We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A welcome lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Rumours Cafe

Rumours Cafe
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout
Market Drayton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“A welcome lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013 via mobile

We called in for a cup of tea and decided on having lunch. What a good choice we made!!! Lovely toasties with soup and a cuppa just hit the spot, thank you!

Helpful?
Thank Hillary and Bob J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    10
    3
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dumfries Scotland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Lovely Cakes.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013

When 8 of us turned up looking for coffee and cakes, the order was dealt with quickly and efficiently, while we sat outside. Everyone loved their cakes, cheese scones and teacakes. My coconut cake was fine and not too expensive. Would recommend it.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DumfriesTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newcastle upon tyne
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Friendly and quality”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

We had a tea/coffee/cake (which was home made). The quality was excellent and the hostess was most friendly and welcoming. Note they are closed Thurs and Friday at this time of year to dovetail with the other cafes in the town.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank ruslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham
Level Contributor
109 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Good cake!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2013

Stopped here for brunch and it totally hit the spot. Had a lovely (proper) ham, cheese and onion toastie with lots of lovely fresh salad followed by an excellent ginger cake. Happy times, well worth popping in for a visit.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Fatyak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Pre-Loved!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2013

Great little cafe, found on the high street, which provided some much needed hot drinks yesterday that warmed both body and soul! We didn't stop to eat but, and the menu was fairly ordinary, what our fellow visitors were tucking into looked plentiful and tasty. My partner did, however, say the hot chocolate was as good as she'd had!

The room, where we sat in, was bright and inviting with a mixture of tables and chairs and, a comfy looking sofa! Around the walls aside from the usual pictures there were a selection of old teapots, 'pre-loved', which could be purchased.

All in all a more than pleasant place to call at after a walk in Teesdale!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Smiddsy56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rumours Cafe also viewed

Middleton in Teesdale, Durham
Middleton in Teesdale, Durham
 
Middleton in Teesdale, Durham
 

Been to Rumours Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing