We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Fantastic day out for everyone!

I'd strongly recommend going here when the warm weather finally arrives. Its the perfect way to... read more

Reviewed 3 days ago
Shuwaz D
Beautiful

The photographers heaven was a raging torrent of water today after the heavy downpour but is well... read more

Reviewed 5 days ago
Tibz_Traveler
,
York, United Kingdom
via mobile
Read all 943 reviews
  
Reviews (943)
Filter reviews
943 results
Traveller rating
547
287
70
14
25
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
547
287
70
14
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviews car park lovely walk heavy rain pennine way gravel path bowlees visitor centre amazing sight health and safety small charge the pub steep steps circular walk well worth a visit gift shop per adult picnic area entrance fee
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 943 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Came here when son was little and thought would go back paid a fee to see waterfall but could only stand at bottom so couldn’t get full effect so went a different walk to see it amazing also viewed low force

Date of experience: March 2019
Thank jojo9090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago

We had a good day here, visiting High Force, Low Force and Gibson's Cave. Thanks to a previous review, we parked at Bowlees Visitors Centre, rather than the High Force Hotel car park. This was a good choice as there were picnic tables for our picnic, and we saw the extra attractions of Low Force, and Gibson's Cave. From the car park walk over the bridge to the Visitors Centre, which includes a cafe, and small shop. A short walk down the road to the footpath which leads to Low Force. There is a pedestrian bridge over the river which states one person at a time. Low Force is beautiful. Carry on past Low Force until you come to High Force. Once word of warning here, the viewpoint is on top of a cliff, is not fenced off, and is approximately level with the top of the falls. This gives a dramatic view of the falls, but I sat on the boulders, as I did not feel too safe standing up so near to the edge. I would recommend holding children's hands as you approach High Force as the view point seems to suddenly appear. We then returned to the car park and took the marked path to Gibson's cave. You cannot go into the cave but can view it and the waterfall over it.There is also a hammock for viewing the stars, which the children enjoyed laying in even though it was daytime! A very enjoyable day out.

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank Kath00000007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Been meaning to visit high force Waterfall for awhile now. Most people recommended to go at this time of year due to the right amount of rainfall.
It didn’t disappoint. Amazing views and easy to get to. Can take your dog too.
Looking forward to going back.

Date of experience: March 2019
Thank RebeccaRitson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

If you are in the area this is a must it is quite a spectacular waterfall and the opportunity of taking in a number of walks. It will cost you £3 to park but this will be taken of your bill at the High Force Hotel if you spend £10 or more in their bar.

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank JimDodds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We parked near Forest in Teesdale and walked part of the Pennine Way through Cronkley. All free. The scenery is lovely and High Force impressive. Perhaps not so impressive but we found Bleabeck force very pretty.

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank john e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews