We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Forresters Hotel & Restaurant
Nearby Hotels
Teesdale Hotel(Middleton in Teesdale)
US$105
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Rose & Crown(Romaldkirk)
US$198
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Jersey Farm(Barnard Castle)
US$129
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$116
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Manor House Hotel(West Auckland)
US$74
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$63
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Brunswick House(Middleton in Teesdale)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (365)
Filter reviews
365 results
Traveller rating
236
81
26
13
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
236
81
26
13
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe ownerfrench restaurantscallopssoupbrisketsteakout of this worldsaturday eveningtwo nightsa real gemlovely roomnight staygreat foodfollowing morningplenty of choicewell worth a visitpennine way
Filter
Updating list...
123 - 128 of 365 reviews
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Absolutely fantastic food that is worth every penny! The staff are so nice they almost seem like they're your friends. Been a few times now and had the best nights out there I will be a regular customer from now on!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rebeccalcw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

this break was good value through groupon however we were disappointed in the basic things we expect in b and bs mainly that on the first night our room wasn't cleaned on the 2nd day we returned at 3pm to find our room was just about to be done then on third day we came back in afternoon to have a shower at 3pm to find again room not done. I asked the girl responsible what time this would happen to be told she was just washing mugs for rooms (in sink in bar) and would do it after.I realise they work on minimum staff but at the time the owners were sat having lunch. we have stopped at many b and bs and they always do room in the morning so guests can return.breakfast was good value great omlettes

Room Tip: as others have said lots of noise from bar area
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yorkie076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Our room, number 1, was on the small side and somewhat dull in appearance. Having said that it was well equipped, clean and was satisfactory for our two night stay. The owner, Frank, is well deserving of the complimentary comments made by others and we found him to be very pleasant. The strength of this establishment is its catering. We ate one main meal here and two breakfasts; all were of a good quality. Also worthy of comment is the professionalism of the man who among other things acts as the main food waiter. Middleton in Teesdale is a delightful village with very many walks emanating from this hub.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank petermet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Very friendly staff, especially Dan !!,
Food was excellent , breakfast always freshly cooked and the baguettes with chips absolutely delicious.
Accommodation was clean and well presented, our room having a separate upstairs bathroom.
French themed throughout as you would expect with french owners!!.
Groupon made this a really good value short break.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barney-rabbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

A fantastic hotel for a chilled out break.

Food is exceptional - especially the sweets, Breakfast has a great choice, including their Breakfast Gateaux - full English with cake style presentation. Dinner was amazing with 3 courses being a challenge. Cost was £28 for 3courses which might be considered expensive for a country pub but it was worth every penny. The Beef Bourginion melted in you mouth and with a sauce so rich it could have doubled as a retired banker.

Dan the waiter ensured that breakfast was an enjoyable experience with his cheery banter.

The room was adequate. Queen size bed was comfy but I felt it was oversized for the room and would have preferred a double, others no doubt would choose the bigger bed. Bathroom was big enough for our two dogs to sleep in.

Staff were friendly as were the locals.

They have been very creative with their use of space with some ensuites being up stairs, fine if you have one of these rooms (we didn't) but a little noisy for the ones below - which is why I rated it 4stars.

I would gladly return and would encourage others to visit.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Coriacan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews