We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Most friendly welcome.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Moorcock Inn

Moorcock Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Middleton in Teesdale
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Moorcock Inn
Gateshead
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Most friendly welcome.”
Reviewed 7 August 2013

Myself & my wife + 2 dogs were passing this pub so decided to stop for a drink. Lyn was so friendly and the premises accepted dogs which is nice to find these days as some places we try & go into do not wecolme dogs so we go elsewhere. Good range of food and people still arriving for food after 2pm when we left. Would definately stop here again when passing through the area. Well worth a visit and especially as Dog friendly.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mollydogGateshead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    13
    1
    3
    0
See reviews for
10
16
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2013

I stopped for coffee one very warm morning when I had been driving for a long time. The lady made me coffee and served it a very delicious homemade biscuit - hardly her most lucrative customer but I was treated with great friendliness. I wasn't made to feel uncomfortable as a women traveling on her own. The Ladies loo was spotless. I intend to find out if they have rooms as it is just the sort of place to stay when you want to get away from life. The pub is surrounded by the wonderful North Pennines.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnard Castle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Went for a walk in Hamsterley on Monday and had a quick lunch here first. Good food at a very reasonable price served quickly. I had chilli con carne in a baked potato and my wife had a steak sandwich.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jeremyr155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnard Castle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2013

I heard off a friend that The moorcock had reopened and changed to a steak and charcoal grill bar. We went midweek and had the special which was very tasty, a good size and a reasonable price. The next night I was back again with my Fiancee and had another fantastic meal. The meat is supplied by Joe Simpsons butchers so you know the standard is very high.
Highly recommend this place for a nice relaxed friendly meal with good quality food.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2013

The Moorcock have a short but interesting menu, consisting mainly of steaks supplied by local butcher, Joe Simpson. Six of us chose a variety of steaks, fillet, sirloin and rump, and a range of sizes, 8oz and 12oz (16oz also available). They arrived cooked to perfection ranging from medium rare to well done, they are cooked on a mexican charcoal grill and tasted delicious. Steaks are served with chips and a salad with a range of extra's available, we had homemade onion rings which were coated in crisp, dry batter. The sweet list has four choices, two of our party chose lime cheese cake, home made using ricotta cheese, very nice. There are other options on the menu including vegetarian. Two real ales were available on the night, Red Kite and Golden Sheep, both well kept. In summary good quality, locally sourced ingredients, served simply. Service was helpful, friendly and attentive.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnard Castle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2013

Went with friends to try the food and we were not disappointed.Friendly and efficient staff served us promptly and we were shown to one of the large circular tables that now feature in the lounge.The steaks arrived quickly and were delicious having been cooked on a barbecue in the kitchen. The large chips were the best I've tasted in along time.There was a good selection of beers and the Black Sheep was well kept. A 12 oz rib eye steak was £12.95,sirloin and rump the same and fillet for £4 more, all supplied by local farms and butchers.
The recent change of ownership and the refurbishment has obviously been successful and it was very busy.The bar was full of youngsters having a great time.
The outside has been equipped with lighting which makes the place look great as well as making the car park safe.
I hope that the new owners keep up the standard and keep the prices to a reasonable level.
Of course the success means booking is now essential.

Room Tip: Didn't stay,just ate....
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Malcolm W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham
Level Contributor
262 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2013

Enjoyed a lunch out here recently. Horrible weather but warm and cosy in the moorcock. It had been closed for awhile so it is nice to see it open again. Lunch was very nice and beer good too. Only possible problem was that their debit card machine was not working so pleased that our friends had cash with them to pay for our lunch too, otherwise we could have been doing the washing up!!!!

Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Northerntraveller59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Middleton in Teesdale
3.1 mi away
Teesdale Hotel
Teesdale Hotel
#1 of 3 in Middleton in Teesdale
339 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Rose & Crown
The Rose & Crown
#1 of 1 in Romaldkirk
408 reviews
6.5 mi away
Jersey Farm
Jersey Farm
#1 of 1 in Barnard Castle
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Brunswick House
Brunswick House
#2 of 3 in Middleton in Teesdale
60 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Forresters Hotel & Restaurant
The Forresters Hotel & Restauran...
#2 of 8 in Middleton in Teesdale
346 reviews
5.9 mi away
The Three Horseshoes Hotel
The Three Horseshoes Hotel
#1 of 20 in Barnard Castle
464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moorcock Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moorcock Inn

Property: Moorcock Inn
Address: Hill Top | Eggleston, Middleton in Teesdale DL12 0AU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Middleton in Teesdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Middleton in Teesdale
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Moorcock Inn Middleton In Teesdale, Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing