We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Pitstop for the hungry traveller”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Middleton in Teesdale
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Strathmore Arms at Holwick
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 April 2013

Its cosy and very friendly and the food is plentifull to keep you going for those extra miles. The only trouble is, do not seat yourself in front of that lovely warm fire or you will never want to move on! The hosts are fantastic and nothing seems too much bother to them. We will definatley return!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DurhamHappytraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (147)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

123 - 129 of 147 reviews

Reviewed 3 April 2013

Simply fab warm cosy welcome, lovely location and great food! Throw in Dog friendly and the place truly is a walkers haven!! Well worth the effort to visit the Strathmore Arms. We will return and soon!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GarethDurham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2013

Have stayed a few times before,but this was the first time and the best time with anthony and selina......they are lovely and welcoming hosts,the food is proper pub food and lots of it....They are very friendly and make you feel at home,the beds are really comfortable and very snuggly.......and the locals are really friendly,a proper pub..........a fantastic place....the lovely fire is always lit,just what you need after a long walk....and a few halves of locally brewed allendale beer......we cant wait to go back....thanks guys....fiona and dave.

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely well presented and clean...you are above a pub,so dont choose it if you want to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank flosseyfifi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2013

In spring of last year we first visited the pub whilst staying in a holiday cottage close by and said we would love to stay. Well, stay we did..4 times since then! ..Our last stay was over Xmas, for three nights, along with our dog. ,
There was a party and a band visited playing carols. We had mulled wine and mince pies. There was fun and laughter and on Xmas eve we sang carols to the accompaniment of a delightful local gentleman, who had brought his own keyboard.
The pub food is delicious and the Sunday lunch is excellent with enormous helpings and
gorgeous Yorkshire Puddings. In fact we have travelled up to the Strathmore just for the day, from 90 mins away for the lunch.
The rooms are very nice with ensuite and tea making facilities.
The walks nearby, down to the falls and on to the fells are very special in any weather.
When we thought ahead to Xmas last year we knew where we wanted to be....and we weren't disappointed. Xmas morning with one of Anthony' s breakfasts is just the thing.
Selina and Anthony are excellent hosts in a truly unique pub.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jesscollie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2013

Just back from a great 2 night stay at The Strathmore Arms, Holwick. It's been a lot of years since I stayed here, and the place has had some ups and downs by all accounts since then. Thankfully it has found itself back in very good hands. We were there for a weekend of fell running and celebrating my partner's 40th birthday. The welcome was warm - Anthony and Selina our hosts could not have done more to make us at home. The food was really good, with huge portions, and 10 of us enjoyed Sunday dinner there. Breakfasts are huge too, with very good quality local produce. The beer is excellent with 2 golden ales and a dark ale always on offer alongside the regulars.
The location is stunning. The pub itself keeps its traditional charm with stone floors and a log fire.
B&B is very good value, but if you're on a tight budget, you are welcome to pitch your tent out the back - which a couple of our friends did for a mere fiver!
All in all, highly recommended

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank OldWhippet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2013

We stayed for two nights after Christmas, and ate in the pub both nights. The accommodation was great, very comfortable. Anthony is a cracking cook and doesn't stint his portions, both for the evening meals and the breakfasts. Well cooked, well presented and very tasty! Its not a 'fine dining' pub, and has no pretentions - it offers traditional English pub food, with a roaring fire, great atmosphere and welcoming hosts.

We'll certainly visit again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Soozee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2012

Stayed here last night, fabulous welcome, beautiful room, lovely comfy bed. Evening meal we had was out of this world! roaring log fire, comfy bar and locals very friendly. So peaceful and relaxing. Breakfast was vast, and so tasty ! I will definitely be returning!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tracey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Middleton in Teesdale hotels
2.6 mi away
Teesdale Hotel
Teesdale Hotel
#1 of 3 in Middleton in Teesdale
369 reviews
2.6 mi away
Brunswick House
Brunswick House
#2 of 3 in Middleton in Teesdale
74 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Forresters Hotel & Restaurant
The Forresters Hotel & Restauran...
#2 of 10 in Middleton in Teesdale
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
The Hill B&B
The Hill B&B
#4 of 10 in Middleton in Teesdale
21 reviews
5.7 mi away
Moorcock Inn
Moorcock Inn
#7 of 10 in Middleton in Teesdale
39 reviews
3.6 mi away
Leekworth Caravan Park
Leekworth Caravan Park
#1 of 1 in Middleton in Teesdale
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strathmore Arms at Holwick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strathmore Arms at Holwick

Address: Holwick, Middleton in Teesdale DL12 0NJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Middleton in Teesdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Middleton in Teesdale
Price Range: £30 - £60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A traditional country pub with 4 en-suite rooms. The Strathmore is situated on The Pennine Way. Open from 12pm until the last person leaves. We are closed on Tuesday's. A real old fashioned country pub with great tasty predominately English fare, plenty of well kept local ales and fine wines, also plenty scrumpy ciders. The Strathmore Arms is close to both High & Low Force wateterfalls and is a fantastic area for walking/sightseeing. A warm welcome is assured. We are also pet friendly. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Strathmore Arms At Holwick Hotel Middleton In Teesdale
Strathmore Arms At Holwick Middleton In Teesdale, Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing