list with good but very reasonably priced wine. Breakfast is equally good with a menu that surpasses many first class hotels . I particularly appreciated the presentation of the food on all occasions. The only slight negative was our bedroom which was exceptionally small with an old fashioned bathroom with a small shower cubicle. I suspect this may have been because we were staying with our dog. Having said that it was clean and comfortable with flat screen TV , tea and coffee and free Wifi and still extremely good value for the price we paid. I would certainly go back and it is a pity that we are too far away to go just for the food and the special theme evenings.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank daisymaydurham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

My brother booked the Forresters for his wedding reception. Food and service superb. Hugely recommended. I had a superb beef bourginion and for breakfast their wonderful breakfast gateaux. Added to that the fact they are dog friendly made it a perfect stay for us. Will definitely return

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank martin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunderland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

Had a fantastic time at my sisters wedding, service is excellent, couldnt fault the staff, very attentive, no request is a problem, wedding meal was fantastic, drinks service was constant, highly recommend an overnight stay too, lovely rooms and gorgeous breakfast, highly recommended

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fegsunderland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
120 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014

This is a find for great food in a delightful setting. Middleton is a good centre for exploring the Dales. We took advantage of an unbelievably priced Groupon offer. Our room was (as one other reviewer said) "quirky" with unusual decor, but met all our requirements, and staff were friendly and helpful. Our first evening meal was absolutely delicious and without fault. The second night we had a bar snack - best ever. We were disappointed that we had to eat out with friends on the third night! We shall definitely stay again when visiting the area. Unfortunately, we didn't get the opportunity to meet the chef!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelmaniac18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Middleton in Teesdale
0.0 mi away
Teesdale Hotel
Teesdale Hotel
#1 of 3 in Middleton in Teesdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
0.1 mi away
Brunswick House
Brunswick House
#2 of 3 in Middleton in Teesdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Rose & Crown
The Rose & Crown
#1 of 1 in Romaldkirk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
The Coach And Horses
The Coach And Horses
#18 of 20 in Barnard Castle
3.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Hill B&B
The Hill B&B
#4 of 8 in Middleton in Teesdale
5.0 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
8.5 mi away
The Three Horseshoes Hotel
The Three Horseshoes Hotel
#1 of 20 in Barnard Castle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Forresters Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Forresters Hotel & Restaurant

Property: The Forresters Hotel & Restaurant
Address: 52 - 53 Market Place, Middleton in Teesdale DL12 0QH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Middleton in Teesdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Middleton in Teesdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Forresters Hotel & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All our rooms are en suite with Freeview TV, Tea/Coffee making facilities and WiFi access. Our licensed bar is open until midnight every day and our restaurant serves outstanding French style dishes. Dogs and children are welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms and Hotels.com so you can book your The Forresters Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Forresters Hotel And Restaurant
The Forresters Hotel & Restaurant Middleton In Teesdale, Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing