We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Traditional pub, good traditional food”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Moorcock Inn

Moorcock Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Middleton in Teesdale
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Moorcock Inn
Great Malvern
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Traditional pub, good traditional food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

We first stayed here, at the top of Teesdale, 10 years ago, and although the management has changed, the offering hasn't. It's a no-frills pub with comfortabel rooms and great value food. No stripped pine and minimalist decor - it's a traditional English pub through and through. No-nonsense food of top qulity and liberal portions. My wife had an excellent rib-eye steak and my chicken breast with BBQ sauce and cheese topping was succulent. No trendy stuff here - and long may it continue!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front - you get great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    13
    1
    3
    0
See reviews for
10
16
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

Enjoyed steak twice here with family, beautifully cooked and big portions. Staff very friendly and welcoming. Pub itself is tired and in need of an update but tasty food at great value, would recommend!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vikki L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

Great good with range of choice
Very welcoming hit our large family group
They halved an adult portion for children which was great and a change from usual children's menus
Great to sit out watching the sunset over their valley too.
Thank you

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Amy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

Decided to try The Moor Cock after reading previous reviews on TA and we weren't disappointed. The Sunday lunch was excellent; everything was homemade, locally sourced and very tasty. Portions were generous, and it was certainly value for money. The only criticism would be that the interior does look a bit tired - it is always a fine line between traditional and in need of attention. But do not let this put you off, if you are looking for a warm welcome, good hearty food and a lovely rural location then this is well worth a try.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrodieMac22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

Went here for a meal to celebrate a birthday and it was brilliant. Excellent service and the food was enjoyed by all and there were 12 of us. We were in a private room and the landlady was first class dealing with all the different orders from us. Everyone said what a great night we had and my husband and I will definitely be going again....soon.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LizKips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gateshead
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013

Myself & my wife + 2 dogs were passing this pub so decided to stop for a drink. Lyn was so friendly and the premises accepted dogs which is nice to find these days as some places we try & go into do not wecolme dogs so we go elsewhere. Good range of food and people still arriving for food after 2pm when we left. Would definately stop here again when passing through the area. Well worth a visit and especially as Dog friendly.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mollydogGateshead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2013

I stopped for coffee one very warm morning when I had been driving for a long time. The lady made me coffee and served it a very delicious homemade biscuit - hardly her most lucrative customer but I was treated with great friendliness. I wasn't made to feel uncomfortable as a women traveling on her own. The Ladies loo was spotless. I intend to find out if they have rooms as it is just the sort of place to stay when you want to get away from life. The pub is surrounded by the wonderful North Pennines.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Middleton in Teesdale
3.1 mi away
Teesdale Hotel
Teesdale Hotel
#1 of 3 in Middleton in Teesdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Rose & Crown
The Rose & Crown
#1 of 1 in Romaldkirk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
6.5 mi away
Jersey Farm
Jersey Farm
#1 of 1 in Barnard Castle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
The Forresters Hotel & Restaurant
The Forresters Hotel & Restauran...
#2 of 8 in Middleton in Teesdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
5.9 mi away
The Three Horseshoes Hotel
The Three Horseshoes Hotel
#1 of 20 in Barnard Castle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
3.1 mi away
Brunswick House
Brunswick House
#2 of 3 in Middleton in Teesdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moorcock Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moorcock Inn

Property: Moorcock Inn
Address: Hill Top | Eggleston, Middleton in Teesdale DL12 0AU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Middleton in Teesdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Middleton in Teesdale
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Moorcock Inn Middleton In Teesdale, Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing